SENATOR LAWRENCE K. GROOMS Chairman

REPRESENTATIVE JAMES H. LUCAS Vice Chairman

SENATOR HUGH K. LEATHERMAN, SR. (VACANT) SENATOR HARVEY S. PEELER SENATOR GERALD MALLOY REPRESENTATIVE DEBORAH A. LONG REPRESENTATIVE PHILLIP D. OWENS MR. REID BANKS MR. PATTERSON SMITH



POST OFFICE BOX 142 COLUMBIA. SOUTH CAROLINA 29202-0142 (803) 212-6400 DAVID J. OWENS chief of staff

KENNETH M. MOFFITT CHIEF COUNSEL

RICHARD P. FULMER HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES COUNSEL

LILY COGDILL EXECUTIVE ASSISTANT

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE -- March 29, 2012

CONTACT: David Owens - 803-212-6402

Residents May Apply for Seats on SCDOT Commission

COLUMBIA -- A joint legislative panel is accepting notice from residents living in South Carolina's 1st, 3rd, and 5th Congressional districts who are interested in applying for a seat on the South Carolina Department of Transportation Commission. Notice of intent to apply will be accepted until 12:00 noon on Thursday, April 26, 2012.

Applicants must meet statutorily prescribed eligibility requirements and must possess certain qualifications in order to serve. Applicants will undergo a thorough review process. The review process includes a South Carolina Law Enforcement Division background check, a credit check, completion of comprehensive personal data questionnaires, financial disclosures, and a South Carolina Ethics Commission Statement of Economic Interests form.

Applicants will also undergo an investigation, interviews, and a public screening by the ten-member Joint Transportation Review Committee and its staff. Those found qualified then stand for election by members of the General Assembly who reside in the 1st, 3rd, and 5th Congressional districts. The terms expire February 15, 2016.

Prospective candidates living within South Carolina's 1st, 3rd, and 5th Congressional districts must notify the Joint Transportation Review Committee in writing of their intent to apply. <u>The letter must include the person's original signature, county of residence, physical home address, email, and daytime phone number. Notice of intent will not be accepted after 12:00 noon on Thursday, April 26, 2011.</u>

Notice of intent and questions related to the screening process should be sent to:

David Owens Joint Transportation Review Committee P.O. Box 142 Columbia, S.C. 29202 803-212-6402

<u>More information is available at www.scstatehouse.gov under 'Committee Information', then 'Joint Transportation Review Committee'.</u>