Senator Harvey S. Peeler, Jr. Chairman Senator Thomas C. Alexander Senator J. Yancey McGill Senator Robert W. Hayes, Jr.

> Staff: Martha Casto Julie Price

The Citadel (6 year term)

(expires 2017)

# Joint Legislative Committee to Screen Candidates for College and University Boards of Trustees



213 Gressette Building P.O. Box 142 Columbia, South Carolina 29202 Phone: (803) 212-6430 Email: SMediComm@scsenate.gov Representative William R. Whitmire Vice-Chairman Representative David J. Mack III Representative Phyllis J. Henderson Representative Peter M. McCoy, Jr.

# FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE March 6, 2013

The Joint Legislative Committee to Screen Candidates for College and University Boards of Trustees will be screening the following candidates:

Letters of Intent received by:

1 at-large (expires 2019)	- Jennett Robinson Alterman - Charleston - Gene Pinson - Greenwood - Fred Lewis Price, Jr Columbia
Coastal Carolina - 4 year term  1st Congressional district-seat 1 (expires 2014)	- George E. Mullen - Hilton Head Island
3 <sup>rd</sup> Congressional district-seat 3 (expires 2017)	- William L. Lyles - Anderson
5 <sup>th</sup> Congressional district-seat 5 (expires 2017)	- screening will be done at a later date
6 <sup>th</sup> Congressional district-seat 6 (expires 2017)	- Marion B. Lee - Hemingway
7 <sup>th</sup> Congressional district-seat 7 (expires 2017)	- Natasha M. Hanna - Myrtle Beach
at-large seat 12 (expires 2017)	- Larry L. Biddle - Conway
at-large seat 15	- Robert Templeton - Neeses

College of Charleston - 4 year term	
1 <sup>st</sup> Congressional district - seat 2 (expires 2016)	- L. Cherry Daniel - Charleston
2 <sup>nd</sup> Congressional district - seat 4 (expires 2016)	- G. Lee Mikell - Columbia
3 <sup>rd</sup> Congressional district - seat 6 (expires 2016)	- Edward L. Thomas - Anderson
4 <sup>th</sup> Congressional district - seat 8 (expires 2016)	<ul><li>- Kelly Moorhead - Greenville</li><li>- Renée Buyck Romberger - Greenville</li></ul>
5 <sup>th</sup> Congressional district - seat 10 (expires 2016)	<ul><li>Robert M. Burch, III - Camden</li><li>Pansy King-Reid - Fort Mill</li><li>Michael Todd Warrick - Sumter</li></ul>
6 <sup>th</sup> Congressional district - seat 12 (expires 2016)	<ul><li>- Emily F. Guess - Denmark</li><li>- Ricci Land Welch - Manning</li></ul>
7 <sup>th</sup> Congressional district - seat 13 (expires 2014)	- Henrietta U. Golding - Myrtle Beach
7 <sup>th</sup> Congressional district - seat 14 (expires 2016)	<ul><li>Renee B. Goldfinch - Myrtle Beach</li><li>Dwight Johnson - Florence</li></ul>
at-large - seat 16 (expires 2016)	- David Mikell Hay - Charleston
Francis Marion University - 4 year term	
1 <sup>st</sup> Congressional district - seat 1 (expires 2014)	- Mark S. Moore - Mt. Pleasant
2 <sup>nd</sup> Congressional district - seat 2 (expires 2016)	- Gail Ness Richardson - Barnwell
3 <sup>rd</sup> Congressional district - seat 3 (expires 2016)	<ul><li>Lonnie Adamson - Pendleton</li><li>Patricia C. Hartung - Greenwood</li><li>Nancy King - Pendleton</li></ul>
4 <sup>th</sup> Congressional district - seat 4 (expires 2016)	- Jody Bryson - Greenville

5<sup>th</sup> Congressional district - seat 5 (expires 2014)

- James M. Bunch - Gaffney

Francis Marion University (Continued from previous page)		
6 <sup>th</sup> Congressional district - seat 6	- Alan L. Gibbons - New Zion	
(expires 2014)	- Floyd L. Keels - Lake City	
7 <sup>th</sup> Congressional district - seat 7 (expires 2016)	- George C. McIntyre - Bennettsville	
at-large - seat 9	- Lonnie Adamson - Pendleton	
(expires 2016)	- Nancy King - Pendleton	

at-large - seat 11 - Melissa Johnson Emery - Conway (expires 2016) - H. Randall Dozier - Murrells Inlet

at-large - seat 15 - William W. Coleman, Jr. - Florence (expires 2016)

## **Lander University - 4 year term**

1<sup>st</sup> Congressional district - Seat 1 - Robert Brimmer - Mt. Pleasant (expires 2016)

2<sup>nd</sup> congressional district - Seat 2 - *George R. Starnes III - Columbia* (expires 2016)

3<sup>rd</sup> congressional district - Seat 3 - *Linda Dolny - Greenwood* (expires 2016)

4<sup>th</sup> congressional district - Seat 4 - *Jack W. Lawrence - Spartanburg* (expires 2016)

5<sup>th</sup> congressional district - Seat 5 - S. Anne Walker - Sumter (expires 2016)

6<sup>th</sup> congressional district - Seat 6 - Ann V. Hurst - Orangeburg (expires 2016) - Sherry Walters - Columbia

7<sup>th</sup> congressional district - Seat 7 - Catherine Lee Frederick - Florence

(expires 2016)

### Medical University of South Carolina - 4 year term

1st Congressional district - lay member - Michael E. Stavrinakis - Charleston (expires 2016) - Susan Pearlstine - Charleston

2<sup>nd</sup> Congressional district - lay member - William H. Bingham, Sr. - Cayce (expires 2016)

Medical University of South Carolina(continued from previous page)		
3 <sup>rd</sup> Congressional district - lay member (expires 2016)	- Charles W. Shulze - Greenwood	
4 <sup>th</sup> Congressional district - medical member (expires 2016)	- Charles B. Thomas, Jr Greenville	
5 <sup>th</sup> Congressional district - medical member (expires 2016)	- Coty P. Fishburne - Rock Hill - G. Murrell Smith, Sr Sumter	
6 <sup>th</sup> Congressional district - lay member (expires 2016)	<ul><li>Erika Harrison - Charleston</li><li>Sandra P. Sims - Columbia</li></ul>	
6 <sup>th</sup> Congressional district - medical member (expires 2014)	- Ragin C. Monteith - Columbia	
7 <sup>th</sup> Congressional district - medical member (expires 2016)	- E. Conyers O'Bryan, Jr Florence	
7 <sup>th</sup> Congressional district - lay member (expires 2014)	<ul><li>James A. Battle - Nichols</li><li>Marva A. Smalls - Florence</li><li>Robin Tallon - Florence</li></ul>	
South Carolina State University - 4 year term 5 <sup>th</sup> Congressional district - Seat 5 (expires 2017)	- Linda Edwards Duncan - Gaffney	
6 <sup>th</sup> Congressional district - Seat 6 (expires 2017)	<ul> <li>James E. Harvey - Orangeburg</li> <li>Dean C. Patrick - Columbia</li> <li>Joseph W. Rice, Jr Orangeburg</li> <li>William Small, Jr Yemassee</li> <li>Maurice Washington - Charleston</li> </ul>	
7 <sup>th</sup> Congressional district - Seat 7 (expires 2017)	<ul><li>Ronald B. Henegan, Sr Bennetsville</li><li>Myers Rollins, Jr Conway</li></ul>	
at-large seat 9 (expires 2017)	<ul><li>- Pearl V. Ascue - Awendaw</li><li>- Jacquelyn Cunningham - Columbia</li><li>- Jackie Epps - Columbia</li></ul>	
at-large seat 11 (expires 2017)	<ul><li>Willar H. Hightower, Jr Aiken</li><li>Cathy B. Novinger - West Columbia</li></ul>	
at-large seat 12 (expires 2016)	<ul><li>- Katon E. Dawson - Columbia</li><li>- Elden E. Nelson, II - Orangeburg</li><li>- Walter L. Tobin - Columbia</li></ul>	

### Winthrop University - 6 year term

- 1<sup>st</sup> Congressional district Seat 1 (expires 2018)
- 5<sup>th</sup> Congressional district Seat 5 (expires 2018)
- 6<sup>th</sup> Congressional district Seat 6 (expires 2014)
- 7<sup>th</sup> Congressional district Seat 7 (expires 2018)
- italic denotes incumbent

- Timothy B. Sease Mt. Pleasant
- Kathy H. Bigham Rock Hill
- Rose Hilliard-Wilder Alcolu
- Ashlye V. Wilkerson Columbia
- Karl A. Folkens Florence

-XX-