View Amendment Current Amendment: 3684ZW11.docx to Bill 3124     Senator O'DELL proposed the following amendment (DKA\3684ZW11):
    Amend the bill, as and if amended, by adding an appropriately numbered SECTION to read:

/ SECTION __.     (1)     Section 56-1-140 of the 1976 Code, as last amended by Act 176 of 2005, is further amended to read:

    "Section 56-1-140.     (A)     Upon the payment of a fee of twelve dollars and fifty cents for a license that is valid for five years, or twenty-five dollars for a license that is valid for ten years, the Department of Motor Vehicles shall issue to every qualified applicant a driver's license as applied for by law. The license must bear on it a distinguishing number assigned to the licensee, the full name, date of birth, and residence address, and a brief description and laminated colored photograph of the licensee, and a facsimile of the signature of the licensee, or a space upon which the licensee shall write his usual signature with pen and ink immediately upon receipt of the license. No license is valid until it has been so signed by the licensee. The license authorizes the licensee to operate only those classifications of vehicles as indicated on the license.
    (B)     An applicant for a new, renewed, or replacement South Carolina driver's license may apply to the Department of Motor Vehicles to obtain a veteran designation on his driver's license by providing:
        (1)     a United States Department of Defense discharge certificate, also known as a DD Form 214, that shows a characterization of service, or discharge status of 'honorable' or 'general under honorable conditions' and establishes the person's qualifying military service in the United States Armed Forces; and
        (2)     payment of the appropriate fee.
The Department of Motor Vehicles may determine the appropriate form and placement of the veteran designation on the driver's license authorized pursuant to this section.
    (C)     The fees collected pursuant to this section must be credited to the Department of Transportation State Non-Federal Aid Highway Fund as provided in the following schedule based on the actual date of receipt by the Department of Motor Vehicles:
Fees and Penalties General Fund Department of
Collected After of the State Transportation
State Non-Federal Aid
Highway Fund

June 30, 2005 60 percent 40 percent
June 30, 2006 20 percent 80 percent
June 30, 2007 0 percent 100 percent."

(2)     Section 56-1-3350 of the 1976 Code is amended by adding an appropriately lettered subsection at the end to read:

    ( )     An applicant for a new, renewed, or replacement South Carolina special identification card may apply to the department to obtain a veteran designation on his identification card by providing:
        (1)     a United States Department of Defense discharge certificate, also known as a DD Form 214, that shows a characterization of service, or discharge status of 'honorable' or 'general under honorable conditions' and establishes the person's qualifying military service in the United States Armed Forces; and
        (2)     payment of the appropriate fee, if any.
The department may determine the appropriate form and placement of the veteran designation on the identification card authorized pursuant to this subsection. /
    Renumber sections to conform.
    Amend title to conform.