South Carolina Legislature

April 17, 2024, 10:10:02 am

Session 117 - (2007-2008)

H 3121 Joint Resolution, By Harrell, W.D. Smith, Harrison, Cato, Chellis, Walker, Howard, Young, E.H. Pitts, G.R. Smith, Shoopman, Cobb-Hunter, Kirsh, Bedingfield, Brady, Haley, Cotty, Owens, Rice, Bingham, Crawford, Hagood, Stavrinakis and Hart

Similar (S 0006, S 0287)

Summary: Agriculture Commissioner

A JOINT RESOLUTION PROPOSING AN AMENDMENT TO SECTION 7, ARTICLE VI OF THE CONSTITUTION OF SOUTH CAROLINA, 1895, RELATING TO THE CONSTITUTIONAL OFFICERS OF THIS STATE, SO AS TO DELETE THE COMMISSIONER OF AGRICULTURE FROM THE LIST OF STATE OFFICERS WHICH THE CONSTITUTION REQUIRES TO BE ELECTED AND PROVIDE THAT UPON THE EXPIRATION OF THE TERM OF THE COMMISSIONER OF AGRICULTURE SERVING IN OFFICE ON THE DATE OF THE RATIFICATION OF THIS PROVISION, THE COMMISSIONER OF AGRICULTURE MUST BE APPOINTED BY THE GOVERNOR UPON THE ADVICE AND CONSENT OF THE SENATE FOR A TERM COTERMINOUS WITH THE GOVERNOR.

12/13/06	House	Prefiled
12/13/06	House	Referred to Committee on Judiciary
01/09/07	House	Introduced and read first time HJ-67
01/09/07	House	Referred to Committee on Judiciary HJ-67
01/11/07	House	Member(s) request name added as sponsor: Haley, Cotty
01/24/07	House	Member(s) request name added as sponsor: Owens, Rice, Bingham
01/30/07	House	Member(s) request name added as sponsor: Crawford
02/15/07	House	Member(s) request name added as sponsor: Hagood, Stavrinakis
01/22/08	House	Member(s) request name added as sponsor: Hart