Judicial Merit Selection Commission

Sen. Larry A. Martin, Chairman Rep. Alan D. Clemmons, Vice-Chairman Sen. George E. Campsen, III Sen. Gerald Malloy Rep. Bruce W. Bannister Rep. David J. Mack, III Kristian C. Bell Joseph Preston Strom, Jr. Susan T. Wall Robert M. Wilcox



Jane O. Shuler, Chief Counsel
Paula Benson
Steve Davidson
Emma Dean
Patrick Dennis
Jamey Goldin
Katherine Wells

Post Office Box 142 Columbia, South Carolina 29202 (803) 212-6623

MEDIA RELEASE

February 5, 2015

The Judicial Merit Selection Commission is accepting applications for the judicial offices listed below:

A vacancy will exist in the office currently held by the Honorable Jean H. Toal, Chief Justice of the Supreme Court, upon Chief Justice Toal's retirement on or before December 31, 2015. The successor will fill the unexpired term of that office, which will expire July 31, 2024.

The term of office currently held by the Honorable Roger E. Henderson, Judge of the Family Court, Fourth Judicial Circuit, Seat 1, upon Judge Henderson's election to the Circuit Court, Fourth Judicial Circuit, Seat 2, on February 4, 2015. The successor will fill the unexpired term of that office, which will expire June 30, 2016 and the subsequent full term, which will expire June 30, 2022.

In order to receive application materials, a prospective candidate must notify the Commission in writing of his or her intent to apply. Correspondence and questions may be directed to the Judicial Merit Selection Commission as follows:

Jane O. Shuler, Chief Counsel Post Office Box 142 Columbia, South Carolina 29202 (803) 212-6629 (M-Th)

or

Jaynie Jordan, JMSC Administrative Assistant at (803) 212-6623.

The Commission will not accept applications after 12:00 noon on Monday, March 9, 2015.

For further information about the Judicial Merit Selection Commission and the judicial screening process, you may access the website at http://www.scstatehouse.gov/JudicialMeritPage/JMSCMainPage.php