## Joint Transportation Review Committee

SENATOR LAWRENCE K. GROOMS Chairman

REPRESENTATIVE JAMES H. LUCAS Vice Chairman

SENATOR HUGH K. LEATHERMAN, SR. SENATOR CHAUNCEY K. GREGORY SENATOR HARVEY S. PEELER SENATOR GERALD MALLOY REPRESENTATIVE DEBORAH A. LONG REPRESENTATIVE PHILLIP D. OWENS MR. REID BANKS MR. PATTERSON SMITH



POST OFFICE BOX 142 COLUMBIA. SOUTH CAROLINA 29202-0142 (803) 212-6400 DAVID J. OWENS CHIEF OF STAFF

KENNETH M. MOFFITT CHIEF COUNSEL

RICHARD P. FULMER HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES COUNSEL

LILY COGDILL EXECUTIVE ASSISTANT

## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE -- September 14, 2012

CONTACT: David Owens - 803-212-6402

## Seats to Open on SCDOT Commission

COLUMBIA -- A joint legislative panel is accepting notice from residents living in South Carolina's new 2<sup>nd</sup> and 7<sup>th</sup> Congressional districts who are interested in applying for a seat on the South Carolina Department of Transportation Commission. The Joint Transportation Review Committee (JTRC) will receive notices of intent until 12:00 p.m. on Friday, October 12, 2012.

Applicants must meet statutorily prescribed eligibility requirements and must possess certain qualifications in order to serve. Applicants will undergo a review process that includes a South Carolina Law Enforcement Division background check, a credit check, completion of a comprehensive personal data questionnaire and a financial disclosure, and completion of a South Carolina Ethics Commission Statement of Economic Interests form. This screening process also includes an investigation, interview, and a public screening by the ten-member JTRC and its staff.

Individuals found qualified then stand for election by those members of the General Assembly who reside in the  $2^{nd}$  and  $7^{th}$  Congressional districts. Commission terms are for four years.

Prospective candidates living in South Carolina's <u>new</u> 2<sup>nd</sup> and 7<sup>th</sup> Congressional districts must notify the Joint Transportation Review Committee in writing of their intent to apply. <u>The letter must include the person's:</u> 1) original signature, 2) county of residence, 3) physical home address, 4) email, and 5) daytime phone number. Notice of intent will not be accepted after 12:00 p.m. on Friday, October 12, 2012.

Notice of intent and questions related to the screening process should be directed to:

David Owens/JTRC P.O. Box 142 Columbia, S.C. 29202 803-212-6402

More information is available at <u>www.scstatehouse.gov</u> under 'Committee Information', then 'Joint Transportation Review Committee'.