First Vice-Chair: Laurie Slade Funderburk

Micajah P. (Micah) Caskey, IV Neal A. Collins Patricia Moore (Pat) Henegan William M. (Bill) Hixon Jeffrey E. (Jeff) Johnson Marvin R. Pendarvis Tommy M. Stringer Bill Taylor Robert Q. Williams

Jennifer L. Dobson Research Director

Cathy A. Greer Administration Coordinator

Legislative Oversight Committee



South Carolina House of Representatives

Post Office Box 11867 Columbia, South Carolina 29211 Telephone: (803) 212-6810 • Fax: (803) 212-6811

Room 228 Blatt Building

Gary E. Clary Chandra E. Dillard Lee Hewitt Joseph H. Jefferson, Jr. Mandy Powers Norrell Robert L. Ridgeway, III Edward R. Tallon, Sr. John Taliaferro (Jay) West, IV Chris Wooten

Charles L. Appleby, IV Legal Counsel

Carmen J. McCutcheon Simon Research Analyst/Auditor

Kendra H. Wilkerson Fiscal/Research Analyst

Economic Development, Transportation, and Natural Resources Subcommittee Wednesday, February 13, 2019 3:00 p.m. Blatt Room 321

Archived Video Available

I. Pursuant to House Legislative Oversight Committee Rule 6.8, South Carolina ETV was allowed access for streaming the meeting. You may access an archived video of this meeting by visiting the South Carolina General Assembly's website (<u>http://www.scstatehouse.gov</u>) and clicking on *Committee Postings and Reports*, then under *House Standing Committees* click on *Legislative Oversight*. Then, click on *Video Archives* for a listing of archived videos for the Committee.

Attendance

I. The Economic Development, Transportation, and Natural Resources Subcommittee meeting was called to order by Chair William M. (Bill) Hixon on Wednesday, February 13, 2019, in Room 321 of the Blatt Building. The following other members of the Subcommittee were present for either all or a portion of the meeting: Representative Lee Hewitt, Representative Mandy Powers Norrell, and Representative Marvin R. Pendarvis.

Minutes

I. House Rule 4.5 requires standing committees to prepare and make available to the public the minutes of committee meetings, but the minutes do not have to be verbatim accounts of meetings. It is the practice of the Legislative Oversight Committee to provide minutes for its subcommittee meetings.

II. Representative Hewitt moves to approve the minutes from the January 23, 2019, meeting. A roll call vote is held, and the motion passes.

Rep. Hewitt's motion to approve the minutes from the January 23, 2019, meeting:	Yea	Nay	Not Voting
Rep. Hewitt	\checkmark		
Rep. Norrell	\checkmark		
Rep. Pendarvis	\checkmark		
Rep. Hixon	\checkmark		

Discussion of the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV)

- I. Chair Hixon swears in the following DMV representatives:
 - a. Hayley Belton, Strategic Communications Coordinator
 - b. Lisa Bird, Dealer Licensing Manager
 - c. Terry Taylor, CDL Compliance Unit Manager
 - d. Wesley Belk, IT Infrastructure Manager
- II. DMV Executive Director Kevin Shwedo makes opening comments.
- III. Ms. Patricia (Trish) Blake, Director of Administration, presents an overview of the organizational unit she leads. Ms. Blake and Director Shwedo respond to Subcommittee member questions during and after the presentation. The following DMV representatives also answer questions from Subcommittee members during the presentation: Ms. Kristin Wicker, Deputy Director of Finance; Mr. Larry Murray, Director of Vehicle Services; and Ms. Laura Bayne, Deputy Director of Legislative Affairs.
- IV. Ms. Shirley Rivers, Director of Driver Services, presents an overview of the organizational unit she leads. Ms. Rivers and Director Shwedo respond to Subcommittee member questions during and after the presentation. The following DMV representatives also answer questions from Subcommittee members during the presentation: Mr. Karl McClary, Inspector General; and Ms. Laura Bayne.
- V. Director Shwedo and Mr. Michael Baum, DMV Application Systems Manager, respond to Subcommittee member questions related to the follow-up information provided by DMV on January 28, 2019, and February 8, 2019.
- VI. Director Shwedo and Mr. Murray address the issue of verification of the county associated with an address for vehicle tax purposes.
- VII. Director Shwedo and Mr. Murray respond to member questions about registration of utility or all-terrain vehicles and golf cart permits. Ms. Courtney Saxon, Deputy Director of Field Services, also answers questions on this topic.

- VIII. Mr. Murray presents an overview of the Vehicle Services organizational unit. Mr. Murray and Director Shwedo respond to Subcommittee member questions during and after the presentation.
- IX. Mr. Frank Valenta, General Counsel, presents an overview of the organizational unit he leads. Mr. Valenta and Director Shwedo respond to Subcommittee member questions during and after the presentation.
- X. Mr. Karl McClary, Inspector General, presents an overview of the organizational unit he leads. Mr. McClary and Director Shwedo respond to Subcommittee member questions during and after the presentation.
- XI. The meeting is adjourned.