First Vice-Chair: Laurie Slade Funderburk

Micajah P. (Micah) Caskey, IV Neal A. Collins Patricia Moore (Pat) Henegan William M. (Bill) Hixon Jeffrey E. (Jeff) Johnson Marvin R. Pendarvis Tommy M. Stringer Bill Taylor Robert Q. Williams

Jennifer L. Dobson Research Director

Cathy A. Greer Administration Coordinator

Legislative Oversight Committee



South Carolina House of Representatives

Post Office Box 11867 Columbia, South Carolina 29211 Telephone: (803) 212-6810 • Fax: (803) 212-6811

Room 228 Blatt Building

Gary E. Clary Chandra E. Dillard Lee Hewitt Joseph H. Jefferson, Jr. Mandy Powers Norrell Robert L. Ridgeway, III Edward R. Tallon, Sr. John Taliaferro (Jay) West, IV Christopher Sloan (Chris) Wooten

Charles L. Appleby, IV Legal Counsel

Carmen J. McCutcheon Simon Research Analyst/Auditor

Kendra H. Wilkerson Fiscal/Research Analyst

January 24, 2019

Via Email

Col. Kevin A. Shwedo, Executive Director South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles Post Office Box 1498 Blythewood, South Carolina 29016

RE: Follow-up questions from the Subcommittee meeting with the agency on January 23, 2019

Dear Director Shwedo:

The Economic Development, Transportation, and Natural Resources Subcommittee appreciates the Department of Motor Vehicles' continued partnership in the oversight process. As follow-up from the meeting on January 23, 2019, please provide the following information by Monday, February 4, 2019:

- 1. A brief description of the steps DMV and others would have to take to begin automatically transmitting address changes made with DMV to counties to be used to update voter registrations. Please include an estimate of the costs DMV would incur to take those steps;
- 2. The number of employees DMV currently has that make less than \$25,750, the 2019 federal poverty threshold for a family of four; and
- 3. A list of the in-state court systems that do not provide at least 90% of adjudicated tickets to DMV within the ten-day reporting period.

If these inquiries would yield responses that are not an accurate reflection of the agency or if additional time is needed to respond, please contact Committee staff. Thank you for your service to the citizens of South Carolina and for your continued cooperation with the legislative oversight process. We look forward to continuing our discussion of the Department of Motor Vehicles at the next Subcommittee meeting.

Sincerely,

William M. "Bill" Hixon Subcommittee Chair

Bill Higon

cc: Economic Development, Transportation, and Natural Resources Subcommittee Members