First Vice-Chair: Laurie Slade Funderburk

Micajah P. (Micah) Caskey, IV Neal A. Collins Patricia Moore (Pat) Henegan William M. (Bill) Hixon Jeffrey E. (Jeff) Johnson Marvin R. Pendarvis Tommy M. Stringer Bill Taylor Robert Q. Williams

Jennifer L. Dobson Research Director

Cathy A. Greer Administration Coordinator

# Legislative Oversight Committee



South Carolina House of Representatives

Post Office Box 11867 Columbia, South Carolina 29211 Telephone: (803) 212-6810 • Fax: (803) 212-6811

Room 228 Blatt Building

Gary E. Clary
Chandra E. Dillard
Lee Hewitt
Joseph H. Jefferson, Jr.
Mandy Powers Norrell
Robert L. Ridgeway, III
Edward R. Tallon, Sr.
John Taliaferro (Jay) West, IV
Chris Wooten

Charles L. Appleby, IV Legal Counsel

Carmen J. McCutcheon Simon Research Analyst/Auditor

Kendra H. Wilkerson Fiscal/Research Analyst

Economic Development, Transportation, and Natural Resources Subcommittee Wednesday, March 20, 2019
2:15 p.m.
Blatt Room 321

### Archived Video Available

I. Pursuant to House Legislative Oversight Committee Rule 6.8, South Carolina ETV was allowed access for streaming the meeting. You may access an archived video of this meeting by visiting the South Carolina General Assembly's website (<a href="http://www.scstatehouse.gov">http://www.scstatehouse.gov</a>) and clicking on Committee Postings and Reports, then under House Standing Committees click on Legislative Oversight. Then, click on Video Archives for a listing of archived videos for the Committee.

#### Attendance

I. The Economic Development, Transportation, and Natural Resources Subcommittee meeting was called to order by Chair William M. (Bill) Hixon on Wednesday, March 20, 2019, in Room 321 of the Blatt Building. The following other members of the Subcommittee were present for either all or a portion of the meeting: Representative Lee Hewitt, Representative Mandy Powers Norrell, and Representative Marvin R. Pendarvis.

#### Minutes

I. House Rule 4.5 requires standing committees to prepare and make available to the public the minutes of committee meetings, but the minutes do not have to be verbatim accounts of meetings. It is the practice of the Legislative Oversight Committee to provide minutes for its subcommittee meetings.

II. Representative Hewitt moves to approve the minutes from the February 27, 2019, meeting. A roll call vote is held, and the motion passes.

Rep. Hewitt's motion to approve the minutes from the February 27, 2019, meeting:	Yea	Nay	Not Voting
Rep. Hewitt	✓		
Rep. Norrell	✓		
Rep. Pendarvis			✓ (absent)
Rep. Hixon	✓		

### Receipt of Constituent Testimony

I. Chair Hixon swears in Mr. Clarence Jenkins, Jr., who provides testimony about his experiences with the Human Affairs Commission and the Department of Employment and Workforce. Mr. Jenkins responds to questions from subcommittee members.

## Discussion of the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV)

- I. Chair Hixon swears in Mr. Robert Bailes, DMV's incoming Chief of Staff and Director of Operations.
- II. DMV Executive Director Kevin Shwedo updates some of the information provided at previous meetings and responds to questions from Subcommittee members about the follow-up information the agency submitted on March 14, 2019. Mr. Karl McClary, DMV Inspector General, also responds to questions.
- III. Director Shwedo continues the agency's presentation of its strategic plan, which was started at the previous Subcommittee meeting on February 27, 2019. He begins with the agency's Goal 2.
- IV. Mr. John Laganelli, outgoing DMV Chief of Staff and Director of Operations, presents information about the agency's Strategy 1 under Goal 2.
- V. Mr. Frank Rodgers, DMV Chief Information Officer, and Mr. Michael Baum, DMV Application Systems Manager, present information about the agency's Strategy 2 under Goal 2. Mr. Rodgers, Mr. Baum, Mr. Laganelli, and Director Shwedo respond to member questions.
- VI. Mr. McClary, Ms. Shirley Rivers, DMV Director of Driver Services, and Mr. Larry Murray, DMV Director of Vehicle Services, present information about the agency's Strategy 3 under Goal 2. Mr. McClary, Ms. Rivers, Mr. Murray, and Director Shwedo respond to member questions.
- VII. Director Shwedo presents the agency's recommended law changes related to Goal 2, followed by an overview of Goal 3.

- VIII. Mr. Rodgers presents information about the agency's Strategies 1 and 2 under Goal 3. Mr. Rodgers, Director Shwedo, and Ms. Laura Bayne, Deputy Director of Legislative Affairs, respond to member questions.
  - IX. Mr. McClary presents information about the agency's Strategy 3 under Goal 3. Mr. McClary and Mr. Rodgers respond to member questions.
  - X. Director Shwedo and Ms. Trish Blake, Director of Administration, present information about the agency's Goal 4. Ms. Blake and Director Shwedo respond to member questions.
  - XI. The meeting is adjourned.