First Vice-Chair: Laurie Slade Funderburk

Micajah P. (Micah) Caskey, IV Neal A. Collins Patricia Moore (Pat) Henegan William M. (Bill) Hixon Jeffrey E. (Jeff) Johnson Marvin R. Pendarvis Tommy M. Stringer Bill Taylor Robert Q. Williams

Jennifer L. Dobson Research Director

Cathy A. Greer Administration Coordinator

Legislative Oversight Committee



South Carolina House of Representatives

Post Office Box 11867 Columbia, South Carolina 29211 Telephone: (803) 212-6810 • Fax: (803) 212-6811

Room 228 Blatt Building

Gary E. Clary Chandra E. Dillard Lee Hewitt Joseph H. Jefferson, Jr. Mandy Powers Norrell Robert L. Ridgeway, III Edward R. Tallon, Sr. John Taliaferro (Jay) West, IV Chris Wooten

Charles L. Appleby, IV Legal Counsel

Carmen J. McCutcheon Simon Research Analyst/Auditor

Kendra H. Wilkerson Fiscal/Research Analyst

Economic Development, Transportation, and Natural Resources Subcommittee Thursday, April 4, 2019 2:00 p.m. Blatt Room 321

Archived Video Available

I. Pursuant to House Legislative Oversight Committee Rule 6.8, South Carolina ETV was allowed access for streaming the meeting. You may access an archived video of this meeting by visiting the South Carolina General Assembly's website (<u>http://www.scstatehouse.gov</u>) and clicking on *Committee Postings and Reports*, then under *House Standing Committees* click on *Legislative Oversight*. Then, click on *Video Archives* for a listing of archived videos for the Committee.

Attendance

I. The Economic Development, Transportation, and Natural Resources Subcommittee meeting was called to order by Chair William M. (Bill) Hixon on Thursday, April 4, 2019, in Room 321 of the Blatt Building. The following other members of the Subcommittee were present for either all or a portion of the meeting: Representative Lee Hewitt and Representative Mandy Powers Norrell. Committee Vice-Chair Laurie Slade Funderburk was also present for a portion of the meeting.

Minutes

I. House Rule 4.5 requires standing committees to prepare and make available to the public the minutes of committee meetings, but the minutes do not have to be verbatim accounts of meetings. It is the practice of the Legislative Oversight Committee to provide minutes for its subcommittee meetings.

II. Representative Hewitt moves to approve the minutes from the March 27, 2019, meeting. A roll call vote is held, and the motion passes.

Rep. Hewitt's motion to approve the minutes from the March 27, 2019, meeting:	Yea	Nay	Not Voting
Rep. Hewitt	✓		
Rep. Norrell			✓ (absent)
Rep. Pendarvis			✓ (absent)
Rep. Hixon	✓		
Rep. Funderburk			✓ (present)

Receipt of Testimony

- I. Chair Hixon reminds Ms. Christy Hall, Secretary of Transportation, that she remains under oath. Secretary Hall presents some information related to revenue the Department of Transportation (DOT) receives from the Department of Motor Vehicles. She responds to Subcommittee members' questions.
- II. Chair Hixon swears in Mr. Rick Makla, Chief Strategy Officer for the Office of Technology and Information Services in the Department of Administration. Mr. Makla provides an overview of the administration of the state's contract with South Carolina Interactive. He also responds to Subcommittee members' questions.
- III. Chair Hixon swears in Mr. Jeff McCartney, Vice President of Portal Operations of NIC, which is the parent company of South Carolina Interactive. Mr. McCartney responds to Subcommittee members' questions related to the state's contract with South Carolina Interactive.
- IV. Chair Hixon swears in Ms. Kace Smith, DOT Chief Financial Officer. Ms. Smith responds to Subcommittee members' questions about DOT's involvement with South Carolina Interactive.

Discussion of the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV)

- I. Chair Hixon reminds Mr. Rick Todd, President and CEO of the South Carolina Trucking Association, that he remains under oath. Mr. Todd presents his views on DMV's law change recommendation 23, relating to assessing the Infrastructure Maintenance Fee on commercial trucks by weight instead of value. He also answers Subcommittee members' questions on this topic.
- II. Chair Hixon swears in the following DMV representatives:
 - a. Heather Martin, Deputy Director of Human Resources
 - b. Bobbi Jacobs, Regional Manager, Field Services

- III. DMV Executive Director Kevin Shwedo and other DMV representatives answer questions from Subcommittee members about DMV's law change recommendations.
- IV. Subcommittee members make several motions to include recommendations in the Subcommittee study. A roll call vote is held for each. All motions pass.

Rep. Norrell's motion to adopt DMV law change recommendations 1-5, 7, 9, 10, 12, 14- 16, 21, and 22, as recommended in the agency's Program Evaluation Report:	Yea	Nay	Not Voting
Rep. Hewitt	✓		
Rep. Norrell	✓		
Rep. Pendarvis			✓ (absent)
Rep. Hixon	✓		
Rep. Funderburk			✓ (present)

Rep. Hewitt's motion to adopt DMV's law recommendation 8, to eliminate NASCAR license plates:	Yea	Nay	Not Voting
Rep. Hewitt	✓		
Rep. Norrell	✓		
Rep. Pendarvis			✓ (absent)
Rep. Hixon	✓		
Rep. Funderburk			✓ (absent)

Rep. Norrell's motion that the Subcommittee recommend that the General Assembly amend state law to exempt DMV publications from sales tax:	Yea	Nay	Not Voting
Rep. Hewitt	\checkmark		
Rep. Norrell	\checkmark		
Rep. Pendarvis			✓ (absent)
Rep. Hixon	\checkmark		
Rep. Funderburk			✓ (absent)

 Rep. Hewitt's motion that the Subcommittee recommend that: a. the General Assembly clarify in statute that fees DMV collects in accordance with Section 30-4-30 of the Freedom of Information Act, which are not covered under Section 56-9-330 relating to the sale of motor vehicle records, are to be retained by the Department; and b. DMV request that the current proviso 82.2 be removed or revised in future appropriations acts 	Yea	Nay	Not Voting
Rep. Hewitt	✓		
Rep. Norrell	\checkmark		
Rep. Pendarvis			✓ (absent)
Rep. Hixon	✓		
Rep. Funderburk			✓ (absent)

V. The meeting is adjourned.