First Vice-Chair: Laurie Slade Funderburk

Katherine E. (Katie) Arrington Gary E. Clary MaryGail K. Douglas Phyllis J. Henderson Joseph H. Jefferson Jr. Mandy Powers Norrell J. Todd Rutherford Tommy M. Stringer Bill Taylor

Jennifer L. Dobson Research Director

Cathy A. Greer Administration Coordinator

Legislative Oversight Committee



South Carolina House of Representatives

Charles L. Appleby IV Legal Counsel

William K. (Bill) Bowers

William M. "Bill" Hixon

Robert L. Ridgeway III

James E. Smith Jr.

Edward R. Tallon Sr.

Robert Q. Williams

Neal Collins

Rave Felder

Carmen J. McCutcheon Simon Research Analyst/Auditor

Post Office Box 11867 Columbia, South Carolina 29211 Telephone: (803) 212-6810 • Fax: (803) 212-6811

Room 228 Blatt Building

Healthcare and Regulatory Subcommittee

Thursday, February 9, 2017 Blatt Building Room 108

The minutes have been revised to reflect a change in the header, due to the resignation of a Member.

Archived Video Available

I. Pursuant to House Legislative Oversight Committee Rule 6.8, South Carolina ETV was allowed access for streaming the meeting. You may access an archived video of this meeting by visiting the South Carolina General Assembly's website (http://www.scstatehouse.gov) and clicking on *Committee Postings and Reports*, then under *House Standing Committees* click on *Legislative Oversight*. Then, click on *Video Archives* for a listing of archived videos for the Committee.

Attendance

I. The House Legislative Oversight Committee was called to order by Chair Phyllis J. Henderson on Thursday, February 9, 2017, in Room 108 of the Blatt Building. Representatives MaryGail Douglas and Bill Taylor were present; Representative William K. Bowers was not.

Minutes

- I. House Rule 4.5 requires standing committees to prepare and make available to the public the minutes of committee meetings, but the minutes do not have to be verbatim accounts of meetings.
- II. Representative Taylor moved to approve the minutes from the Subcommittee's meeting on January 24, 2017. A roll call vote was held, and the motion passed.

Representative Taylor's motion to approve the January 24, 2017 minutes	Yea	Nay	Not Voting: Present	Not Voting: Absent
William K. Bowers				✓
MaryGail Douglas	✓			
Bill Taylor	✓			
Phyllis Henderson	✓			

Discussion of the Department of Health and Environmental Control

- I. Chair Henderson spoke briefly about introductory matters and the Subcommittee's progress in its study of the Department of Health and Environmental Control.
- II. Director Heigel summarized the actions that the Department had taken in response to testimony given at the public hearing.
- III. Director Heigel introduced the members of the agency's leadership team present, including Lilian Peake, M.D. (Director of Health Services), Kevin Guion (Chief Operating Officer), Shelly Kelly (Director of Health Regulation), Shelly Kelly (Director of Health Regulation), Myra Reece (Director of Environmental Affairs), Marcus Robinson (Chief Human Resources Officer), and David Wilson (Senior Director of Legislative Affairs). Director Heigel then gave a presentation to the Subcommittee about the state of the agency. Some of the topics she addressed were:
 - a. The agency's need to move its Columbia headquarters into new facilities;
 - b. The improvements at the agency over the past few years;
 - c. The agency's handling of the Savannah River Site; and
 - d. The agency's development of new budgeting techniques.
- IV. The Subcommittee members asked questions of Director Heigel about topics such as:
 - a. The public's satisfaction with the agency's services;
 - b. The opinions of the agency's employees about its performance; and
 - c. The agency's requests for legal changes to some of its regulatory authority.
- V. Chair Henderson said that, in the interest of time, the Subcommittee would send further questions or topics of concern to Director Heigel in writing after the conclusion of the meeting so that Director Heigel could address them at a future meeting.

VI. The meeting was adjourned.

^{*}Time in the video archived on www.scstatehouse.gov.