2023 LEGISLATIVE UPDATE:

FIRST SOUND

South Carolina's Early Hearing Detection and

Intervention (EHDI) Program

The First Sound program, established by state law in 2001, conducts surveillance for the statewide mandate that all infants
are screened for hearing loss at birth and, if applicable, receive diagnostic and intervention services. South Carolina is one of

48 states in the U.S. to have such legislation.

Approximately 3 out of every 1,000 children born in the United States have some degree of hearing loss. More than 90% of
deaf children are born to hearing parents. Without early identification, parents would be unaware of the child’s hearing loss
until the child started showing signs of developmental delays for speech and language. Signs typically occur around 2 years
of age, after a considerable amount of the critical window (birth-3 years of age) for language development has passed

Program Highlights

¢ |dentified 1,998 infants with hearing loss at birth since the
start of the program in 2001

* Provided ongoing trainings to hospitals, audiologists, and
internal stakeholders

¢ Partnered with Beginnings SC and SC Hands & Voices
(family support organizations for deaf and hard of hearing)
to host the 7th Annual Back to School Bash for Deaf and
Hard of Hearing Students

¢ Partnered with Beginnings SC to conduct hearing
screening trainings to early childhood centers across the
state

* Provided a series of five virtual retreats/trainings
for parents and/or professionals in partnership with
Beginnings SC and The CARE Project

* One of seven states selected to participate in a Family
Support and Engagement Learning Community, hosted
by the National Center for Hearing Assessment and
Management (NCHAM) and the Family Leadership in
Language in Learning Center (FL3)

* One of two states invited to copresent with NCHAM
and the FL3 on a national technical resource webinar
representing the outcomes of the Learning Community

¢ First Sound Program Manager was appointed to serve
on the Board of the Directors of Speech and Hearing
Programs in State Health and Welfare Agencies
(DSHPSHWA)

¢ Partnered with Beginnings SC, BabyNet, and the SC
School for the Deaf and Blind (SCSDB) to develop a
co-branded resource for parents whose infants do not
pass the hospital hearing screening. The objective is to
provide further guidance for the journey beyond the initial
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Program Benchmarks

Since 2001, the First Sound program has diligently worked to
meet the national goals and objectives for EHDI programs,
including the “1-3-6 Plan”:

1 Allinfants should have access to hearing screening no
later than 1 month of age.

3 Allinfants who do not pass the hearing screening/
rescreening should have diagnostic audiologic evaluation
confirming hearing status by 3 months of age.

6 Allinfants with a confirmed hearing loss should receive
early intervention services as soon as possible following
diagnosis but no later than 6 months of age.

Future Goals

* Strengthen the ability of the First Sound program to make

direct referrals to early intervention and family support
organizations to increase the number of infants 1) identified
with hearing loss by 3 months of age and 2) enrolled in early
intervention services by 6 months of age

* Reduce the number of infants who are lost to follow up

through partnerships with internal DHEC programs such
as WIC, Birth Defects, and Children and Youth with Special
Health Care Needs (CYSHCN)

¢ Expand diversity of family engagement in the EHDI systems

through collaborative partnerships with deaf and hard of
hearing family support organizations

* Partner with stakeholders in planning and hosting the first

statewide Deaf and Hard of Hearing Conference for Families
and Students

¢ Continue partnership with Beginnings SC to conduct hearing

screening training to additional early childhood centers
across the state

* Expand outreach to external stakeholders through a

series of The CARE Project virtual retreats for parents and
professionals

¢ Continue partnership with Beginnings SC conducting hearing

screening training to additional early childhood centers

across the state.
CR-011200 7/23



South Carolina By The Numbers

SC Newborn Hearing Screening Rate
AAP Benchmark: 95% | 2020 National Average: 97.7%
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The South Carolina newborn hearing screening rate among infants born in
2020 was 97%. The 2021 rate is above the American Academy of Pediatrics
benchmark value of 95%.

Early Intervention for SC Infants with Permanent

Hearing Loss
AAP Benchmark: 100% by 6 months old | 2020 National Average: 40.5%
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The percentages of South Carolina infants who were identified with permanent
hearing loss and referred for early intervention services (EIS) remained stable
while the total receiving EIS decreased in 2021. The percentage of infants with
permanent hearing loss receiving EIS by 6 months of age remained stable in
2021. South Carolina fell short of the American Academy of Pediatrics standard
of 100% but exceeded the 2020 national average of 44.5%.

Factors Impacting Early Intervention Services
Enroliment by 6 months old
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Factors contributing to delays in El enrollment for infants with hearing loss include
parent withdrawal prior to completion of enrollment process, unsuccessful attempts
to make contact with the family, and multiple referral attempts prior to enrollment.

SC Infants with Hearing Loss Where Loss is

Confirmed by 3 Months
AAP Benchmark: 100% | 2020 National Average: 60.6%
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The percentage of South Carolina infants with neonatal hearing loss who were
confirmed by 3 months of age was stable from 2018-2020. In 2021, 68% of infants
with confirmed hearing loss in South Carolina were diagnosed by 3 months.

While below the American Academy of Pediatrics standard of 100%, it is above the
2020 national average of 60.6%.

Affirmation

‘ My son, Krishtian, was born at 39 weeks and we were
thrilled to have had a smooth pregnancy and delivery -
everything was ‘going right’ or as it should be, until the
nurse came to get him for his hearing screening. He
failed the hospital screening and they referred him for an
outpatient ABR screening where he failed again. After
further testing, he was diagnosed with bilateral severe-
to-profound hearing loss at 3
months old.

Although it was an
overwhelming feeling of
anxiety and defeat when
he was diagnosed, | am so
glad we were able to find
out sooner rather than later.
Having the ability to learn
early on that my child has
bilateral hearing loss has
given me so much strength to reach out to the resources
my family will need to prepare, plan and set up a brighter
future for our family.

When we received the audiologists’ bills, we really had
no clue how we were going to pay for all the tests my
son had to undergo for his diagnosis. First Sound paid
for his ABR screening tests and | am so grateful they did.
| am thankful for the programs and resources available
such as Babynet, First Sound, and TEFRA that help
provide support to children with disabilities. To say

the least, the old adage ‘it takes a village’ is so true.



