First Vice-Chair: Laurie Slade Funderburk

Micajah P. (Micah) Caskey, IV Neal A. Collins Patricia Moore (Pat) Henegan William M. (Bill) Hixon Jeffrey E. (Jeff) Johnson Marvin R. Pendarvis Tommy M. Stringer Bill Taylor Robert Q. Williams

Jennifer L. Dobson Research Director

Cathy A. Greer Administration Coordinator

# Legislative Oversight Committee



South Carolina House of Representatives

Post Office Box 11867 Columbia, South Carolina 29211 Telephone: (803) 212-6810 • Fax: (803) 212-6811

Room 228 Blatt Building

Gary E. Clary
Chandra E. Dillard
Lee Hewitt
Joseph H. Jefferson, Jr.
Mandy Powers Norrell
Robert L. Ridgeway, III
Edward R. Tallon, Sr.
John Taliaferro (Jay) West, IV
Chris Wooten

Charles L. Appleby, IV Legal Counsel

Lewis Carter Research Analyst/Auditor

Kendra H. Wilkerson Fiscal/Research Analyst

Healthcare and Regulatory Subcommittee Meeting Tuesday, December 17, 2019, at 10:00 am Blatt Building Room 410

### Archived Video Available

I. Pursuant to House Legislative Oversight Committee Rule 6.8, South Carolina ETV is allowed access for streaming the meeting. You may access an archived video of this meeting by visiting the South Carolina General Assembly's website (http://www.scstatehouse.gov) and clicking on *Committee Postings and Reports*, then under *House Standing Committees* click on *Legislative Oversight*. Then, click on *Video Archives* for a listing of archived videos for the Committee.

#### Attendance

I. Chair Jay West calls the Healthcare and Regulatory Subcommittee to order on Tuesday, December 17, 2019, in Room 410 of the Blatt Building. All members of the Subcommittee are present for all or a portion of the meeting.

#### **Minutes**

I. House Rule 4.5 requires standing committees to prepare and make available to the public the minutes of committee meetings, but the minutes do not have to be verbatim accounts of meetings. It is the practice of the Legislative Oversight Committee to provide minutes for its subcommittee meetings.

II. Representative Taylor moves to approve the minutes from the December 10, 2019, meeting. The motion passes.

Representative Taylor's motion to approve the minutes from the December 10, 2019, meeting.	Yea	Nay	Not Voting (Absent)	Not Voting (Present)
Rep. Robert Ridgeway	✓			
Rep. Bill Taylor	✓			
Rep. Chris Wooten	✓			
Rep. Jay West	✓			

## Discussion of the Department of Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse Services (DAODAS)

- I. Chair West explains this is the Subcommittee's fourth meeting with DAODAS and the purpose is to discuss the agency's Treatment and Recovery Services Division and recommendations for law changes.
- II. Chair West reminds agency representatives who have been previously sworn in that they remain under oath and administers the oath to the following agency representatives:
  - a. Roberta Braneck, State Opioid Response Project Director
  - b. Joe Shenkar, General Counsel
- III. Director Sara Goldsby provides brief introductory comments.
- IV. The following DAODAS representatives present information related to the agency's Treatment and Recovery Services Division, various additional deliverables, and recommendations for law changes:
  - a. Hannah Bonsu, Treatment Director
  - b. Lee Dutton, Chief of Staff
  - c. Roberta Braneck, State Opioid Response Project Director
  - d. Anthony Johnson, Screening, Brief Intervention, and Referral to Treatment (SBIRT) Director
  - e. Sharon Peterson, Manager of Finance and Operations
  - f. Joe Shenkar, General Counsel

During and after the presentation, these individuals and Director Goldsby respond to questions from Subcommittee members.

V. Chair West makes closing remarks, then adjourns the meeting.