Chairman Wm. Weston J. Newton

First Vice-Chair: Laurie Slade Funderburk

Katherine E. "Katie" Arrington Gary E. Clary MaryGail K. Douglas Phyllis J. Henderson Joseph H. Jefferson Jr. Mandy Powers Norrell J. Todd Rutherford Tommy M. Stringer Bill Taylor

Jennifer L. Dobson Research Director

Cathy A. Greer Administration Coordinator

Legislative Oversight Committee



South Carolina House of Representatives

Post Office Box 11867

Columbia, South Carolina 29211

Carmen I. Med.

Telephone: (803) 212-6810 • Fax: (803) 212-6811

Room 228 Blatt Building

Charles L. Appleby IV

William K. (Bill) Bowers

William M. "Bill" Hixon

Robert L. Ridgeway III

James E. Smith Jr.

Robert Q. Williams

Edward R. Tallon Sr.

Neal Collins

Raye Felder

Carmen J. McCutcheon Simon Research Analyst/Auditor

Executive Subcommittee of the Legislative Oversight Committee

Tuesday, April 18, 2017

Blatt Room 321

Archived Video Available

I. Pursuant to House Legislative Oversight Committee Rule 6.8, South Carolina ETV was allowed access for streaming the meeting. You may access an archived video of this meeting by visiting the South Carolina General Assembly's website (http://www.scstatehouse.gov) and clicking on Committee Postings and Reports, then under House Standing Committees click on Legislative Oversight. Then, click on Video Archives for a listing of archived videos for the Committee.

Attendance

I. Subcommittee Chairman Gary E. Clary calls the Executive Subcommittee meeting to order on the morning of Tuesday, April 18, 2017, in Room 321 of the Blatt Building. The following members of the Subcommittee are present during all or part of the meeting: Subcommittee Chairman Clary, Representative Funderburk, Representative Newton, and Representative Williams.

Minutes

- I. House Rule 4.5 requires standing committees to prepare and make available to the public the minutes of committee meetings, but the minutes do not have to be verbatim accounts of meetings. It is the practice of the Legislative Oversight Committee to provide minutes for its subcommittee meetings.
- II. Representative Newton moves to approve the minutes from the February 15, 2017 Subcommittee meeting.

Rep. Newton's motion to approve the minutes from April 5, 2017:	Yea	Nay	Not Voting
Rep. Clary	✓		
Rep. Funderburk	✓		
Rep. Newton	✓		
Rep. Williams	✓		

Discussion of the State Election Commission

- I. Chairman Clary provides an update on the status of the study of the State Election Commission.
- II. State Election Commission Director Andino presents information on the following topics related to the agency:
 - a. Mission;
 - b. Responsibilities;
 - c. Successes;
 - d. Challenges and Issues;
 - e. Emerging Issues in the next five years;
 - f. History of the agency; and
 - g. Agency's Governing Body.

Members ask questions about the information including but not limited to the methods by which each voter's qualifications to vote (e.g., over 18, citizen of the United States, etc.) are verified, which Director Andino answers.

III. The meeting is adjourned.