V. Stephen Moss First Vice Chairman

Chandra E. Dillard Secretary

F. Lucas Atkinson Justin T. Bamberg Bart Blackwell James M. Burns William M. Chumley Gregory D. Duckworth

Joannie K. Nickel Director of Research David R. Hiott Chairman

Agriculture, Natural Resources and Environmental Affairs Committee



South Carolina House of Representatives P.O. Box 11867 Columbia, S.C. 29211 Telephone: (803) 734-3022 Fax: (803) 734-9926 William M. Hixon Second Vice Chairman

Cally R. Forrest Lee Hewitt Roger K. Kirby Richard Martin Josiah Magnuson Russell L. Ott Robert Q. Williams Richard L. Yow

Rebecca Thompson Research Analyst

Abby Plant Executive Assistant

TO: ALL ENVIRONMENTAL AFFAIRS SUBCOMMITTEE MEMBERS

FROM: THE HONORABLE CHANDRA DILLARD, CHAIRWOMAN

SUBCOMMITTEE MEMBERS:

THE HONORABLE BART BLACKWELL THE HONORABLE MIKE BURNS THE HONORABLE LEE HEWITT THE HONORABLE RICK MARTIN THE HONORABLE JOSIAH MAGNUSON THE HONORABLE ROBERT WILLIAMS

DATE: February 21, 2018

There will be a meeting of the Environmental Affairs Subcommittee Wednesday, February 28, 2018 at 9 a.m. in Room 410 of the Blatt Building. The following matter is on the agenda:

H. 4644 -- Reps. Dillard, Anthony, Atkinson, Kirby, Henderson-Myers, Martin, Burns, Williams, Yow and W. Newton: A BILL TO AMEND THE CODE OF LAWS OF SOUTH CAROLINA, 1976, BY ADDING SECTION 44-96-85 SO AS TO ESTABLISH THE SOLID WASTE EMERGENCY FUND, TO PROVIDE FOR THE FUNDING OF THE FUND, TO PROVIDE EXCEPTIONS, TO AUTHORIZE THE RECOVERY OF COSTS BY THE ATTORNEY GENERAL OR THE DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL, AND TO AUTHORIZE A REPRESENTATIVE TO INVESTIGATE A WASTE MANAGEMENT SITE AT ANY TIME TO ADDRESS AN EMERGENCY SITUATION; BY AMENDING SECTION 44-96-120, RELATED TO THE SOLID WASTE MANAGEMENT TRUST FUND, SO AS TO INCLUDE FUNDING THE SOLID WASTE EMERGENCY FUND IN THE LIST OF AUTHORIZED SOLID WASTE MANAGEMENT TRUST FUND EXPENDITURES; BY AMENDING SECTION 44-96-290, RELATING TO SOLID WASTE MANAGEMENT FACILITY PERMITTING...