Senator Harvey S. Peeler, Jr. Chairman Senator Thomas C. Alexander Senator Robert W. Hayes, Jr. Senator John. L. Scott, Jr.

Staff: Martha Casto Julie Price

Joint Legislative Committee to Screen Candidates for College and University Boards of Trustees



213 Gressette Building P.O. Box 142 Columbia, South Carolina 29202 Phone: (803) 212-6430 Email: SMediComm@scsenate.gov Representative William R. Whitmire Vice-Chairman Representative David J. Mack III Representative Phyllis J. Henderson Representative Peter M. McCoy, Jr.

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE January 26, 2015

The Joint Legislative Committee to Screen Candidates for College and University Boards of Trustees has accepted the following letters of intent from candidates for various college and university board of trustee seats. Letters of Intent were due by 12:00 noon on Friday, January 23, 2015.

Coastal Carolina (4 year term) 1 st Congressional district - seat 1 (expires June 30, 2019)	-	George Mullen, Hilton Head Island
3 rd Congressional district - seat 3 (expires June 30, 2019)	-	William L. Lyles, Jr., Anderson
5 th Congressional district - seat 5 (expires June 30, 2019)	-	Chuck E. Lewis, Gaffney
7 th Congressional district - seat 7 (expires June 30, 2019)	-	Natasha Hanna, Myrtle Beach Alan Connie, N. Myrtle Beach
At-large - seat 9 (expires June 30, 2019)	-	Gene Spivey, Myrtle Beach
At-large - seat 11 (expires June 30, 2019)	-	William E. Turner III, Simpsonville Deborah Burroughs, Murrells Inlet
At-large - seat 13 (expires June 30, 2019)	-	William S. Biggs, Anderson
Lander University (4 year term) 6 th Congressional district - seat 6 (expires June 30, 2016**)	-	Robert F. Sabalis, Orangeburg

South Carolina State University (4 year term)

1st Congressional district - seat 1 John C. Evans, North Charleston (expires June 30, 2019) Jermaine Husser, Goose Creek

Shawn Pinkston, Charleston

2nd Congressional district - seat 2 John E. Till, Neeses

(expires June 30, 2019)

3rd Congressional district - seat 3 Marvin O'Neal Hughes, Greenwood

(expires June 30, 2018**) Jay Blakenship, Anderson Don C. Johnson, West Union

4th Congressional district - seat 4 No candidate filed by deadline

(expires June 30, 2019)

At-large - seat 12 David Aylor, Charleston

(expires June 30, 2016**) Dorothy D. Gallman, Columbia

Kevin L. Ray, Columbia

Winthrop University (6 year term)

At-large - seat 10 Glenn A. McCall, Rock Hill

(expires June 30, 2021)

Old Exchange Building Commission (6 year term)

One (1) at-large seat Greg Ohanesian, Bennettsville (expires June 30, 2021)

Wil Lou Gray Opportunity School (4 year term)

Three (3) at-large seats Earle M. Bennett, West Columbia (expires June 30, 2019) Deborah S. Blalock, Charleston

Robert N. Collar, Bluffton

** The election is being held to fill an unexpired term - service will begin immediately after certification by the Secretary of State.

Italic denotes incumbent.