Senator Harvey S. Peeler, Jr. Chairman Senator Thomas C. Alexander Senator J. Yancey McGill Senator Robert W. Hayes, Jr.

> Staff: Martha Casto Julie Price

### Joint Legislative Committee to Screen Candidates for College and University Boards of Trustees



213 Gressette Building P.O. Box 142 Columbia, South Carolina 29202 Phone: (803) 212-6430 Email: SMediComm@scsenate.gov Representative William R. Whitmire Vice-Chairman Representative David J. Mack III Representative Phyllis J. Henderson Representative Peter M. McCoy, Jr.

# Report of the Joint Legislative Committee to Screen Candidates for College and University Boards of Trustees April 16, 2013

The Joint Legislative Committee to Screen Candidates for College and University Boards of Trustees found the following candidates qualified to stand for election to their respective Boards - the *names in italic denote incumbents*:

### The Citadel

1 at-large (expires 2019)

## **Coastal Carolina University**

1<sup>st</sup> Congressional district-seat 1 (expires 2014)

3<sup>rd</sup> Congressional district-seat 3 (expires 2017)

6<sup>th</sup> Congressional district-seat 6 (expires 2017)

7<sup>th</sup> Congressional district-seat 7 (expires 2017)

at-large seat 12 (expires 2017)

at-large seat 15 (expires 2017)

### **Candidates**

- Gene Pinson Greenwood
- Fred Lewis Price, Jr. Columbia

### Candidates

- George E. Mullen Hilton Head Island
- William L. Lyles Anderson
- Marion B. Lee Hemingway
- Natasha M. Hanna Myrtle Beach
- Larry L. Biddle Conway
- Robert Templeton Neeses

### **College of Charleston**

1<sup>st</sup> Congressional district - seat 2 (expires 2016)

2<sup>nd</sup> Congressional district - seat 4 (expires 2016)

3<sup>rd</sup> Congressional district - seat 6 (expires 2016)

4<sup>th</sup> Congressional district - seat 8 (expires 2016)

5<sup>th</sup> Congressional district - seat 10 (expires 2016)

6<sup>th</sup> Congressional district - seat 12 (expires 2016)

7<sup>th</sup> Congressional district - seat 13 (expires 2014)

7<sup>th</sup> Congressional district - seat 14 (expires 2016)

at large - seat 16 (expires 2016)

# **Francis Marion University**

1<sup>st</sup> Congressional district - seat 1 (expires 2014)

2<sup>nd</sup> Congressional district - seat 2 (expires 2016)

3<sup>rd</sup> Congressional district - seat 3 (expires 2016)

4<sup>th</sup> Congressional district - seat 4 (expires 2016)

5<sup>th</sup> Congressional district - seat 5 (expires 2014)

6<sup>th</sup> Congressional district - seat 6 (expires 2014)

#### Candidates

- L. Cherry Daniel - Charleston

- G. Lee Mikell - Columbia

- Edward L. Thomas - Anderson

Kelly Moorhead - GreenvilleRenée Buyck Romberger - Greenville

- . . . .
- Robert M. Burch, III Camden
- Pansy King-Reid Fort Mill
- Michael Todd Warrick Sumter

- Emily F. Guess - Denmark - Ricci Land Welch - Manning

- Henrietta U. Golding - Myrtle Beach

- Renee B. Goldfinch - Myrtle Beach - Dwight Johnson - Florence

- David Mikell Hay - Charleston

### Candidates

- Mark S. Moore - Mt. Pleasant

- Gail Ness Richardson - Barnwell

- Lonnie Adamson Pendleton
- Patricia C. Hartung Greenwood
- Nancy King Pendleton
- Jody Bryson Greenville

- James M. Bunch - Gaffney

- Alan L. Gibbons - New Zion - Floyd L. Keels - Lake City 7<sup>th</sup> Congressional district - seat 7 (expires 2016)

at-large - seat 9 (expires 2016)

at-large - seat 11 (expires 2016)

at-large - seat 15 (expires 2016)

### Lander University

1<sup>st</sup> Congressional district - Seat 1 (expires 2016)

2<sup>nd</sup> congressional district - Seat 2 (expires 2016)

3<sup>rd</sup> congressional district - Seat 3 (expires 2016)

4<sup>th</sup> congressional district - Seat 4 (expires 2016)

5<sup>th</sup> congressional district - Seat 5 (expires 2016)

6<sup>th</sup> congressional district - Seat 6 (expires 2016)

7<sup>th</sup> congressional district - Seat 7 (expires 2016)

### Medical University of South Carolina

1<sup>st</sup> Congressional district - lay member (expires 2016)

2<sup>nd</sup> Congressional district - lay member (expires 2016)

3<sup>rd</sup> Congressional district - lay member (expires 2016)

4<sup>th</sup> Congressional district - medical member (expires 2016)

6<sup>th</sup> Congressional district - lay member (expires 2016) - George C. McIntyre - Bennettsville

- Lonnie Adamson Pendleton - Nancy King - Pendleton
- Melissa Johnson Emery Conway
- H. Randall Dozier Murrells Inlet
- William W. Coleman, Jr. Florence

### Candidates

- Robert Brimmer Mt. Pleasant
- George R. Starnes III Columbia
- Linda Dolny Greenwood
- Jack W. Lawrence Spartanburg
- S. Anne Walker Columbia
- Ann V. Hurst Orangeburg
- Catherine Lee Frederick Florence

### Candidates

- Michael E. Stavrinakis Charleston
- Susan Pearlstine Charleston
- William H. Bingham, Sr. Cayce
- Charles W. Shulze Greenwood
- Charles B. Thomas, Jr. Greenville
- Sandra P. Sims Columbia

6<sup>th</sup> Congressional district - medical member (expires 2014)

7<sup>th</sup> Congressional district - medical member (expires 2016)

7<sup>th</sup> Congressional district - lay member (expires 2014)

### South Carolina State University

5<sup>th</sup> Congressional district - Seat 5 (expires 2017)

6<sup>th</sup> Congressional district - Seat 6 (expires 2017)

7<sup>th</sup> Congressional district - Seat 7 (expires 2017)

at-large seat 9 (expires 2017)

at-large seat 11 (expires 2017)

at-large seat 12 (expires 2016)

### Winthrop University

1<sup>st</sup> Congressional district - Seat 1 (expires 2018)

5<sup>th</sup> Congressional district - Seat 5 (expires 2018)

6<sup>th</sup> Congressional district - Seat 6 (expires 2014)

7<sup>th</sup> Congressional district - Seat 7 (expires 2018) - Ragin C. Monteith - Columbia

- E. Conyers O'Bryan, Jr.- Florence

- James A. Battle - Nichols

- Marva Smalls - Florence

### **Candidates**

- Linda Edwards Duncan - Gaffney

- James E. Harvey Orangeburg
  Dean C. Patrick Columbia
  Joseph W. Rice, Jr. Orangeburg
  William Small, Jr. Yemassee
  Maurice Washington Charleston
- Ronald B. Henegan, Sr. Bennettsville
- Pearl V. Ascue Awendaw
  Jacquelyn Cunningham Columbia
  Jackie Epps Columbia
- Willar H. Hightower, Jr. Aiken - Cathy B. Novinger - West Columbia
- Katon E. Dawson Columbia
- Elden E. Nelson, II Orangeburg
- Walter L. Tobin Columbia

### Candidates

- Timothy B. Sease Mt. Pleasant
- Kathy H. Bigham Rock Hill
- Rose Hilliard-Wilder Alcolu
- Ashlye V. Wilkerson Columbia
- Karl A. Folkens Florence

### Wil Lou Gray Opportunity School

4 at-large seats (expires 2017)

#### Candidates

- Douglas Stewart Cooner Lexington
- Russell E. Hart Roebuck
- W. Wayne Sims Hartsville
- Elizabeth Thrailkill Fort Lawn

The Candidates are released to seek the vote of members of the General Assembly at <u>10:00 a.m. on</u> <u>Thursday, April 18, 2013</u>. In addition, members of the General Assembly are not permitted to issue letters of introduction, announcements of candidacy or statements detailing a candidate's qualifications on behalf of a candidate, and are not permitted to offer a pledge to vote for a candidate until 10:00 a.m. on April 18, 2013.

Transcripts of the screening hearings will be available at 10:00 a.m. on Thursday, April 18, 2013 at <a href="http://www.scstatehouse.gov/committeeinfo/Universities&CollegesScreeningCommittee/Univ&CollScreening">http://www.scstatehouse.gov/committeeinfo/Universities&CollegesScreeningCommittee/Univ&CollScreening</a> .php

In accordance with H. 3957, the date for the election to these seats is Wednesday, May 1, 2013 immediately following the election for members to the Public Service Commission. The Public Service Commission election is scheduled to begin at 12 noon on May 1<sup>st</sup> in the House Chamber.