Judicial Merit Selection Commission

Rep. Alan D. Clemmons, Chairman Sen. Larry A. Martin, Vice-Chairman Sen. George E. Campsen, III Sen. Gerald Malloy Rep. Bruce W. Bannister Rep. David J. Mack, III Kristian C. Bell John Davis Harrell H. Donald Sellers Joseph Preston Strom, Jr.



Post Office Box 142 Columbia, South Carolina 29202 (803) 212-6623 Jane O. Shuler, Chief Counsel
Edward Bender
Daniel Boan
Steve Davidson
Emma Dean
Patrick Dennis
Andy Fiffick
J.J. Gentry
Jamey Goldin
Brett Hubler
Bob Maldonado
Brad Wright

MEDIA RELEASE

July 7, 2014

The Judicial Merit Selection Commission is accepting applications for the judicial offices listed below:

The term of office currently held by the Honorable John C. Few, Chief Judge of the Court of Appeals, Seat 5, will expire June 30, 2015.

The term of office currently held by the Honorable Aphrodite K. Konduros, Judge of the Court of Appeals, Seat 6, will expire June 30, 2015.

A vacancy exists in the office formerly held by the Honorable J. Michael Baxley, Judge of the Circuit Court, Fourth Judicial Circuit, Seat 2, upon Judge Baxley's retirement on or before April 15, 2014. The successor will fill the unexpired term of that office, which will expire June 30, 2018.

The term of office currently held by the Honorable Robert E. Hood, Jr., Judge of the Circuit Court, Fifth Judicial Circuit, Seat 3, will expire June 30, 2015.

The term of office currently held by the Honorable Roger M. Young, Judge of the Circuit Court, Ninth Judicial Circuit, Seat 3, will expire June 30, 2015.

A vacancy will exist in the office currently held by the Honorable G. Edward Welmaker, Judge of the Circuit Court, Thirteenth Judicial Circuit, Seat 1, upon Judge Welmaker's retirement on or before May 15, 2015. The successor will fill the unexpired term of that office which will expire on June 30, 2016, and the subsequent full term which will expire June 30, 2022.

The term of office currently held by the Honorable Robin B. Stilwell, Judge of the Circuit Court, Thirteenth Judicial Circuit, Seat 3, will expire June 30, 2015.

The term of office currently held by the Honorable Carmen T. Mullen, Judge of the Circuit Court, Fourteenth Judicial Circuit, Seat 2, will expire June 30, 2015.

The term of office currently held by the Honorable Benjamin H. Culbertson, Judge of the Circuit Court, Fifteenth Judicial Circuit, Seat 2, will expire June 30, 2015.

The term of office currently held by the Honorable W. Jeffery Young, Judge of the Circuit Court, At-Large, Seat 1, will expire June 30, 2015.

The term of office currently held by the Honorable R. Markley Dennis, Jr., Judge of the Circuit Court, At-Large, Seat 2, will expire June 30, 2015.

The term of office currently held by the Honorable Clifton Newman, Judge of the Circuit Court, At-Large, Seat 3, will expire June 30, 2015.

The term of office currently held by the Honorable Edward W. "Ned" Miller, Judge of the Circuit Court, At-Large, Seat 4, will expire June 30, 2015.

The term of office currently held by the Honorable J. Mark Hayes, II, Judge of the Circuit Court, At-Large, Seat 5, will expire June 30, 2015.

The term of office currently held by the Honorable William H. Seals, Jr., Judge of the Circuit Court, At-Large, Seat 6, will expire June 30, 2015.

The term of office currently held by the Honorable J. Cordell Maddox, Jr., Judge of the Circuit Court, At-Large, Seat 7, will expire June 30, 2015.

The term of office currently held by the Honorable David Craig Brown, Judge of the Circuit Court, At-Large, Seat 8, will expire June 30, 2015.

A vacancy exists in the office formerly held by the Honorable Stephanie Pendarvis McDonald, Judge of the Circuit Court, At-Large, Seat 9. The successor will fill the unexpired term which will expire June 30, 2015, and subsequent full term which will expire June 30, 2021.

The term of office currently held by the Honorable James R. Barber, III, Judge of the Circuit Court, At-Large, Seat 10, will expire June 30, 2015.

A vacancy will exist in the office currently held by the Honorable Paul W. Garfinkel, Judge of the Family Court, Ninth Judicial Circuit, Seat 2, upon his retirement on or before August 31, 2014. The successor will fill the unexpired term of that office which will expire June 30, 2019.

The term of office currently held by the Honorable Carolyn C. Matthews, Judge of the Administrative Law Court, Seat 3, will expire June 30, 2015.

The term of office currently held by the Honorable Deborah Brooks Durden, Judge of the Administrative Law Court, Seat 4, will expire June 30, 2015.

The term of office currently held by the Honorable Marvin H. Dukes, III, Master-in-Equity, Beaufort County, Fourteenth Circuit, will expire June 30, 2015.

The term of office currently held by the Honorable Martin R. Banks, Master-in-Equity, Calhoun County, First Circuit, will expire August 14, 2015.

The term of office currently held by the Honorable Charles B. Simmons, Master-in-Equity, Greenville County, Thirteenth Circuit, will expire December 31, 2015.

The term of office currently held by the Honorable Cynthia Graham Howe, Master-in-Equity, Horry County, Fifteenth Circuit, will expire July 31, 2015.

The term of office currently held by the Honorable James B. Jackson, Master-in-Equity, Orangeburg County, First Circuit, will expire August 14, 2015.

The term of office currently held by the Honorable Joseph M. Strickland, Master-in-Equity, Richland County, Fifth Circuit, will expire April 30, 2015.

The term of office currently held by the Honorable Gordon G. Cooper, Master-in-Equity, Spartanburg County, Seventh Circuit, will expire June 30, 2015.

The term of office currently held by the Honorable S. Jackson Kimball, III, Master-in-Equity, York County, Sixteenth Circuit, will expire June 30, 2015.

In order to receive application materials, a prospective candidate must notify the Commission in writing of his or her intent to apply. Correspondence and questions may be directed to the Judicial Merit Selection Commission as follows:

Jane O. Shuler, Chief Counsel Post Office Box 142 Columbia, South Carolina 29202 (803) 212-6629 (M-Th)

or

Jaynie Jordan, JMSC Administrative Assistant at (803) 212-6623.

The Commission will not accept applications after 12:00 noon on Thursday, August 7, 2014.

For further information about the Judicial Merit Selection Commission and the judicial screening process, you may access the website at http://www.scstatehouse.gov/JudicialMeritPage/JMSCMainPage.php