Raye Felder First Vice Chairman

H. Pierce McNair, Jr. Director of Research

Terry Alexander Lin Bennett Jeffrey A. Bradley Neal A. Collins William Cogswell Joseph S. Daning Jason Elliott Jerry N. Govan, Jr.

Ginger Lee Executive Assistant Merita A. "Rita" Allison Chairwoman

Robert L. Brown Second Vice Chairman

Education and Public Works Committee



Richard P. Fulmer Staff Attorney

Patsy Knight Harold Mitchell, Jr. Joshua A. Putnam Tommy M. Stringer Bill Taylor Jay West Mark N. Willis

Lillian E. Hayes

Research Analyst

South Carolina House of Representatives P.O. Box 11867 Telephone: (803) 734-3053 • Fax: (803) 734-2827 Columbia, S.C. 29211 *Room 429, Blatt Building*

TRANSPORTATION AND MOTOR VEHICLE JOINT SUBCOMMITTEE MEETING NOTICE

WEDNESDAY, JANUARY 31, 2018 AT 3:00 PM

ROOM 433, BLATT BUILDING

The Subcommittees will consider the following bill:

H. 4480 -- Reps. Taylor, Allison, Jefferson, Cogswell, McCravy, Henderson-Myers, Clary and Tallon: A BILL TO AMEND SECTION 56-5-3890, CODE OF LAWS OF SOUTH CAROLINA, 1976, RELATING TO THE UNLAWFUL USE OF A WIRELESS COMMUNICATIONS DEVICE WHILE OPERATING A MOTOR VEHICLE, SO AS TO REVISE THE DEFINITION OF CERTAIN TERMS, TO REVISE THE CIRCUMSTANCES WHEN IT IS UNLAWFUL TO USE A WIRELESS DEVICE, TO REVISE THE PENALTIES, TO CREATE THE OFFENSE OF DRIVING UNDER THE INFLUENCE OF AN ELECTRONIC DEVICE, TO DELETE THE PROVISION THAT PROHIBITS A LAW ENFORCEMENT OFFICER FROM STOPPING A PERSON FOR A VIOLATION OF THIS SECTION UNDER CERTAIN CIRCUMSTANCES, AND TO PROVIDE THAT THE DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES SHALL MAINTAIN STATISTICAL INFORMATION REGARDING CITATIONS ISSUED PURSUANT TO THIS SECTION; AND TO AMEND SECTION 56-1-720, AS AMENDED, RELATING TO THE POINT SYSTEM ESTABLISHED FOR THE EVALUATION OF THE DRIVING RECORD OF PERSONS OPERATING MOTOR VEHICLES, SO AS TO PROVIDE THAT DRIVING UNDER THE INFLUENCE OF AN ELECTRONIC DEVICE SECOND OR SUBSEQUENT OFFENSE IS A TWO-POINT VIOLATION.

Transportation Sub:	Jay West, Chair Linda "Lin" Bennett William S. Cogswell	Jerry N. Govan, Jr. Ronald "Ronnie" Young
Motor Vehicles Sub:	Jason Elliott, Chair MaryGail Douglas Patsy G. Knight	Brandon M. Newton Ashley Trantham

The Presentation order as indicated above does not necessarily reflect the order in which these bills will be addressed. Other bills may be added if necessary.

Cc: Reps. Taylor, Allison, Jefferson, Cogswell, McCravy, Henderson-Myers, Clary and Tallon.