Joint Transportation Review Committee

SENATOR LAWRENCE K. GROOMS

REPRESENTATIVE JAMES H. LUCAS Vice Chairman

SENATOR HUGH K. LEATHERMAN, SR. SENATOR GLENN F. MCCONNELL SENATOR HARVEY S. PEELER SENATOR GERALD MALLOY REPRESENTATIVE ANNETTE D. YOUNG REPRESENTATIVE PHILLIP D. OWENS MR. REID BANKS MR. PATTERSON SMITH



POST OFFICE BOX 142 COLUMBIA. SOUTH CAROLINA 29202-0142 (803) 212-6400 DAVID J. OWENS

KENNETH M. MOFFITT CHIEF COUNSEL

RICHARD P. FULMER
HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES COUNSEL

LILY COGDILL
EXECUTIVE ASSISTANT

November 9, 2009

CONTACT: David Owens, Joint Transportation Review Committee, 803-212-6400

Residents May Apply for Seat on SCDOT Commission

COLUMBIA -- A joint House/Senate panel is accepting notice from people interested in applying for a seat on the S.C. Department of Transportation Commission. A vacancy will soon exist in the Second, Fourth, and Sixth Congressional districts.

The Department of Transportation is governed by the Commission and administered by the Secretary of Transportation. The seven-member DOT Commission is charged with planning, construction, maintenance and operation of the State Highway System and the development of a mass transit policy.

Those interested must meet eligibility requirements and possess certain qualifications in order to serve. Before a person may be elected, the person will be screened, investigated, and reviewed by the tenmember Joint Transportation Review Committee. Members of the General Assembly who are residents of a particular congressional district then elect a commissioner to represent that district.

The SCDOT's Second Commission District is the same as the Second Congressional District of South Carolina. It includes all or part of Aiken, Allendale, Barnwell, Beaufort, Calhoun, Hampton, Jasper, Lexington, Orangeburg, and Richland counties.

The SCDOT's Fourth Commission District is the same as South Carolina's Fourth Congressional District and includes all or part of Greenville, Laurens, Spartanburg and Union counties.

The SCDOT's Sixth Commission District is the same as the Sixth Congressional District of South Carolina. It includes all or part of Bamberg, Berkeley, Calhoun, Charleston, Clarendon, Colleton, Dorchester, Georgetown, Florence, Lee, Marion, Orangeburg, Richland and Sumter counties.

Terms begin February 15, 2010 and expire February 15, 2014. More information is available at www.scstatehouse.gov under 'Citizens' Interest', then 'Joint Transportation Review Committee'.

To receive an application, prospective candidates living within one of these the districts should notify the Joint Transportation Committee in writing of their intent to apply. The notice must include the person's county of residence, home address, and daytime phone number. Notice of intent will not be accepted after 12:00 noon on <u>Thursday</u>, <u>December 3, 2009</u>. Notice and questions related to the screening process should be sent to:

David Owens Joint Transportation Review Committee P.O. Box 142 Columbia, S.C. 29202 803-212-6400

###