April 27, 2024, 08:44:59 pm

Session 109 - (1991-1992)

H 4276 Joint Resolution, By H.H. Clyborne, B.O. Baker and Vaughn

A Joint Resolution proposing an amendment to Article III, Section 2 of the Constitution of South Carolina, 1895, relating to the House of Representatives, so as to provide that House members may only serve four consecutive two-year terms and to provide that House members serving in office when this provision is ratified into law may complete the term which they are currently serving plus four consecutive new terms; proposing an amendment to Article III, Section 6 of the Constitution, relating to the Senate, so as to provide that Senators may only serve two consecutive four-year terms, to provide that Senators serving in office when this provision is ratified into law may complete the term which they are currently serving plus two consecutive new terms, and to revise certain obsolete references; proposing an amendment to Article VI, Section 1, of the Constitution, relating to eligibility for office, so as to provide that persons popularly elected to any office of a political subdivision of this State may only serve two consecutive terms and to provide that persons serving in these offices when this provision is ratified into law may complete the term which they are currently serving plus two consecutive terms and to provide that persons serving in these offices when this provision is ratified into law may complete the term which they are currently serving plus two consecutive new terms; and proposing an amendment to Article VI, Section 7 of the Constitution, relating to the Constitutional Officers of this State, so as to provide that Constitutional Officers may only serve two consecutive four-year terms and to provide that Constitutional Officers serving in an office when this provision is ratified into law may complete the term which they are currently serving plus two consecutive new terms; and proposing an amendment to Article VI, Section 7 of the Constitution, relating to the Constitutional Officers of this State, so as to provide that Constitutional Officers may only serve two consecutive four-year terms an

01/28/92 House Introduced and read first time HJ-6

01/28/92 House Referred to Committee on Judiciary HJ-7