Judicial Merit Selection Commission

Sen. Luke A. Rankin, Chairman
Rep. G. Murrell Smith Jr., Vice-Chairman
Sen. Ronnie A. Sabb
Sen. Tom Young Jr.
Rep. J. Todd Rutherford
Rep. Chris Murphy
Hope Blackley-Logan
Lucy Grey McIver
Andrew N. Safran
J.P. "Pete" Strom Jr.



Erin B. Crawford, Chief Counsel Emma Dean, Counsel

Post Office Box 142 Columbia, South Carolina 29202 (803) 212-6623

MEDIA RELEASE

July 22, 2020

The Public Hearings for the Judicial Merit Selection Commission have been scheduled to begin Monday, November 16, 2020, with the hearings commencing at 9:00 a.m. regarding the qualifications of the following candidates for judicial positions:

Court of Appeals

Seat 5, Chief Judge The Honorable James E. Lockemy, Dillon, SC

Seat 6 The Honorable Aphrodite Konduros, Simpsonville, SC

Seat 8 The Honorable DeAndrea Gist Benjamin, Columbia, SC

Christopher T. Brumback, Greenville, SC

The Honorable Deborah Brooks Durden, Columbia, SC The Honorable Jerry Deese Vinson Jr., Florence, SC

Circuit Court

4th Judicial Circuit, Seat 2 The Honorable Michael S. Holt, Hartsville, SC

5th Judicial Circuit, Seat 3 The Honorable Robert E. Hood, Columbia, SC

9th Judicial Circuit, Seat 3 The Honorable Roger M. Young Sr., North Charleston, SC

13th Judicial Circuit, Seat 3 Steven Edward Buckingham, Greer, SC

James G. Carpenter, Simpsonville, SC

A. Lance Crick, Greenville, SC **Patrick C. Fant III**, Greenville, SC

Will Grove, Greenville, SC

The Honorable William R. McKibbon III, Greenville, SC

G. D. Morgan Jr., Greenville, SC

14 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 1	Robert Bonds, Walterboro, SC Tameaka A. Legette, Ruffin, SC
14th Judicial Circuit, Seat 2	The Honorable Carmen Tevis Mullen, Hilton Head, SC
15 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 2	The Honorable Benjamin H. Culbertson , Georgetown, SC Thomas Winslow , Murrells Inlet, SC
At-Large, Seat 1	The Honorable George M. McFaddin Jr., Gable, SC
At-Large, Seat 2	The Honorable R. Kirk Griffin, Sumter, SC
At-Large, Seat 3	The Honorable Clifton Newman, Columbia, SC
At-Large, Seat 4	The Honorable Edward Walter "Ned" Miller, Greenville, SC
At-Large, Seat 5	The Honorable J. Mark Hayes II, Spartanburg, SC
At-Large, Seat 6	The Honorable William Henry Seals Jr., Marion, SC
At-Large, Seat 7	The Honorable J. Cordell Maddox Jr., Anderson, SC
At-Large, Seat 8	The Honorable David Craig Brown, Florence, SC
At-Large, Seat 9	The Honorable Jennifer Blanchard McCoy , Charleston, SC
At-Large, Seat 10	The Honorable Jocelyn Newman, Columbia, SC
At-Large, Seat 12	Erin E. Bailey, Mount Pleasant, SC Brett H. Bayne, Blythewood, SC The Honorable Daniel McLeod Coble, Columbia, SC Meredith Long Coker, Charleston, SC H. Steven DeBerry IV, Pamplico, SC Doward Keith Karvel Harvin, Florence, SC Jenny A. Horne, Summerville, SC B. Alex Hyman, Conway, SC Regina Hollins Lewis, Columbia, SC William Vickery Meetze, Marion, SC David W. Miller, Aiken, SC Derek A. Shoemake, Elgin, SC Franklin G. Shuler Jr., Columbia, SC Kate Whetstone Usry, Columbia, SC The Honorable Dale E. Van Slambrook, Goose Creek, SC

Heather Savitz Weiss, Elgin, SC **S. Boyd Young**, Columbia, SC

Family Court

7th Judicial Circuit, Seat 1 David Michael Collins Jr., Landrum, SC

Jonathan W. Lounsberry, Spartanburg, SC

The Honorable Erika L. McJimpsey, Boiling Springs, SC

Angela J. Moss, Inman, SC M. Brooks Moss, Cowpens, SC Chadwick D. Pye, Spartanburg, SC Robert "Rob" Rhoden, Spartanburg, SC

Administrative Law Court

Seat 3 Anthony R. Goldman, Columbia, SC

Teckla S. Henderson, Blythewood, SC **Stephanie N. Lawrence**, Columbia, SC **Robert L. Reibold**, Columbia, SC

The Honorable Crystal Rookard, Columbia, SC

Thomas Rosamond Smith, Cayce, SC Debra Sherman Tedeschi, Columbia, SC

Seat 6 The Honorable S. Phillip "Phil" Lenski, Columbia, SC

Master-in-Equity

Beaufort County The Honorable Marvin H. Dukes III, Beaufort, SC

Calhoun County The Honorable Martin R. Banks, Cayce, SC

Greenville County The Honorable Charles B. Simmons Jr., Greenville, SC

Orangeburg County The Honorable James B. Jackson Jr., Santee, SC

Richland County The Honorable Joseph M. Strickland, Columbia, SC

Spartanburg County The Honorable Whitner S. Bishop, Spartanburg, SC

Shannon M. Phillips, Inman, SC **Shane W. Rogers**, Moore, SC

The Honorable Tommy Wall, Spartanburg, SC

York County The Honorable Teasa Kay Weaver, York, SC

Retired

Circuit Court The Honorable Robin B. Stilwell, Greer, SC

Persons desiring to testify at public hearings shall furnish written notarized statements of proposed testimony, in accordance with the Procedural Rules of the Judicial Merit Selection Commission.

These statements must be received by **Noon, Monday, November 2, 2020.** The Commission has witness affidavit forms that may be used for proposed testimony. While this form is not mandatory, it will be supplied on request. Statements should be mailed or delivered to the Judicial Merit Selection Commission as follows:

Erin B. Crawford, Chief Counsel 104 Gressette Building, Post Office Box 142 Columbia, SC 29202

All testimony, including documents furnished to the Commission, must be submitted under oath. Persons knowingly giving false information, either orally or in writing, shall be subject to penalty.

For further information about the Judicial Merit Selection Commission and the judicial screening process, you may access the website at:

https://www.scstatehouse.gov/JudicialMeritPage/JMSCMainPage.php.

Questions concerning the hearing and procedures should be directed to the Commission at (803) 212-6623.