South Carolina General Assembly
121st Session, 2015-2016

Download This Bill in Microsoft Word format

Indicates Matter Stricken
Indicates New Matter

H. 4616


Concurrent Resolution
Sponsors: Reps. Limehouse, Alexander, Allison, Anderson, Anthony, Atwater, Bales, Ballentine, Bamberg, Bannister, Bedingfield, Bernstein, Bingham, Bowers, Bradley, Brannon, G.A. Brown, R.L. Brown, Burns, Chumley, Clary, Clemmons, Clyburn, Cobb-Hunter, Cole, Collins, Corley, H.A. Crawford, Crosby, Daning, Delleney, Dillard, Douglas, Duckworth, Erickson, Felder, Finlay, Forrester, Fry, Funderburk, Gagnon, Gambrell, George, Gilliard, Goldfinch, Govan, Hamilton, Hardee, Hart, Hayes, Henderson, Henegan, Herbkersman, Hicks, Hill, Hiott, Hixon, Hodges, Horne, Hosey, Howard, Huggins, Jefferson, Johnson, Jordan, Kennedy, King, Kirby, Knight, Loftis, Long, Lowe, Lucas, Mack, McCoy, McEachern, McKnight, M.S. McLeod, W.J. McLeod, Merrill, Mitchell, D.C. Moss, V.S. Moss, Murphy, Nanney, Neal, Newton, Norman, Norrell, Ott, Parks, Pitts, Pope, Putnam, Quinn, Ridgeway, Riley, Rivers, Robinson-Simpson, Rutherford, Ryhal, Sandifer, Simrill, G.M. Smith, G.R. Smith, J.E. Smith, Sottile, Southard, Spires, Stavrinakis, Stringer, Tallon, Taylor, Thayer, Tinkler, Toole, Weeks, Wells, Whipper, White, Whitmire, Williams, Willis and Yow
Document Path: l:\council\bills\rm\1415ahb16.docx

Introduced in the House on January 12, 2016
Introduced in the Senate on January 13, 2016
Adopted by the General Assembly on January 13, 2016

Summary: College of Charleston Sailing Team


     Date      Body   Action Description with journal page number
   1/12/2016  House   Introduced and adopted (House Journal-page 47)
   1/13/2016  Senate  Introduced, adopted, returned with concurrence 
                        (Senate Journal-page 60)

View the latest legislative information at the website



(Text matches printed bills. Document has been reformatted to meet World Wide Web specifications.)



Whereas, over the weekend preceding Thanksgiving, the College of Charleston sailing team, led by skipper Christophe Killian, Reed Baldridge, Jake Reynolds, and Beka Schiff, held off Dartmouth in the final series of races to win the college's first ICSA Match Racing Nationals; and

Whereas, held November 20-22, 2015, in Charleston, the battle for the national title was raced in J/22s; and

Whereas, nothing, including the cooler weather, could slow down the red-hot College of Charleston sailing team, which hopes to capture in 2016 its seventh Leonard B. Fowle Trophy, awarded annually to the best overall sailing team in the country. In claiming the top prize at the ICSA Match Racing Nationals, the Cougars racked up a win that will take them far toward that goal; and

Whereas, the Cougars took home the coveted Fowle Trophy in 1986, 1988, 1998, 2007, 2012, and 2015, and their exuberant fans say nothing would surprise them less than the team's nabbing the award once again; and

Whereas, at the nationals, proud Cougar supporters watched their team accept their first Cornelius Shields Trophy for match racing after placing in the top five for the past two years. The College of Charleston last won the national title during the 2006-2007 season, when the championship was contested as a fleet racing event (ICSA Sloop Nationals). This is the Cougars' first time to claim the national title since the format was changed to match racing; and

Whereas, in addition to their new national title, over the past four years the team has won several other prestigious awards, among them the 2012 Team Race National Championship, 2013 Coed National Championship, 2012 and 2014 Men's Singlehanded Championship, and 2014 Offshore National Championship; and

Whereas, two College of Charleston sailors already have qualified their countries for the Olympics (Stefano Peschiera and Quique Arathoon), and a recent alumnus, Juan Maegli, will represent Guatemala in the 2016 games in Rio, as well. Two sailors won medals in the Pan Am games in Toronto: Irene Abascal of Guatemala won gold and Paris Henken won bronze for the USA. Two other team members also competed for their countries; and

Whereas, further, thirteen All-Americans, six Honorable All-Americans, and one College Sailor of the Year have been selected from the College of Charleston in the past four years. Eight Academic All-Americans also have been selected; and

Whereas, regularly ranked in the top five in the country during the monthly rankings, the College of Charleston sailors have been number one four times since 2011; and

Whereas, the South Carolina General Assembly takes great pleasure in applauding the outstanding achievements of the College of Charleston sailing team, and the members look with interest to hearing of its continued success in the days ahead. Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the House of Representatives, the Senate concurring:

That the members of the South Carolina General Assembly, by this resolution, congratulate the College of Charleston sailing team and its coaches on a stellar season and celebrate their win of the 2015 ICSA Match Racing Nationals.

Be it further resolved that a copy of this resolution be presented to President Glenn McConnell and Head Coach Ward Cromwell of the College of Charleston.


This web page was last updated on January 15, 2016 at 12:22 PM