State Regulation of Public Utilities Review Committee

Sen. Thomas C. Alexander, Chairman Rep. William E. Sandifer, III, Vice Chairman Elizabeth H. Atwater, Esquire Erik H. Ebersole Rep. P. Michael Forrester Rep. Jackie E. Hayes Sen. C. Bradley Hutto Sen. Luke A. Rankin, Sr. John Steven Simmons, Esquire Helen T. Zeigler, Esquire



Heather Anderson Committee Counsel Andy Fiffick Committee Counsel

Post Office Box 142 Columbia, South Carolina 29202 (803) 212-6208

LEGAL AD:

The State Regulation of Public Utilities Review Committee is beginning its screening process for Seats 2, 4, and 6 of the South Carolina Public Service Commission. The State Regulation of Public Utilities Review Committee will be accepting applications for Seats 2, 4, and 6 beginning Monday, February 3rd, until 5:00 p.m., Friday, February 21st. The Public Service Commission has jurisdiction over matters pertaining to investor-owned electric and gas utilities, water and wastewater companies, telecommunications companies, carriers of household goods and hazardous waste for disposal, taxicabs, and other motor vehicle passenger carriers. A commissioner must have at least a baccalaureate degree. It is preferred that a commissioner have a background of substantial duration in one of the following areas: (a) energy; (b) telecommunications; (c) consumer protection and advocacy; (d) water and wastewater; (e) finance, economics, and statistics; (f) accounting; (g) engineering; or (h) law.

The commission is composed of seven commissioners, one from each of the seven

Congressional districts. The Commissioner for the Second Public Service Commission District represents those portions of Aiken, Barnwell, Lexington, Orangeburg, and Richland counties within the Second Congressional District. The Commissioner for the Fourth Public Service Commission District represents Greenville and Spartanburg counties. The Commissioner for the Sixth Public Service Commission District represents those portions of Allendale, Bamburg, Beaufort, Berkley, Calhoun, Charleston, Clarendon, Colleton, Dorchester, Florence, Hampton, Jasper, Orangeburg, Richland, Sumter, and Williamsburg counties within the Sixth Congressional District. Salary for these positions is \$102,382 annually.

Application forms may be obtained from the State Regulation of Public Utilities Review Committee, 102 Gressette Building, Post Office Box 142, Columbia, South Carolina 29202, by contacting Heather Anderson, (803) 212-6208 or <u>heatheranderson@scsenate.gov</u>, or by contacting Sharon Scholl, (803) 212-6627 or <u>sharonscholl@scsenate.gov</u>. Each candidate is required to submit a completed application form no later than the February 21st deadline.

Following the Friday, February 21st filing deadline, the Review Committee will begin its background investigation of candidates. The first public hearing to review each candidate's qualifications is tentatively scheduled to begin in April. Candidates and potential candidates are subject to certain restrictions with respect to contacting members of the General Assembly. Persons interested in becoming candidates should obtain information explaining the restrictions by contacting Heather Anderson at (803) 212-6208 or <u>heatheranderson@scsenate.gov</u>, or Sharon Scholl at (803) 212-6627 or <u>sharonscholl@scsenate.gov</u>.

Applications will not be accepted after 5:00 p.m. on Friday, February 21st. For further information, contact Heather Anderson at (803) 212-6208 or Sharon Scholl at (803) 212-6627.

2