First Vice-Chair: Laurie Slade Funderburk

Katherine E. (Katie) Arrington William K. (Bill) Bowers Neal Collins MaryGail K. Douglas Phyllis J. Henderson Joseph H. Jefferson Jr. Robert L. Ridgeway III Edward R. Tallon Sr.

Jennifer L. Dobson Research Director

Cathy A. Greer Administration Coordinator

## Legislative Oversight Committee



South Carolina House of Representatives

Post Office Box 11867 Columbia, South Carolina 29211 Telephone: (803) 212-6810 • Fax: (803) 212-6811

Room 228 Blatt Building

Bruce W. Bannister Gary E. Clary Chandra E. Dillard Raye Felder William M. "Bill" Hixon Mandy Powers Norrell Tommy M. Stringer Robert Q. Williams Bill Taylor

Charles L. Appleby IV Legal Counsel

Carmen J. McCutcheon Simon Research Analyst/Auditor

Kendra H. Wilkerson Fiscal/Research Analyst

November 21, 2017

<u>Via Email</u> Chairman Kenneth Battle Director Thomas J. Smith South Carolina Commission for Minority Affairs 2221 Devine St., Ste. 408 Columbia, SC 29205

RE: Follow up from Subcommittee's November 20, 2017, meeting with the agency

Dear Chairman Battle and Director Smith:

The Economic Development, Transportation, and Natural Resources Subcommittee appreciates the agency's partnership in the oversight process. As discussed at our meeting on November 20, please provide the following documents to the Subcommittee at or preferably before the next meeting on Tuesday, November 28, 2017:

- 1. Minutes from all Commission for Minority Affairs (CMA) Board meetings since 2015;
- 2. Breakdown of SC Micro Enterprise Network (SCMEN) income, including conference sponsorships, since its inception;
- 3. Breakdown of SCMEN conference expenses, indicating which expenses were covered directly by CMA;
- 4. Number of participants/registrants in each SCMEN conference; and
- 5. Any tax forms ever filed for all nonprofit organizations managed by CMA, including SCMEN and Carolina Bridge Project.

Thank you for your service to the citizens of South Carolina and for your continued cooperation with the legislative oversight process.

Sincerely,

Bruce W. Bannister Subcommittee Chair

cc: Economic Development, Transportation, and Natural Resources Subcommittee Members