First Vice-Chair: Laurie Slade Funderburk

Katherine E. "Katie" Arrington William K. "Bill" Bowers Neal Collins MaryGail K. Douglas William M. "Bill" Hixon Jeffrey E. "Jeff" Johnson Robert L. Ridgeway, III Edward R. Tallon Sr. John T. "Jay" West, IV

Jennifer L. Dobson Research Director

Cathy A. Greer Administration Coordinator

## Legislative Oversight Committee



## South Carolina House of Representatives

Post Office Box 11867 Columbia, South Carolina 29211 Telephone: (803) 212-6810 • Fax: (803) 212-6811

Room 228 Blatt Building

Bruce W. Bannister Gary E. Clary Chandra E. Dillard Phyllis J. Henderson Joseph H. Jefferson Jr. Mandy Powers Norrell Tommy M. Stringer Bill Taylor Robert O. Williams

Charles L. Appleby IV Legal Counsel

Carmen J. McCutcheon Simon Research Analyst/Auditor

Kendra H. Wilkerson Fiscal/Research Analyst

February 27, 2018

Via Email
Chairman Kenneth Battle
Director Thomas J. Smith
South Carolina Commission for Minority Affairs
2221 Devine St., Ste. 408
Columbia, SC 29205

RE: Follow up from Subcommittee's February 22, 2018, meeting with the agency

Dear Chairman Battle and Director Smith:

The Economic Development, Transportation, and Natural Resources Subcommittee appreciates the agency's partnership in the oversight process. As follow up from the meeting on February 22, 2018, the Subcommittee requests that you provide the following information by Monday, March 12, 2018:

- 1. The number of legislative committee meetings CMA staff attended related to the four bills tracked as part of performance measure number four. Please note if testimony was provided by CMA staff at any legislative committee meeting related to these bills.
- 2. All current, written agency policies, including board policies. Please note in your response the last time the agency conducted a comprehensive review of its policies and if any of the policies are accessible to the public on the agency's website.
- 3. The cost to the agency of each training attended by CMA staff in 2017.

## Page 2 Chairman Battle and Director Smith

Thank you for your service to the citizens of South Carolina and for your continued cooperation with the legislative oversight process. We look forward to continuing our discussion of the Commission for Minority Affairs at the next Subcommittee meeting.

Sincerely,

Bruce W. Bannister Subcommittee Chair

cc: Economic Development, Transportation, and Natural Resources Subcommittee Members