First Vice-Chair: Laurie Slade Funderburk

Katherine E. "Katie" Arrington Gary E. Clary Chandra E. Dillard MaryGail K. Douglas Phyllis J. Henderson Joseph H. Jefferson Jr. Robert L. Ridgeway, III Tommy M. Stringer Bill Taylor

Jennifer L. Dobson Research Director

Cathy A. Greer Administration Coordinator

# Legislative Oversight Committee



# South Carolina House of Representatives

Post Office Box 11867 Columbia, South Carolina 29211 Telephone: (803) 212-6810 • Fax: (803) 212-6811

Room 228 Blatt Building

Bruce W. Bannister
William K. "Bill" Bowers
Neal Collins
Raye Felder
William M. "Bill" Hixon
Jeffrey E. "Jeff" Johnson
Mandy Powers Norrell
Edward R. Tallon Sr.
Robert Q. Williams

Charles L. Appleby IV Legal Counsel

Carmen J. McCutcheon Simon Research Analyst/Auditor

Kendra H. Wilkerson Fiscal/Research Analyst

## **Legislative Oversight Committee Meeting**

Thursday, May 3, 2018 Blatt Building Room 110 1:00 p.m.

#### **Archived Video Available**

I. Pursuant to House Legislative Oversight Committee Rule 6.8, South Carolina ETV was allowed access for streaming the meeting. You may access an archived video of this meeting by visiting the South Carolina General Assembly's website (http://www.scstatehouse.gov) and clicking on *Committee Postings and Reports*, then under *House Standing Committees* click on *Legislative Oversight*. Then, click on *Video Archives* for a listing of archived videos for the Committee.

#### Attendance

I. The House Legislative Oversight Committee is called to order by Chair Wm. Weston J. Newton on Thursday, May 3, 2018, in Room 110 of the Blatt Building. All members of the Committee are present for all or a portion of the meeting, except: Representative Douglas, Representative Henderson, Representative Norrell, Representative Stringer, and Representative West.

#### **Minutes**

I. House Rule 4.5 requires standing committees to prepare and make available to the public the minutes of committee meetings, but the minutes do not have to be verbatim accounts of meetings.

- II. Chairman Weston Newton calls the meeting to order.
- III. Representative Johnson moves to approve the minutes from the Committee's meeting on March 1, 2018. A roll call vote is held, and the motion passes.

Representative Clary's motion to approve the minutes from the March 1, 2018 meeting:	Yea	Nay	Not Voting: Present	Not Voting: Absent
Katherine E. Arrington	✓			
Bruce W. Bannister	✓			
William K. Bowers	✓			
Gary E. Clary	✓			
Neal Collins	✓			
Chandra E. Dillard	✓			
MaryGail Douglas				✓
Laurie Slade Funderburk	✓			
Phyllis Henderson				✓
Bill Hixon	✓			
Joseph H. Jefferson, Jr.	✓			
Jeffery E. Johnson	✓			
Mandy Powers Norrell				✓
Robert L. Ridgeway, III	✓			
Tommy Stringer				✓
Edward R. Tallon	✓			
Bill Taylor	✓			
John T. West				✓
Robert Q. Williams	✓			
Wm. Weston J. Newton	✓			

IV. Representative Arrington moves to approve the minutes from the Committee's meeting on April 26, 2018. A roll call vote is held, and the motion passes.

Representative Arrington's motion to approve the minutes from the April 26, 2018 meeting:	Yea	Nay	Not Voting: Present	Not Voting: Absent
Katherine E. Arrington	✓			
Bruce W. Bannister	✓			

William K. Bowers	✓		
Gary E. Clary	✓		
Neal Collins	✓		
Chandra E. Dillard	✓		
MaryGail Douglas			✓
Laurie Slade Funderburk	✓		
Phyllis Henderson			✓
Bill Hixon	✓		
Joseph H. Jefferson, Jr.	✓		
Jeffery E. Johnson	✓		
Mandy Powers Norrell			✓
Robert L. Ridgeway, III	✓		
Tommy Stringer			✓
Edward R. Tallon	✓		
Bill Taylor	✓		
John T. West			✓
Robert Q. Williams	✓		
Wm. Weston J. Newton		✓	

### Discussion of Recommendations to the Speaker for Agencies to Schedule for Study in 2018

- I. The Chairman explains that the Committee is considering additional agencies to schedule for study in 2018. Selection of these agencies now and the gathering of initial information from them, and the public, during the summer and fall allows the Committee to remain on pace to complete the seven-year review schedule established in statute. He expresses appreciation for Committee members' dedication to the year-round work of this Committee.
- II. Chairman Newton announces that Committee staff have made recommendations for agencies to study, taking into consideration input from Committee members and other House members as well as Committee resources. He states that he and all Subcommittee chairs concur with the recommendations, which are:
  - a. For the Education and Cultural Subcommittee: Will Lou Gray Opportunity School
  - b. For the Executive Subcommittee: Aeronautics Commission
  - c. For the Health Care and Regulatory Subcommittee: Department of Mental Health

- d. For the Law Enforcement and Criminal Justice Subcommittee: Department of Corrections
- e. For the Economic Development, Transportation, and Natural Resources Subcommittee: Department of Motor Vehicles.

### **Motions**

I. Representative Clary moves that the various Subcommittees study the following agencies: Wil Lou Gray Opportunity School; Aeronautics Commission; Department of Mental Health; Department of Corrections; and Department of Motor Vehicles. A roll call vote is held, and the motion passes.

Representative Clary's motion that the various Subcommittees study the following agencies: Wil Lou Gray Opportunity School; Aeronautics Commission; Department of Mental Health; Department of Corrections; and Department of Motor Vehicles	Yea	Nay	Not Voting: Present	Not Voting: Absent
Katherine E. Arrington	✓			
Bruce W. Bannister	✓			
William K. Bowers	✓			
Gary E. Clary	✓			
Neal Collins	✓			
Chandra E. Dillard	✓			
MaryGail Douglas				✓
Laurie Slade Funderburk	✓			
Phyllis Henderson				✓
Bill Hixon	✓			
Joseph H. Jefferson, Jr.	✓			
Jeffery E. Johnson	✓			
Mandy Powers Norrell				✓
Robert L. Ridgeway, III	✓			
Tommy Stringer				✓
Edward R. Tallon	✓			
Bill Taylor	✓			
John T. West				✓
Robert Q. Williams	✓			
Wm. Weston J. Newton	✓			

II. Representative Williams moves to request the Legislative Audit Council conduct an audit of the Department of Corrections, specifically regarding internal controls.

Representative Williams' motion to request the Legislative Audit Council conduct an audit of the Department of Corrections, specifically regarding internal controls:	Yea	Nay	Not Voting: Present	Not Voting: Absent
Katherine E. Arrington	✓			
Bruce W. Bannister	✓			
William K. Bowers	✓			
Gary E. Clary				✓
Neal Collins	✓			
Chandra E. Dillard	✓			
MaryGail Douglas				✓
Laurie Slade Funderburk	✓			
Phyllis Henderson				✓
Bill Hixon	✓			
Joseph H. Jefferson, Jr.	✓			
Jeffery E. Johnson	✓			
Mandy Powers Norrell				✓
Robert L. Ridgeway, III	✓			
Tommy Stringer				✓
Edward R. Tallon	✓			
Bill Taylor	✓			
John T. West				✓
Robert Q. Williams	✓			
Wm. Weston J. Newton	✓			

### **Administrative Matters**

- I. Chairman Newton thanks the members for their time and contributions to this Committee. He announces that examples of outcomes for constituents can be found in input received from agencies about internal changes made during 2017. Also, forty bills implementing recommendations from House Legislative Oversight Studies have been introduced in the 122nd General Assembly, of which three have been enacted into law this session and two have been ratified.
- II. There being no further business, the meeting is adjourned.