First Vice-Chair: Laurie Slade Funderburk

Micajah P. (Micah) Caskey, IV Neal A. Collins Patricia Moore (Pat) Henegan William M. (Bill) Hixon Jeffrey E. (Jeff) Johnson Marvin R. Pendarvis Tommy M. Stringer Bill Taylor Robert Q. Williams

Jennifer L. Dobson Research Director

Cathy A. Greer Administration Coordinator

# Legislative Oversight Committee



South Carolina House of Representatives

Post Office Box 11867 Columbia, South Carolina 29211 Telephone: (803) 212-6810 • Fax: (803) 212-6811

Room 228 Blatt Building

Gary E. Clary
Chandra E. Dillard
Lee Hewitt
Joseph H. Jefferson, Jr.
Mandy Powers Norrell
Robert L. Ridgeway, III
Edward R. Tallon, Sr.
John Taliaferro (Jay) West, IV
Christopher Sloan (Chris) Wooten

Charles L. Appleby, IV Legal Counsel

Carmen J. McCutcheon Simon Research Analyst/Auditor

Kendra H. Wilkerson Fiscal/Research Analyst

Economic Development, Transportation, and Natural Resources Subcommittee Wednesday, January 23, 2019
10:00 a.m.
Blatt Room 427

### Archived Video Available

I. Pursuant to House Legislative Oversight Committee Rule 6.8, South Carolina ETV was allowed access for streaming the meeting. You may access an archived video of this meeting by visiting the South Carolina General Assembly's website (<a href="http://www.scstatehouse.gov">http://www.scstatehouse.gov</a>) and clicking on Committee Postings and Reports, then under House Standing Committees click on Legislative Oversight. Then, click on Video Archives for a listing of archived videos for the Committee.

#### Attendance

I. The Economic Development, Transportation, and Natural Resources Subcommittee meeting was called to order by Chair William M. (Bill) Hixon on Wednesday, January 23, 2019, in Room 427 of the Blatt Building. The following other members of the Subcommittee were present for either all or a portion of the meeting: Representative Lee Hewitt, Representative Mandy Powers Norrell, and Representative Marvin R. Pendarvis.

#### Minutes

I. House Rule 4.5 requires standing committees to prepare and make available to the public the minutes of committee meetings, but the minutes do not have to be verbatim accounts of meetings. It is the practice of the Legislative Oversight Committee to provide minutes for its subcommittee meetings.

II. Representative Hewitt moves to approve the minutes from the November 1, 2018 meeting. A roll call vote is held, and the motion passes.

| Rep. Hewitt's motion to approve the minutes from the November 1, 2018, meeting: | Yea | Nay | Not Voting |
|---|-----|-----|------------|
| Rep. Hewitt   | ✓   |     |            |
| Rep. Norrell  |     |     | ✓ (absent) |
| Rep. Pendarvis  | ✓   |     |            |
| Rep. Hixon  | ✓   |     |            |

## Discussion of the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV)

- I. Chair Hixon swears in the following DMV representatives:
  - a. John Laganelli, Chief of Staff and Director of Operations
  - b. Frank Valenta, General Counsel
  - c. Patricia (Trish) Blake, Director of Administration
  - d. Karl McClary, Inspector General
  - e. Tracey (Teddi) Miller, Deputy Director of Internal Audits
  - f. Henry (Eddie) Wicker, Deputy Director of Driver Services
  - g. Shirley Rivers, Director of Driver Services
  - h. Larry Murray, Director of Vehicle Services
  - i. Laura Bayne, Deputy Director of Legislative Affairs
  - j. Courtney Saxon, Deputy Director of Field Services
  - k. Kristin Wicker, Deputy Director of Finance
  - 1. Gregory Torok, Deputy Director of Human Resources
  - m. CL Clay, Chief Information Security Officer
  - n. Ralph Bailey, Budget Manager
  - o. Frank Rogers, Chief Information Officer
  - p. Phil Porter, Deputy General Counsel
  - q. Michael Baum, Application Systems Manager
  - r. Melissa Cisson, Deputy Director of the Contact Center
  - s. Nina Moore, Paralegal
  - t. Rick Steen, Investigator
  - u. Betty Cumalander, Fraud Unit
  - v. Brandy Duncan, Assistant General Counsel
  - w. John Padgett, Legislative Liaison
- II. DMV Executive Director Kevin Shwedo, who was sworn in at a previous Committee meeting, makes opening comments and then presents information on the following topics:
  - a. Mission, vision, and values
  - b. History
  - c. Organizational structure
  - d. Partnerships

- Director Shwedo responds to Subcommittee member questions during and after the presentation.
- III. Ms. Tracey (Teddi) Miller, Deputy Director of Internal Audits, presents about the agency's internal audit process. Ms. Miller and Director Shwedo respond to Subcommittee member questions during and after the presentation.
- IV. Director Shwedo provides opening comments about the agency's information technology. Then, Mr. CL Clay, Chief Information Security Officer, discusses information security, followed by Mr. Frank Rogers, Chief Information Officer, who discusses the history of the agency's information technology systems. Director Shwedo, Mr. Clay, and Mr. Rogers answer questions from Subcommittee members during and after the presentations. Mr. Larry Murray, Director of Vehicle Services, also responds to a Subcommittee member question during the presentation.
- V. Mr. John Laganelli, Chief of Staff and Director of Operations, discusses agency organization, deliverables, and resources. Director Shwedo and Mr. Laganelli respond to Subcommittee member questions during and after the presentation.
- VI. Representative Hewitt moves to recommend that the Committee encourage fellow legislators to inform their constituents of the upcoming Real ID deadline and potential consequences of waiting. A roll call vote is held, and the motion passes.

| Rep. Hewitt's motion to recommend that the Committee encourage fellow legislators to inform their constituents of the upcoming Real ID deadline and potential consequences of waiting: | Yea | Nay | Not Voting |
|--|-----|-----|------------|
| Rep. Hewitt  | ✓   |     |            |
| Rep. Norrell   |     |     | √ (absent) |
| Rep. Pendarvis   | ✓   |     |            |
| Rep. Hixon   | ✓   |     |            |

VII. The meeting is adjourned.