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SREB Summary 
 

I consulted state legislative staff and school transportation directors, listed on the 
website of the National Association of State Directors of Pupil Transportation Services, 
www.nasdpts.org, from SREB states in late 2010. Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi and 
Texas did not provide a response to the survey.  

  
When considering the maximum amount of time for a one-way trip to or from 

school for a student on a school bus, I found that half of the SREB states do not have 
student transportation time limits. On the other hand, six SREB states require time or 
mileage limits for transporting students. Those six states are Florida, Kentucky, 
Missisippi, South Carolina, Tennessee and West Virginia. 

 
In most states, school principals review school bus routes annually to ensure that 

students are riding for as little time as possible and that bus drivers are using the most 
efficient routes. Of the six states with ride time limits, four outline time limits in state 
statutes. Florida implements rider time limits through a state Board of Education Rule 
and Kentucky utilizes state Board approved local policies to enforce ride time limits.  
 

In ten SREB states, transportation funding is determined based on a specific 
transportation formula calculated at the state level. While, three states — Alabama, 
Mississippi and North Carolina — appropriate state funds to local districts based on 
various circumstances, such as the number of buses in a school district’s fleet or the 
amount of funds distributed the previous year. Transportation funding amounts vary 
based on the number of students in each school district and how many of those students 
are actual bus riders, as well as whether the student has special needs. 
 
 You will find two tables below that further detail student transportation policies 
and funding in SREB states. I hope this information is useful and is an appropriate 
response to your inquiry. Please do not hesitate to contact me should you need further 
assistance on this topic. 
 
  
 
 

http://www.nasdpts.org/


SCHOOL TRANSPORTATION POLICIES 

State Maximum One-Way 
Ride Time for Students 

State Statute or 
Board Rule 

Alabama No limits N/A 

Arkansas No limits N/A 

Delaware No limits N/A 

Florida 
Elementary – 50 minutes 

Secondary- 1 hour 
Florida Administrative 

Code Rule 6A-3.0171(6)(c) 

Georgia No limits Local Policy 

Kentucky About an hour 
Local Policy with  

State BOE approval 

Louisiana No response No State Policy 

Maryland No limits N/A 

Mississippi 30 miles §37-15-29(3) 

North Carolina No limits N/A 

Oklahoma No limits N/A 

South Carolina 90 minutes §59-67-105 

Tennessee 90 minutes §49-6-2105 

Texas No response No State Policy 

Virginia No limits N/A 

West Virginia 
Elementary – 30 minutes 

Middle – 45 minutes 
High School – 60 minutes 

§18-2E-5d 

 
    Italicized responses – State did not respond; consulted state statutes to determine response. 
    N/A – Not Applicable.    
 



 

SCHOOL TRANSPORTATION FUNDING 

State How funded? Total State Funds Per Pupil 

Alabama State Appropriation 
FY 2010 - $277.4 million 
FY 2011 - $278.1 million 

$373 per student or  
$738 per transported student 

Arkansas No funding N/A N/A 
Delaware Formula FY 2010 - $87.8 million FY 2009 - $806 on average 

Florida Formula 
FY 2010 - $428.9 million 
FY 2011 - $430.7 million 

FY 2010 - $364/student and 
$1,756/student with special needs 

FY 2011 - $366/student and 
$1,763/student with special needs 

Georgia No response   

Kentucky Formula FY 2010 to 2012 - $214.7 million 
$100 to $550 depending on the 

district 
Louisiana No response   

Maryland Formula 
FY 2010 - $241.6 million 
FY 2011 - $244.4 million Approximately $300 

Mississippi State Appropriation   
North Carolina State Appropriation FY 2010 - $441 million N/A 

Oklahoma Formula Not Available Not Available 

South Carolina Formula 
FY 2010 - $129.6 miillion 

FY 2011 - $114 million 
FY 2010 - $183.12 
FY 2011 - $186.21 

Tennessee Formula 
FY 2010 - $258.6 million 
FY 2011 - $260.9 million 

FY 2010 - $136.63 
FY 2011 - $137.62 

Texas Formula   

Virginia Formula 
FY 2010 - $338.9 million 
FY 2011 - $369.9 million 

N/A 

West Virginia Formula 
FY 2010 - $71.4 million 
FY 2011 - $70.8 million 

N/A 

Italicized responses – State did not respond but I looked through state code for an answer. 
Not Available – States response to inquiry was not available by June 25th. 
N/A – Not Applicable. 


