Judicial Merit Selection Commission

Sen. Larry A. Martin, Chairman Rep. Alan D. Clemmons, Vice-Chairman Rep. Bruce W. Bannister Kristian M. Cross John Davis Harrell Sen. George E. Campsen, III Rep. David J. Mack, III Sen. Floyd Nicholson H. Donald Sellers Joseph Preston Strom, Jr.



Jane O. Shuler, Chief Counsel Steve Davidson Patrick Dennis J.J. Gentry Katherine Wells Brad Wright

Post Office Box 142 Columbia, South Carolina 29202 (803) 212-6623

MEDIA RELEASE

August 8, 2013

Public Hearings have been scheduled to begin Tuesday, November 5 through Thursday, November 7, 2013, with the hearings commencing at 9 a.m. regarding the qualifications of the following candidates for judicial positions:

Supreme Court

Chief Justice The Honorable Costa M. Pleicones, Columbia, S.C.

The Honorable Jean H. Toal, Columbia, S.C.

Court of Appeals

Seat 7 The Honorable Daniel F. Pieper, Hanahan, S.C.

Circuit Court

At-Large, Seat 11 The Honorable Alison R. Lee, Columbia, S.C. At-Large, Seat 12 The Honorable Thomas A. Russo, Florence, S.C. At-Large, Seat 13 The Honorable Larry B. Hyman, Jr., Conway, S.C.

Family Court

4th Circuit, Seat 3 The Honorable Michael S. Holt, Hartsville, S.C.

6th Circuit, Seat 1 Coreen B. Khoury, Lancaster, S.C.

Angela M. Killian, Chester, S.C.

6th Circuit, Seat 2 The Honorable W. Thomas Sprott, Jr., Winnsboro, S.C.

9th Circuit, Seat 5 The Honorable Jocelyn B. Cate, Hollywood, S.C.

13th Circuit, Seat 5 Wanda L. Adams, Mauldin, S.C.

> James C. Alexander, Marietta, S.C. Robert A. Clark, Greenville, S.C.

Tarita A. Dunbar, Greenville, S.C.

Kathryn W. Gooch, Simpsonville, S.C. Kimaka Nichols-Graham, Greenville, S.C.

Thomas T. Hodges, Greenville, S.C.

The Honorable Michael D. Stokes, Taylors, S.C.

Katherine H. Tiffany, Greenville, S.C.

15th Circuit, Seat 3 The Honorable Ronald R. Norton, Murrells Inlet, S.C.

16th Circuit, Seat 1 Thomas H. White, IV, Union, S.C.

Administrative Law Court

Chief Administrative Judge, Seat 1 The Honorable Ralph King "Tripp" Anderson, III, Columbia, S.C.

Retired

Circuit CourtThe Honorable Thomas W. Cooper, Jr., Manning, S.C.Circuit CourtThe Honorable Thomas L. Hughston, Jr., Charleston, S.C.

Circuit Court
The Honorable Howard P. King, Sumter, S.C.
The Honorable Jane D. Fender, Beaufort, S.C.
The Honorable Peter R. Nuessle, Aiken, S.C.
The Honorable James A. Spruill, III, Cheraw, S.C.

Family Court The Honorable Donna S. Strom, Columbia, S.C.

Persons desiring to testify at public hearings shall furnish written notarized statements of proposed testimony. These statements must be received by **Noon**, **Tuesday**, **October 22**, **2013**. The Commission has witness affidavit forms that may be used for proposed testimony. While this form is not mandatory, it will be supplied on request. Statements should be mailed or delivered to the Judicial Merit Selection Commission as follows:

Jane O. Shuler, Chief Counsel, 104 Gressette Building, Post Office Box 142, Columbia, South Carolina, 29202.

All testimony, including documents furnished to the Commission, must be submitted under oath. Persons knowingly giving false information, either orally or in writing, shall be subject to penalty.

For further information about the Judicial Merit Selection Commission and the judicial screening process, you may access the website at www.scstatehouse.gov/html-pages/judmerit.html.

Questions concerning the hearing and procedures should be directed to the Commission at (803) 212-6623.