First Vice-Chair: Laurie Slade Funderburk

Micajah P. (Micah) Caskey, IV Neal A. Collins Patricia Moore (Pat) Henegan William M. (Bill) Hixon Jeffrey E. (Jeff) Johnson Marvin R. Pendarvis Tommy M. Stringer Bill Taylor Robert O. Williams

Jennifer L. Dobson Research Director

Cathy A. Greer Administration Coordinator

# Legislative Oversight Committee



South Carolina House of Representatives

Post Office Box 11867 Columbia, South Carolina 29211 Telephone: (803) 212-6810 • Fax: (803) 212-6811

Room 228 Blatt Building

Gary E. Clary
Chandra E. Dillard
Lee Hewitt
Joseph H. Jefferson, Jr.
Mandy Powers Norrell
Robert L. Ridgeway, III
Edward R. Tallon, Sr.
John Taliaferro (Jay) West, IV
Chris Wooten

Charles L. Appleby, IV Legal Counsel

Carmen J. McCutcheon Simon Research Analyst/Auditor

Kendra H. Wilkerson Fiscal/Research Analyst

Economic Development, Transportation, and Natural Resources Subcommittee Monday, July 22, 2019 10:00 a.m. Blatt Room 321

## Archived Video Available

I. Pursuant to House Legislative Oversight Committee Rule 6.8, South Carolina ETV was allowed access for streaming the meeting. You may access an archived video of this meeting by visiting the South Carolina General Assembly's website (<a href="http://www.scstatehouse.gov">http://www.scstatehouse.gov</a>) and clicking on Committee Postings and Reports, then under House Standing Committees click on Legislative Oversight. Then, click on Video Archives for a listing of archived videos for the Committee.

### Attendance

I. The Economic Development, Transportation, and Natural Resources Subcommittee meeting was called to order by Chair William M. (Bill) Hixon on Monday, July 22, 2019, in Room 321 of the Blatt Building. The following other members of the Subcommittee were present for either all or a portion of the meeting: Representative Mandy Powers Norrell and Representative Marvin R. Pendarvis.

#### Minutes

I. House Rule 4.5 requires standing committees to prepare and make available to the public the minutes of committee meetings, but the minutes do not have to be verbatim accounts of meetings. It is the practice of the Legislative Oversight Committee to provide minutes for its subcommittee meetings.

II. Representative Pendarvis moves to approve the minutes from the July 18, 2019, meeting. A roll call vote is held, and the motion passes.

Rep. Pendarvis' motion to approve the minutes from the July 18, 2019, meeting:	Yea	Nay	Not Voting
Rep. Hewitt			✓ (absent)
Rep. Norrell	✓		
Rep. Pendarvis	✓		
Rep. Hixon	✓		

## Discussion of the State Housing Finance and Development Authority (SC Housing)

- I. The following constituents testify about their experiences with SC Housing after being sworn in by Chair Hixon:
  - a. Chad Charles

Executive Director, SC Association of Habitat Affiliates

b. Monroe Free

CEO, Habitat for Humanity Greenville

c. Carla Schuessler

Executive Director, Habitat for Humanity Horry County

d. Susan McLarty

Greenville Homeless Alliance

e. Wilbur Cave

Allendale County Alive

f. Merylin Jackson

Executive Director, Southern Carolina Regional CDC

g. Daryl Jones

Senior Vice President, Integral Group

- h. Alisa Mosley
- i. Tracy Doran

Co-Founder and President. Humanities Foundation

i. Robert Thomas

Executive Director, Region 3 Housing Authority; Director, Southeastern Housing and Community Development

k. Ginny Stroud

Community Development Manager, City of Greenville

l. Jennifer Wilford

Director of Housing and Neighborhood Services, City of Rock Hill

m. Ivory Matthews

Interim Executive Director, Columbia Housing Authority

The constituents respond to questions from Subcommittee members after their testimony.

- II. Rep. Pendarvis reads a statement from Harold Mitchell, Jr., describing his experiences with SC Housing.
- III. SC Housing Director Shropshire responds to questions from Subcommittee members related to the public testimony received.
- IV. Mr. John Tyler, SC Housing Director of Housing Initiatives and Innovation, presents an overview of the agency's trust fund programs, including:
  - a. Emergency Repair Program
  - b. Owner Occupied Repair Program
  - c. Group Homes
  - d. Supportive Housing

Mr. Tyler, Director Shropshire, and SC Housing General Counsel Tracey Easton respond to questions from Subcommittee members during and after the presentation.

- V. Mr. Carl Bowen, SC Housing Director of Rental Assistance and Compliance, provides an overview of the programs he supervises, including:
  - a. Project-Based Contract Administration
  - b. Housing Choice Voucher Program

Mr. Bowen, Director Shropshire, and Ms. Easton respond to questions from Subcommittee members during and after the presentation.

- VI. Dr. Bryan Grady, SC Housing Chief Research Officer, provides an overview of the South Carolina Housing Needs Assessment the agency is preparing. Dr. Grady, Director Shropshire, and Ms. Easton respond to questions from Subcommittee members during and after the presentation.
- VII. Director Shropshire provides closing remarks and responds to questions from Subcommittee members.
- VIII. The meeting is adjourned.