Chair Wm. Weston J. Newton

First Vice-Chair: Laurie Slade Funderburk

Nathan Ballentine Gary E. Clary Kirkman Finlay III Joseph H. Jefferson Jr. Walton J. McLeod Joshua Putnam Samuel Rivers Jr. Tommy M. Stringer Bill Taylor

Jennifer L. Dobson *Research Director*

Cathy A. Greer *Administration Coordinator*

Legislative Oversight Committee



South Carolina House of Representatives

Post Office Box 11867 Columbia, South Carolina 29211 Telephone: (803) 212-6810 • Fax: (803) 212-6811

Room 228 Blatt Building

William K. (Bill) Bowers Raye Felder Phyllis J. Henderson Mia S. McLeod Ralph W. Norman Robert L. Ridgeway III James E. Smith, Jr. Edward R. Tallon Sr. Robert Q. Williams

Charles L. Appleby IV *Legal Counsel*

Carmen J. McCutcheon
Auditor/Research Analyst

Legislative Oversight Committee Meeting

Monday, October 3, 2016 Blatt Building Room 516

Archived Video Available

I. Pursuant to House Legislative Oversight Committee Rule 6.8, South Carolina ETV was allowed access for streaming the meeting. You may access an archived video of this meeting by visiting the South Carolina General Assembly's website (http://www.scstatehouse.gov) and clicking on Committee Postings and Reports, then under House Standing Committees click on Legislative Oversight. Then, click on Video Archives for a listing of archived videos for the Committee.

Attendance

I. The House Legislative Oversight Committee was called to order by Chair Wm. Weston J. Newton on Monday, October 3, 2016, in Room 516 of the Blatt Building. All members of the Committee were present for all or a portion of the meeting, except: Representative Joshua A. Putnam, Representative Samuel Rivers, Jr., and Representative Tommy M. Stringer.

Minutes

- I. House Rule 4.5 requires standing committees to prepare and make available to the public the minutes of committee meetings, but the minutes do not have to be verbatim accounts of meetings.
- II. Representative Jefferson moved to approve the minutes from the Committee's meeting on September 19, 2016. A roll call vote was held, and the motion passed.

Representative Jefferson's motion to approve the minutes from the September 19, 2016, meeting:	Yea	Nay	Not Voting: Present	Not Voting: Absent
Nathan Ballentine	✓			
William K. Bowers	✓			
Gary E. Clary	✓			
Raye Felder				✓
Kirkman Finlay, III	✓			
Laurie Slade Funderburk	✓			
Phyllis Henderson	✓			
Joseph H. Jefferson, Jr.	✓			
Mia S. McLeod				✓
Walton J. McLeod, III	✓			
Ralph W. Norman	✓			
Joshua A. Putnam				✓
Robert L. Ridgeway, III	✓			
Samuel Rivers, Jr.				✓
James E. Smith, Jr.	✓			
Tommy Stringer				✓
Edward R. Tallon	✓			
Bill Taylor	✓			
Robert Q. Williams	✓			
Wm. Weston J. Newton	✓			

Discussion of the Commission for the Blind

I. Representative Ballentine, Chair of the Healthcare Subcommittee, presented to the Committee a short overview of the Subcommittee's meetings with the Commission for the Blind.

- II. Members of the Committee asked questions about the following topics relating to the study of the Commission for the Blind:
 - a. The role of the public in the oversight process;
 - b. The rate of pay and certification standards for mobility specialists at the Commission;
 - c. The possible pending budget increase for prevention services;
 - d. The cooperation between the Commission and the School for the Deaf and the Blind;
 - e. The population segment that may be effected by the restoration of the prevention program; and
 - f. The turnover rate in the Commission's staff.

III. Representative W. McLeod moved to approve the Healthcare Subcommittee's study of the Commission for the Blind. A roll call vote was held, and the motion passed.

Representative W. McLeod's motion to approve the Healthcare Subcommittee's Study of the Commission for the Blind:	Yea	Nay	Not Voting: Present	Not Voting: Absent
Nathan Ballentine	✓			
William K. Bowers	✓			
Gary E. Clary	✓			
Raye Felder	✓			
Kirkman Finlay, III	✓			
Laurie Slade Funderburk	✓			
Phyllis Henderson	✓			
Joseph H. Jefferson, Jr.	✓			
Mia S. McLeod	✓			
Walton J. McLeod, III	✓			
Ralph W. Norman	✓			
Joshua A. Putnam				✓
Robert L. Ridgeway, III	✓			
Samuel Rivers, Jr.				✓
James E. Smith, Jr.				✓
Tommy Stringer				✓
Edward R. Tallon	✓			
Bill Taylor	✓			
Robert Q. Williams	✓			
Wm. Weston J. Newton	✓			

Representative Ballentine moved to allow individual members of the Committee to submit a written statement for inclusion with the study. A roll call vote was held, and the motion passed.

Representative Ballentine's motion to allow individual members of the Committee to submit a written statement for inclusion with the study. The statement must be provided to staff before the close of business on Friday, October 7, 2016:	Yea	Nay	Not Voting: Present	Not Voting: Absent
Nathan Ballentine	✓			
William K. Bowers	✓			
Gary E. Clary	✓			
Raye Felder	✓			
Kirkman Finlay, III	✓			
Laurie Slade Funderburk	✓			
Phyllis Henderson	✓			
Joseph H. Jefferson, Jr.	✓			
Mia S. McLeod	✓			
Walton J. McLeod, III	✓			
Ralph W. Norman	✓			
Joshua A. Putnam				✓
Robert L. Ridgeway, III	✓			
Samuel Rivers, Jr.				✓
James E. Smith, Jr.	✓			
Tommy Stringer				✓
Edward R. Tallon	✓			
Bill Taylor	✓			
Robert Q. Williams	✓			
Wm. Weston J. Newton	✓			

Discussion of the School for the Deaf and the Blind

- I. Representative Clary presented to the Committee a short overview of the Subcommittee's meetings with the School for the Deaf and the Blind.
- II. Members of the Committee asked questions about the following topics:
 - a. The acreage of property owned by the School, and the uses thereof;
 - b. The number of employees at the School;
 - c. The effect of the recession budgets cuts on the School;
 - d. The cooperation between the School and the Commission for the Blind; and
 - e. The ways in which the agency's employees are classified.

Administrative Matters

- I. Chair Newton provided information to the Committee about the process of recommending the next agencies for study. He shared input the Committee has received thus far, and there was an opportunity for members to provide additional input.
- II. Representative W. McLeod made farewell remarks to the Committee.
- III. The meeting was adjourned.