First Vice-Chair: Laurie Slade Funderburk

Katherine E. (Katie) Arrington Gary E. Clary MaryGail K. Douglas Phyllis J. Henderson Joseph H. Jefferson Jr. Mandy Powers Norrell J. Todd Rutherford Tommy M. Stringer Bill Taylor

Jennifer L. Dobson Research Director

Cathy A. Greer Administration Coordinator

# Legislative Oversight Committee



South Carolina House of Representatives

Post Office Box 11867 Columbia, South Carolina 29211 Telephone: (803) 212-6810 • Fax: (803) 212-6811

Room 228 Blatt Building

**Legislative Oversight Committee Meeting** 

Wednesday, December 7, 2016 Blatt Building Room 110 William K. (Bill) Bowers Neal Collins Raye Felder William M. "Bill" Hixon Ralph W. Norman Robert L. Ridgeway III James E. Smith Jr. Edward R. Tallon Sr. Robert Q. Williams

Charles L. Appleby IV Legal Counsel

Carmen J. McCutcheon Simon Research Analyst/Auditor

#### Archived Video Available

I. Pursuant to House Legislative Oversight Committee (Committee) Rule 6.8, South Carolina ETV was allowed access for streaming the meeting. You may access an archived video of this meeting by visiting the South Carolina General Assembly's website (http://www.scstatehouse.gov) and clicking on *Committee Postings and Reports*, then under *House Standing Committees* click on *Legislative Oversight*. Finally, click on *Video Archives* for a listing of archived videos for the Committee.

#### **Minutes**

I. House Rule 4.5 requires standing committees to prepare and make available to the public the minutes of committee meetings, but the minutes do not have to be verbatim accounts of meetings.

#### **Attendance**

I. Pursuant to Committee Rule 3.1, the organizational meeting of the House Legislative Oversight Committee was called to order by Temporary Chair, Ralph W. Norman, in Room 110 of the Blatt Building. All members of the Committee were present for all or a portion of the meeting, except: Representative Mandy Powers Norrell.

## **Election of Officers**

I. Representative Edward R. Tallon, Sr., nominated Representative Wm. Weston J. Newton to serve as Chair of the Committee and moved that the nominations be closed. By acclamation, Representative Newton was elected Chair. It was noted the minutes would reflect an affirmative vote from all members present.

Motion made by:	Member	Yea	Nay	Not Voting (NP for Not Present)
	1. Katherine E. "Katie" Arrington	✓		
	2. William K. "Bill" Bowers	✓		
	3. Gary E. Clary	✓		
	4. Neal Collins	✓		
	5. MaryGail Douglas	✓		
	6. Raye Felder			NP
	7. Laurie Slade Funderburk	✓		
	8. Phyllis Henderson	✓		
	9. Bill Hixon			NP
	10. Joseph H. Jefferson, Jr.	✓		
	11. Wm. Weston J. Newton	✓		
	12. Ralph W. Norman	✓		
	13. Mandy Powers Norrell			NP
	14. Robert L. Ridgeway, III	✓		
	15. Todd Rutherford	✓		
	16. James E. Smith, Jr.	✓		
	17. Tommy M. Stringer	✓		
<b>√</b>	18. Edward R. "Eddie" Tallon	✓		
	19. Bill Taylor	✓		
	20. Robert Q. Williams	✓		

- II. Chair Newton made brief remarks, and he presided over the remainder of the meeting.
- III. Representative James E. Smith, Jr., nominated Representative Laurie Slade Funderburk to serve as First Vice-Chair and moved that the nominations be closed. She was duly elected as the Committee's First Vice-Chair.

Motion made by:	Member	Yea	Nay	Not Voting (NP for Not Present)
	1. Katherine E. "Katie" Arrington	✓		
	2. William K. "Bill" Bowers	✓		
	3. Gary E. Clary	✓		
	4. Neal Collins	✓		
	5. MaryGail Douglas	✓		
	6. Raye Felder			NP
	7. Laurie Slade Funderburk			NV

	8. Phyllis Henderson	✓	
	9. Bill Hixon	✓	
	10. Joseph H. Jefferson, Jr.	✓	
	11. Wm. Weston J. Newton	✓	
	12. Ralph W. Norman	✓	
	13. Mandy Powers Norrell		NP
	14. Robert L. Ridgeway, III	✓	
	15. Todd Rutherford	✓	
✓	16. James E. Smith, Jr.	✓	
	17. Tommy M. Stringer	✓	
	18. Edward R. "Eddie" Tallon	✓	
	19. Bill Taylor	✓	
	20. Robert Q. Williams	✓	

III. First Vice-Chair Funderburk made brief remarks.

## **Administrative Matters**

I. The next order of business was discussion of organizational matters, beginning with a vision and mission statements. Representative Joseph H. Jefferson, Jr., moved that the Committee approve mission and vision statements as adopted and utilized by the Committee in the 121<sup>st</sup> General Assembly. A roll call vote was held, and the motion passed.

Motion made by:	Member	Yea	Nay	Not Voting (NP for Not Present)
	1. Katherine E. "Katie" Arrington	✓		
	2. William K. "Bill" Bowers	✓		
	3. Gary E. Clary	✓		
	4. Neal Collins	✓		
	5. MaryGail Douglas	✓		
	6. Raye Felder			NP
	7. Laurie Slade Funderburk	✓		
	8. Phyllis Henderson	✓		
	9. Bill Hixon	✓		
✓	10. Joseph H. Jefferson, Jr.	✓		
	11. Wm. Weston J. Newton	✓		
	12. Ralph W. Norman	✓		
	13. Mandy Powers Norrell			NP
	14. Robert L. Ridgeway, III	✓		
	15. Todd Rutherford	✓		
	16. James E. Smith, Jr.	✓		
	17. Tommy M. Stringer	✓		
	18. Edward R. "Eddie" Tallon	✓		

19. Bill Taylor	✓	
20. Robert Q. Williams	✓	

II. The Committee proceeded to the adoption of its rules. Representative Todd Rutherford moved that the Committee approve the rules as adopted and utilized by the Committee in the 121<sup>st</sup> General Assembly. A roll call vote was held, and the motion passed.

Motion made by:	Member	Yea	Nay	Not Voting (NP for Not Present)
	1. Katherine E. "Katie" Arrington	✓		
	2. William K. "Bill" Bowers	✓		
	3. Gary E. Clary	✓		
	4. Neal Collins	✓		
	5. MaryGail Douglas	✓		
	6. Raye Felder			NP
	7. Laurie Slade Funderburk	✓		
	8. Phyllis Henderson	✓		
	9. Bill Hixon	✓		
	10. Joseph H. Jefferson, Jr.	✓		
	11. Wm. Weston J. Newton	✓		
	12. Ralph W. Norman	✓		
	13. Mandy Powers Norrell			NP
	14. Robert L. Ridgeway, III	✓		
✓	15. Todd Rutherford	✓		
	16. James E. Smith, Jr.	✓		
	17. Tommy M. Stringer	✓		
	18. Edward R. "Eddie" Tallon	✓		
	19. Bill Taylor	✓		
	20. Robert Q. Williams	✓		

- III. Committee Rule 7.1 allows for the development of standard practices. Chair Newton noted the members' meeting packet included a summary of proposed revisions to standard practices and a draft of the proposed revised standard practices. It was noted the revisions are submitted to reflect lessons learned and member comments received during the 121<sup>st</sup> General Assembly as well as to reflect public input as the cornerstone of the Committee's legislative oversight process.
- IV. Chair Newton reminded the Committee of its task to recommend to the Speaker agencies for study in 2017 and that a seven-year review cycle be published in the House Journal the first day of session. He provided a recap of suggestions received on the topic from legislators and constituents.

# Minutes

I. Representative Phyllis Henderson moved to approve the minutes from the Committee's meeting on October 31, 2016, the last meeting during the 121<sup>st</sup> General Assembly. A roll call vote was held, and the motion passed. New members of the Committee abstained from the vote.

Motion made by:	Member	Yea	Nay	Not Voting (NP for Not Present)
	1. Katherine E. "Katie" Arrington			NV
	2. William K. "Bill" Bowers	✓		
	3. Gary E. Clary	✓		
	4. Neal Collins			NV
	5. MaryGail Douglas			NV
	6. Raye Felder	✓		
	7. Laurie Slade Funderburk	✓		
✓	8. Phyllis Henderson	✓		
	9. Bill Hixon			NV
	10. Joseph H. Jefferson, Jr.	✓		
	11. Wm. Weston J. Newton	✓		
	12. Ralph W. Norman	✓		
	13. Mandy Powers Norrell			NP
	14. Robert L. Ridgeway, III	✓		
	15. Todd Rutherford			NV
	16. James E. Smith, Jr.	✓		
	17. Tommy M. Stringer	✓		
	18. Edward R. "Eddie" Tallon	✓		
	19. Bill Taylor	✓		
	20. Robert Q. Williams	✓		

II. The meeting was adjourned.