Joint Transportation Review Committee

SENATOR LAWRENCE K. GROOMS

REPRESENTATIVE JAMES H. LUCAS Vice Chairman

SENATOR HUGH K. LEATHERMAN, SR. SENATOR GLENN F. MCCONNELL SENATOR HARVEY S. PEELER SENATOR GERALD MALLOY REPRESENTATIVE ANNETTE D. YOUNG REPRESENTATIVE PHILLIP D. OWENS MR. REID BANKS MR. PATTERSON SMITH



POST OFFICE BOX 142 COLUMBIA. SOUTH CAROLINA 29202-0142 (803) 212-6400 DAVID J. OWENS

KENNETH M. MOFFITT CHIEF COUNSEL

RICHARD P. FULMER

LILY COGDILL
EXECUTIVE ASSISTANT

Date: May 26, 2010

To: Resident Members of the 4th Congressional District and Staff; Candidates for the SCDOT

Commission from the 4th District; Interested Parties

From: David Owens -- Senate Transportation Committee and Joint Transportation Review Committee

Re: Candidates Qualified for the 4th DOT Commission District

This is the Joint Transportation Review Committee's INITIAL release of names of candidates qualified to serve on the South Carolina Department of Transportation Commission from the 4th District.

THE JTRC's FINAL REPORT OF QUALIFICATIONS WILL BE RELEASED AT 3:00 P.M. ON THURSDAY, MAY 27, 2010.

CANDIDATES ARE NOT TO SEEK PLEDGES OF VOTES UNTIL AFTER 3:00 P.M. ON THURSDAY, MAY 27. MEMBERS OF THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY MAY NOT PLEDGE THEIR VOTE UNTIL AFTER 3:00 P.M. ON THURSDAY, MAY 27.

Candidates Found Qualified:

Mr. John Paul (Johnny) Edwards of Greenville Mr. Jimmy Floyd (Jim) Spearman of Fountain Inn Mrs. Anita Pecko Whitney of Union

Election of Commission Members:

Only members residing in the 4th District may meet to elect a commissioner to represent their district. Delegation members must hold a duly called, public meeting to elect a Department of Transportation Commissioner. The meeting to elect a commissioner may be held at any time after 3:00 p.m. on Thursday, May 27, 2010.