J. Anne Parks First Vice-Chairwoman

Katherine E. Arrington Wendy C. Brawley Bruce M. Bryant Neal A. Collins Christopher R. Hart Rosalyn D. Henderson-Myers

Mary Denis Cauthen, M.P.A. Director of Research

Ava M. Brumfield, C.P.M. Research Analyst

## Leon Howard Chairman

## Medical, Military, Public and Municipal Affairs Committee



South Carolina House of Representatives P.O. Box 11867 Telephone: (803) 734-3046 • Fax: (803) 734-4785 Columbia, S.C. 29211 Room 425, Blatt Building

> Subcommittee I Health and Environmental Affairs

Rep. Christopher R. Hart, Chair Rep. Wendy C. Brawley Rep. Robert L. Ridgeway III Rep. Ivory T. Thigpen

Wednesday, February 7, 2018 9:00 a.m. Room 427, Blatt Building

## AGENDA

**H. 4603** -- Reps. Bedingfield, Alexander, Dillard, Douglas, Erickson, Fry, Henderson, Hewitt, Huggins, Spires, West, Norrell, Weeks, Rutherford and Atwater: A BILL TO AMEND SECTION 44 53 360, CODE OF LAWS OF SOUTH CAROLINA, 1976, RELATING TO PRESCRIBING LIMITATIONS, SO AS TO LIMIT INITIAL PRESCRIPTIONS OF AN OPIOID MEDICATION FOR ACUTE PAIN MANAGEMENT OR POSTOPERATIVE PAIN MANAGEMENT TO A FIVE DAY SUPPLY, WITH EXCEPTIONS.

**H. 4492** -- Reps. Spires and Jefferson: A BILL TO AMEND SECTION 44 53 360, CODE OF LAWS OF SOUTH CAROLINA, 1976, RELATING TO PRESCRIPTIONS, SO AS TO CHANGE DOSAGE LIMITATIONS FOR CERTAIN PRESCRIBED CONTROLLED SUBSTANCES.

**H. 4485** -- Rep. Henderson: A BILL TO AMEND SECTION 44 1 50, CODE OF LAWS OF SOUTH CAROLINA, 1976, RELATING TO POWERS OF THE DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL, SO AS TO MAKE TECHNICAL CORRECTIONS; TO AMEND SECTION 44-1-60, RELATING TO APPEALS FROM ADMINISTRATIVE DECISIONS OF THE DEPARTMENT, SO AS TO CLARIFY THAT NOTICE MAY BE PROVIDED ELECTRONICALLY UPON REQUEST; TO AMEND SECTION 44 1 130, RELATING TO THE DEPARTMENT'S AUTHORITY TO ESTABLISH HEALTH DISTRICTS AND DISTRICT ADVISORY BOARDS, SO AS TO ELIMINATE HEALTH ADVISORY BOARDS AND CHANGE CERTAIN TERMINOLOGY; AND TO REPEAL ARTICLE 3, CHAPTER 3, TITLE 44 RELATING TO THE CATAWBA HEALTH DISTRICT.

Jonathon D. Hill Second Vice-Chairman

Wendell G. Gilliard Third Vice-Chairman

Nancy Mace Timothy A. McGinnis Marvin R. Pendarvis Robert L. Ridgeway III Michael F. Rivers Sr. Leola C. Robinson-Simpson Ivory Torrey Thigpen

Sherri Gibson Fears Executive Assistant