#### Senator Harvey S. Peeler, Jr. Chairman Senator Thomas C. Alexander Senator Robert W. Hayes, Jr. Senator John. L. Scott, Jr.

Staff: Martha Casto Julie Price

6<sup>th</sup> Congressional district - seat 6

(expires June 30, 2016\*\*)

### Joint Legislative Committee to Screen Candidates for College and University Boards of Trustees



213 Gressette Building P.O. Box 142 Columbia, South Carolina 29202 Phone: (803) 212-6430 Email: SMediComm@scsenate.gov Representative William R. Whitmire Vice-Chairman Representative Phyllis J. Henderson Representative Peter M. McCoy, Jr. Representative Mia McLeod

# FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE March 6, 2015

The Joint Legislative Committee to Screen Candidates for College and University Boards of Trustees will be screening candidates for various college and university board of trustee seats on Monday, April 20, 2015. A list of screening times is attached. The candidates to be screened are:

Coastal Carolina (4 year term)  1 <sup>st</sup> Congressional district - seat 1 (expires June 30, 2019)	-	George Mullen, Hilton Head Island
3 <sup>rd</sup> Congressional district - seat 3 (expires June 30, 2019)	-	William L. Lyles, Jr., Anderson
5 <sup>th</sup> Congressional district - seat 5 (expires June 30, 2019)	-	Chuck E. Lewis, Gaffney
7 <sup>th</sup> Congressional district - seat 7 (expires June 30, 2019)	-	Natasha Hanna, Myrtle Beach
At-large - seat 9 (expires June 30, 2019)	-	Gene Spivey, Myrtle Beach
At-large - seat 11 (expires June 30, 2019)	-	William E. Turner III, Simpsonville
At-large - seat 13 (expires June 30, 2019)	-	William S. Biggs, Anderson
Lander University (4 year term)		

Robert F. Sabalis, Orangeburg

South Carolina State University (4 year term)

1<sup>st</sup> Congressional district - seat 1 - John C. Evans, North Charleston

(expires June 30, 2019)

2<sup>nd</sup> Congressional district - seat 2 - John E. Till, Neeses

(expires June 30, 2019)

3<sup>rd</sup> Congressional district - seat 3 - Jay Blankenship, Anderson

(expires June 30, 2018\*\*) Don C. Johnson, West Union

At-large - seat 12 - David Aylor, Charleston

(expires June 30, 2016\*\*) Kevin L. Ray, Columbia

Winthrop University (6 year term)

At-large - seat 10 - Glenn A. McCall, Rock Hill

(expires June 30, 2021)

Old Exchange Building Commission (6 year term)

One (1) at-large seat - Greg Ohanesian, Bennettsville

(expires June 30, 2021)

Wil Lou Gray Opportunity School (4 year term)

Three (3) at-large seats - Earle M. Bennett, West Columbia (expires June 30, 2019) - Deborah S. Blalock, Charleston

Robert N. Collar, Bluffton

\*\* The election is being held to fill an unexpired term - service will begin immediately after certification by the Secretary of State.

Italic denotes incumbent.

-XX-

# Joint Legislative Committee to Screen Candidates for College and University Boards of Trustees

### **AGENDA**

Monday, April 20, 2015 209 Gressette Building

12:30 p.m. -- Call to Order

Business of the Afternoon

**Lander University** 

12:30 p.m. Robert F. Sabalis -- Orangeburg

6th Congressional seat 6 - expires 2016\*\*

**Winthrop University** 

12:45 p.m. Glenn A. McCall -- Rock Hill

At-Large seat 10 - expires 2021

**Old Exchange Building Commission** 

1:00 p.m. Greg Ohanesian -- Bennettsville

At-Large seat - expires 2021

Wil Lou Gray Opportunity School

1:15 p.m. Earle M. Bennett -- West Columbia

At-Large seat - expires 2019

1:30 p.m. Deborah S. Blalock -- Charleston

At-Large seat - expires 2019

1:45 p.m. Robert N. Collar -- Bluffton

At-Large seat - expires 2019

**Coastal Carolina University** 

2:00 p.m. George Mullen -- Hilton Head Island

1<sup>st</sup> Congressional seat 1 - expires 2019

2:15 p.m. William L. Lyles, Jr. -- Anderson

3<sup>rd</sup> Congressional seat 3 - expires 2019

2:30 p.m. Chuck E. Lewis -- Gaffney

5<sup>th</sup> Congressional seat 5 - expires 2019

## **Coastal Carolina University (continuing)**

2:45 p.m.	Gene Spivey Myrtle Beach At-Large seat 9 - expires 2019
3:00 p.m.	William E. Turner, III Simpsonville At-Large seat 11 - expires 2019
3:15 p.m.	William S. Biggs Hilton Head Island <i>At-Large seat 13 - expires 2019</i>
3:30 p.m.	Natasha Hanna Myrtle Beach 7 <sup>th</sup> Congressional Seat 7 - expires 2019

### **South Carolina State University**

3:45 p.m.	John C. Evans North Charleston
	1 <sup>st</sup> Congressional Seat 1 - expires 2016
4:00 p.m.	John E. Till Neeses
•	2 <sup>nd</sup> Congressional Seat 2 - expires 2016
4:15 p.m.	Jay Blakenship Anderson
•	3rd Congressional Seat 3 - expires 2016
4:30 p.m.	Don C. Johnson West Union
•	3rd Congressional Seat 3 - expires 2016
4:45 p.m.	David Aylor Charleston
	At-Large Seat 12 - expires 2016
5:00 p.m.	Kevin L. Ray Columbia
	At-Large Seat 12 - expires 2016

<sup>\*</sup>All times are subject to change