Senator Harvey S. Peeler, Jr. Chairman Senator Thomas C. Alexander Senator Robert W. Hayes, Jr. Senator John. L. Scott, Jr.

> Staff: Martha Casto Julie Price

Joint Legislative Committee to Screen Candidates for College and University Boards of Trustees



213 Gressette Building P.O. Box 142 Columbia, South Carolina 29202 Phone: (803) 212-6430 Email: SMediComm@scsenate.gov Representative William R. Whitmire Vice-Chairman Representative Phyllis J. Henderson Representative Peter M. McCoy, Jr. Representative Mia McLeod

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE November 9, 2016

The Joint Legislative Committee to Screen Candidates for College and University Boards of Trustees has received letters of intent from the following candidates:

The Citadel One (1) at-large seat (term expires June 30, 2023) must be a graduate of The Citadel	- -	Letter of Intent received from: James "Jim" H. Harrison, Columbia Tee Hooper, Greenville
Coastal Carolina University 2 nd Congressional District - Seat 2 (term expires June 30, 2021)	-	Oran P. Smith, Leesville
4 th Congressional District - Seat 4 (term expires June 30, 2021)	-	no candidate filed
6 th Congressional District - Seat 6 (term expires June 30, 2021)	-	no candidate filed
At-large - Seat 8 (term expires June 30, 2021)	-	Carlos C. Johnson, Roebuck Edward R. Tkacz, Myrtle Beach
At-large - Seat 10 (term expires June 30, 2021)	-	Samuel J. Swad, Gaffney
At-large - Seat 12 (term expires June 30, 2021)	-	Hal Delan Stevens, Conway
At-large - Seat 14 (term expires June 30, 2021)	-	Daniel W.R. Moore, N. Myrtle Beach
At-large - Seat 15 (term expires June 30, 2021)	-	Patrick Sparks, Myrtle Beach

Lander University

At-Large - Seat 10 - Peggy Makins, Lexington

(term expires June 30, 2018)

Winthrop University

At-Large - Seat 8 - Susan Smith-Rex, Winnsboro

(term expires June 30, 2023) - Sandra Roberts Stroman, Chester

Wil Lou Gray Opportunity School

Four (4) at-large seat - D. Stewart Cooner, Lexington (term expires June 30, 2021) - Angela Hanyak, N. Charleston

Russell E. Hart, RoebuckJerome C. Wyatt, Roebuck

-XX-

^{*} denoted an incumbent