Merita A. "Rita" Allison Chairwoman

Raye Felder First Vice Chairman

H. Pierce McNair, Jr.

Director of Research

Education and Public Morks Committee

Richard P. Fulmer Staff Attorney

Robert L. Brown

Second Vice Chairman

Steven W. Long Brandon M. Newton Joshua A. Putnam Tommy M. Stringer Bill Taylor John T. "Jay" West, IV Ronald "Ronnie" Young Ashley Trantham

> Lillian E. Hayes Research Analyst

Terry Alexander Linda "Lin" Bennett William S. Cogswell, Jr. MaryGail K. Douglas Jason Elliott Jerry N. Govan, Jr.

Virginia "Ginger" Lee Executive Assistant

Patsy G. Knight

OF REPRESENTED TO THE CARDILLE

South Carolina House of Representatives D.G. Box 11867

Telephone: (803) 734-3053 • Fax: (803) 734-2827 Columbia, S.C. 29211

Room 429, Blatt Building

K-12 SUBCOMMITTEE MEETING NOTICE

TUESDAY, FEBRUARY 6, 2018 AT 3:00 PM OR 1½ HOURS UPON ADJOURNMENT, WHICHEVER IS EARLIER.

ROOM 433, BLATT BUILDING

The Subcommittee will consider the following bills:

H. 4596 -- Reps. Collins, Allison, Felder, Govan, Taylor, Bradley, Knight and West: A BILL TO AMEND THE CODE OF LAWS OF SOUTH CAROLINA, 1976, BY ADDING SECTION 59-19-360 SO AS TO PROVIDE A PROCESS FOR THE EXEMPTION OF COMPETENCY-BASED SCHOOLS FROM CERTAIN APPLICABLE LAWS AND REGULATIONS, AND PROVIDE RELATED REQUIREMENTS FOR COMPETENCY-BASED SCHOOLS, THE STATE DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION, AND THE COMMISSION ON HIGHER EDUCATION.

H. 4386 -- Reps. Gilliard and Henegan: A BILL TO AMEND THE CODE OF LAWS OF SOUTH CAROLINA, 1976, TO ENACT THE "METAL DETECTORS IN PUBLIC SCHOOLS ACT" BY ADDING SECTION 59-66-35 SO AS TO PROVIDE THAT BEGINNING WITH THE 2018-2019 SCHOOL YEAR, WALK-THROUGH METAL DETECTORS MUST BE INSTALLED AND OPERATED AT ALL PUBLIC ENTRANCES OF EACH PUBLIC ELEMENTARY SCHOOL, MIDDLE SCHOOL, AND HIGH SCHOOL IN THE STATE; TO DEFINE NECESSARY TERMINOLOGY; TO PROVIDE RELATED TRAINING IN THE USE OF THESE METAL DETECTORS; TO PROVIDE FOR THE PROMULGATION OF RELATED REGULATIONS; AND TO MAKE THESE PROVISIONS CONTINGENT UPON APPROPRIATIONS BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY.

H. 4810 -- Reps. Gilliard, Williams, Hosey, Jefferson, Cobb-Hunter, Henegan, Ott, King, Govan, Howard and Pendarvis: A JOINT RESOLUTION TO CREATE THE "SCHOOL METAL DETECTOR STUDY COMMITTEE" TO STUDY WHETHER IT IS IN THE PUBLIC INTEREST TO REQUIRE THE INSTALLATION AND USE OF METAL DETECTORS AT PUBLIC SCHOOLS IN THIS STATE, TO PROVIDE FOR THE MEMBERSHIP OF THE STUDY COMMITTEE, AND TO REQUIRE THE STUDY COMMITTEE TO PREPARE A REPORT FOR THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY.

H. 4814 -- Reps. Henegan, Yow, Norrell, Knight, McKnight, Henderson-Myers, McEachern, J.E. Smith, King, Anthony, Govan, Clyburn, Blackwell, Atkinson, Hosey, Hardee, Williams, Ott, Kirby, Cobb-Hunter, Jefferson, Robinson-Simpson, Gilliard, Erickson, B. Newton, West, Ridgeway, Alexander, Arrington, Dillard, Gagnon, Hayes, Martin, Parks, Pendarvis, Pitts, Sandifer, Spires, Thigpen, Wheeler and Willis: A BILL TO AMEND THE CODE OF LAWS OF SOUTH CAROLINA, 1976, BY ADDING SECTION 59-19-155 SO AS TO PROVIDE THE STATE DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION SHALL ADOPT RULES PROVIDING STANDARDS AND PROCEDURES FOR REPORTING, INSPECTING, AND ABATING MOLD AND MILDEW HAZARDS IN PUBLIC SCHOOL FACILITIES; TO PROVIDE SCHOOL DISTRICT BOARDS SHALL KEEP DISTRICT FACILITIES IN GOOD REPAIR AND FREE FROM MOLD AND MILDEW HAZARDS; AND TO REQUIRE CERTAIN INSPECTIONS OF PUBLIC SCHOOL BUILDING INTERIORS FOR MOLD AND MILDEW HAZARDS CONSISTENT WITH STANDARDS AND PROCEDURES ADOPTED BY THE DEPARTMENT.

H. 4701 -- Reps. S. Rivers, King and Allison: A BILL TO AMEND THE CODE OF LAWS OF SOUTH CAROLINA, 1976, SO AS TO ENACT THE "B.P. ACT"; TO AMEND SECTION 59-63-140, RELATING TO BULLYING PROHIBITION POLICIES ADOPTED BY SCHOOL DISTRICTS, SO AS TO PROVIDE PROCEDURES FOR RESPONDING TO AND REMEDIATING ALLEGATIONS OF BULLYING, AND TO REQUIRE AN APPEALS PROCEDURE.

K-12 Sub: Raye Felder, Chair Jerry Govan, Jr.
Lin Bennett Brandon Newton

Lin BennettBrandon NewtonJeff BradleyTommy StringerRobert BrownAshley Trantham

Neal Collins

The Presentation order as indicated above does not necessarily reflect the order in which these bills will be addressed. Other bills may be added if necessary.

Cc: Reps. Collins, Allison, Felder, Govan, Taylor, Bradley, Knight, West, Gilliard, Henegan, Williams, Hosey, Jefferson, Cobb-Hunter, Ott, King, Howard, Pendarvis, Yow, Norrell, McKnight, Henderson-Myers, McEachern, J.E. Smith, Anthony, Clyburn, Blackwell, Atkinson, Hardee, Kirby, Robinson-Simpson, Erickson, B. Newton, Ridgeway, Alexander, Arrington, Dillard, Gagnon, Hayes, Martin, Parks, Pitts, Sandifer, Spires, Thigpen, Wheeler and Willis.