Senator Harvey S. Peeler, Jr. Chairman Senator Thomas C. Alexander Senator J. Yancey McGill Senator Robert W. Hayes, Jr.

> Staff: Martha Casto Julie Price

## Joint Legislative Committee to Screen Candidates for College and University Boards of Trustees



213 Gressette Building P.O. Box 142 Columbia, South Carolina 29202 Phone: (803) 212-6430 Email: SMediComm@scsenate.gov

### FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE February 20, 2013

Representative William R. Whitmire Vice-Chairman Representative David J. Mack III Representative Phyllis J. Henderson Representative Peter M. McCoy, Jr.

The Joint Legislative Committee to Screen Candidates for College and University Boards of Trustees has received letters of intent from the listed candidates below:

The Citadel (6 year term)	Letters of Intent received by:
1 at-large	- Jennet Robinson Alterman - Charleston
(expires 2019)	- Gene Pinson - Greenwood
	- Fred Lewis Price, Jr Columbia

#### Coastal Carolina - 4 year term

1<sup>st</sup> Congressional district-seat 1 (expires 2014)

3<sup>rd</sup> Congressional district-seat 3 (expires 2017)

5<sup>th</sup> Congressional district-seat 5 (expires 2017)

6<sup>th</sup> Congressional district-seat 6 (expires 2017)

7<sup>th</sup> Congressional district-seat 7 (expires 2017)

at-large seat 12 (expires 2017)

at-large seat 15 (expires 2017)

- George E. Mullen Hilton Head Island
- William L. Lyles Anderson
- Vacant
- Marion B. Lee Hemingway
- Natasha M. Hanna Myrtle Beach
- Larry L. Biddle Conway
- Robert Templeton Neeses

#### **College of Charleston - 4 year term**

1<sup>st</sup> Congressional district - seat 2 (expires 2016)

2<sup>nd</sup> Congressional district - seat 4 (expires 2016)

3<sup>rd</sup> Congressional district - seat 6 (expires 2016)

4<sup>th</sup> Congressional district - seat 8 (expires 2016)

5<sup>th</sup> Congressional district - seat 10 (expires 2016)

6<sup>th</sup> Congressional district - seat 12 (expires 2016)

7<sup>th</sup> Congressional district - seat 13 (expires 2014)

7<sup>th</sup> Congressional district - seat 14 (expires 2016)

at large - seat 16 (expires 2016)

#### Francis Marion University - 4 year term

1<sup>st</sup> Congressional district - seat 1 (expires 2014)

2<sup>nd</sup> Congressional district - seat 2 (expires 2016)

3<sup>rd</sup> Congressional district - seat 3 (expires 2016)

4<sup>th</sup> Congressional district - seat 4 (expires 2016)

5<sup>th</sup> Congressional district - seat 5 (expires 2014) - L. Cherry Daniel - Charleston

- G. Lee Mikell - Columbia

- Edward L. Thomas - Anderson

- Toni Vitanza Clemson
- Kelly Moorhead Greenville
- Renée Buyck Romberger Greenville
- Robert M. Burch, III Camden
- Pansy King-Reid Fort Mill
- Michael Todd Warrick Sumter
- Ricci Land Welch Manning
- Henrietta U. Golding Myrtle Beach
- Renee B. Goldfinch Myrtle Beach
- David Mikell Hay Charleston
- Mark S. Moore Mt. Pleasant
- Gail Ness Richardson Barnwell
- Lonnie Adamson Pendleton
- Patricia C. Hartung Greenwood
- Nancy King Pendleton
- Toni Vitanza Clemson
- Jody Bryson Greenville
- Meliah Bowers Jefferson Greenville
- James M. Bunch Gaffney

#### Francis Marion University (Continued from previous page)

6<sup>th</sup> Congressional district - seat 6 (expires 2014)

7<sup>th</sup> Congressional district - seat 7 (expires 2016)

at-large - seat 9 (expires 2016)

at-large - seat 11 (expires 2016)

at-large - seat 15 (expires 2016)

## Lander University - 4 year term

1<sup>st</sup> Congressional district - Seat 1 (expires 2016)

2<sup>nd</sup> congressional district - Seat 2 (expires 2016)

3<sup>rd</sup> congressional district - Seat 3 (expires 2016)

4<sup>th</sup> congressional district - Seat 4 (expires 2016)

5<sup>th</sup> congressional district - Seat 5 (expires 2016)

6<sup>th</sup> congressional district - Seat 6 (expires 2016)

7<sup>th</sup> congressional district - Seat 7 (expires 2016) Alan L. Gibbons - New Zion
Floyd L. Keels - Lake City *George C. McIntyre - Bennettsville*Lonnie Anderson - Pendleton
Nancy King - Pendleton *Melissa Johnson Emery - Conway H. Randall Dozier - Murrells Inlet*William W. Coleman, Jr. - Florence
Robert Brimmer - Mt. Pleasant
George R. Starnes III - Columbia

- Linda Dolny - Greenwood

- Toni Vitanza Clemson
- Jack W. Lawrence Spartanburg

- S. Anne Walker - Columbia

- Ann V. Hurst - Orangeburg - Sherry Walters - Columbia

- Catherine Lee Frederick - Florence

#### Medical University of South Carolina - 4 year term

1 <sup>st</sup> Congressional district - lay member	- Michael E. Stavrinakis - Charleston
(expires 2016)	- Harry Bancroft Limehouse, Jr Charleston
	- Susan Pearlstine - Charleston
	- Nunally S. Kersh - Charleston
2 <sup>nd</sup> Congressional district - lay member	- William H. Bingham, Sr Cayce
(expires 2016)	

Medical University of South Carolina(continued from previous page)		
3 <sup>rd</sup> Congressional district - lay member (expires 2016)	- Charles W. Shulze - Greenwood	
4 <sup>th</sup> Congressional district - medical member (expires 2016)	- Charles B. Thomas, Jr Greenville	
5 <sup>th</sup> Congressional district - medical member (expires 2016)	- Coty P. Fishburne - Rock Hill - G. Murrell Smith - Sumter	
6 <sup>th</sup> Congressional district - lay member (expires 2016)	- Erick Harrison - Charleston - Sandra P. Sims - Columbia - McKinley Washington, Jr Ravenel	
6 <sup>th</sup> Congressional district - medical member (expires 2014)	- Ragin C. Monteith - Columbia	
7 <sup>th</sup> Congressional district - medical member (expires 2016)	- Tracy D. Nelson - Myrtle Beach - E. Conyers O'Bryan, Jr Florence	
7 <sup>th</sup> Congressional district - lay member (expires 2014)	- James A. Battle - Nichols - <i>Robin Tallon - Washington D.C.</i>	
South Carolina State University - 4 year term		
5 <sup>th</sup> Congressional district - Seat 5 (expires 2017)	- Twana Burris-Alcide - Rock Hill	
6 <sup>th</sup> Congressional district - Seat 6 (expires 2017)	<ul> <li>James E. Harvey - Orangeburg</li> <li>Dean C. Patrick - Columbia</li> <li>Joseph W. Rice, Jr Orangeburg</li> <li>William Small, Jr Yemassee</li> <li>Maurice Washington - Charleston</li> </ul>	
7 <sup>th</sup> Congressional district - Seat 7 (expires 2017)	- Ronald B. Henegan, Sr Bennetsville - Myers Rollins, Jr Conway	
at-large seat 9 (expires 2017)	<ul> <li>Pearl V. Ascue - Awendaw</li> <li>Jacquelyn Cunningham - Columbia</li> <li>Jackie Epps - Columbia</li> </ul>	
at-large seat 11 (expires 2017)	- Willar H. Hightower, Jr Aiken - Cathy B. Novinger - West Columbia	
at-large seat 12 (expires 2016)	<ul> <li>Katon E. Dawson - Columbia</li> <li>Elden E. Nelson, II - Orangeburg</li> <li>Walter L. Tobin - Columbia</li> </ul>	

# Winthrop University - 6 year term

1<sup>st</sup> Congressional district - Seat 1 (expires 2018)

5<sup>th</sup> Congressional district - Seat 5 (expires 2018)

6<sup>th</sup> Congressional district - Seat 6 (expires 2014)

7<sup>th</sup> Congressional district - Seat 7 (expires 2018)

*italic denotes incumbent* 

- Timothy B. Sease - Mt. Pleasant

- Kathy H. Bigham - Rock Hill

- Rose Hilliard-Wilder - Alcolu

- Ashlye V. Wilkerson - Columbia

- Karl A. Folkens - Florence

-XX-