Joint Transportation Review Committee

SENATOR LAWRENCE K. GROOMS Chairman

REPRESENTATIVE JAMES H. LUCAS Vice Chairman

SENATOR HUGH K. LEATHERMAN, SR. SENATOR GLENN F. MCCONNELL SENATOR HARVEY S. PEELER SENATOR GERALD MALLOY REPRESENTATIVE ANNETTE D. YOUNG REPRESENTATIVE PHILLIP D. OWENS MR. REID BANKS MR. PATTERSON SMITH



POST OFFICE BOX 142 COLUMBIA. SOUTH CAROLINA 29202-0142 (803) 212-6400 DAVID J. OWENS CHIEF OF STAFF

KENNETH M. MOFFITT CHIEF COUNSEL

RICHARD P. FULMER HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES COUNSEL

LILY COGDILL EXECUTIVE ASSISTANT

March 16, 2010 CONTACT: David Owens, Joint Transportation Review Committee, 803-212-6402

Residents May Apply for Seat on SCDOT Commission

COLUMBIA -- A joint House/Senate panel is accepting notice from residents living within the 4th Congressional District who are interested in applying for a seat on the S.C. Department of Transportation Commission. Notice of intent to apply will be accepted until 12:00 noon on Friday, April 16.

Interested persons must meet eligibility requirements and must possess certain qualifications in order to serve. Candidates will undergo a thorough review process, which includes a State Law Enforcement Division (SLED) background check; a credit check; completion of a personal data questionnaire, financial disclosure, and a S.C. State Ethics Commission Statement of Economic Interests form; and an investigation, interview and public screening by the ten-member Joint Transportation Review Committee and staff. Those found qualified then stand for election by members of the General Assembly who reside in the 4th Congressional District.

The Department of Transportation is governed by the Commission and administered by the Secretary of Transportation. The seven-member DOT Commission is charged with planning, construction, maintenance and operation of the State Highway System and the development of a mass transit policy.

The SCDOT's 4th Commission District is the same as the 4th Congressional District of South Carolina. It includes all of Greenville, Spartanburg and Union counties, and a small portion of northern Laurens County.

The term expires February 15, 2014. More information is available at <u>www.scstatehouse.gov</u> under 'Citizens' Interest', then 'Joint Transportation Review Committee'.

To receive an application, prospective candidates living within South Carolina's 4th Congressional District should notify the Joint Transportation Committee in writing of their intent to apply. The notice must include the person's county of residence, home address, and daytime phone number. <u>Notice of intent will not be accepted after 12:00</u> noon on Friday, April 16. Notice of intent and questions related to the screening process should be sent to:

David Owens Joint Transportation Review Committee P.O. Box 142 Columbia, S.C. 29202 803-212-6400