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• Snapshot of Maryland’s Medical Cannabis Program

• Program Timeline

• Priority Considerations 

• Lessons Learned 



Program Snapshot 



What is the Maryland Medical Cannabis 
Commission?

• Statutorily created body, made up of 
16 subject matter experts from 
diverse backgrounds in agriculture, 
law, medicine, and research.

• Serve in part-time, voluntary 
capacity

• Serve 4-year, staggered terms

• Independent commission within the 
Maryland Department of Health 

• Hold quarterly public meetings 



MMCC’s Role 

• Regulate medical cannabis businesses and patients:  

Oversee all licensing, registration, inspection, and testing measures pertaining to 
Maryland’s medical cannabis program and provide relevant program information to 

patients, providers, caregivers, growers, processors, dispensaries and testing laboratories. 

• Use, possession, and distribution of illicit cannabis remains under 
authority of state and local law enforcement 

• State licensing boards remain authority for certifying providers

− MMCC prohibited from establishing continuing education or other 
requirements for certifying providers



The Players 
Grower (22)

Processor (28)

Independent Testing 
Laboratory (5)

Dispensary (102)



Growers, Processors, and Dispensaries 

License Restrictions 

Prior to May 15, 2018

• 15 growers

• No statutory limit on processors 

• No statutory limit on dispensaries 

Effective May 15, 2018 

• 22 growers

• 28 processors

• No statutory limit on dispensaries – limited to 
102 via MMCC regulations

Current Number of Licensed and 
Stage One Pre-Approvals

7

License Type Licensed 
Stage One Pre-

Approval 

Grower 15 3

Processor 18 0

Dispensary 82 20



2019 Dispensary Sales
8
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June Sales: $2.32 million



$482,400
$551,253

$573,373

$602,898

$624,700

$609,027

$340,504

$320,297

$386,921

$369,366

$336,758

$359,272

$219,039

$225,840

$261,186

$238,369

$260,434

$275,926

$100,000

$200,000

$300,000

$400,000

$500,000

$600,000

$700,000

January February March April May June

Grower, Processor, and Dispensary Average Revenue 

January - June, 2019 

Growers Processors Dispensaries



Patients, Caregivers, and Providers

Provider Type 
Number of Certifying 

Providers 

Physicians 858

NP/CNM 576

Podiatrists 18

Dentists 106

Total 1,558

11

Registration Type
Number of Patients and 

Caregivers

Patients 76,929

Caregivers 7,217

Minor Patients 179

Hospice Patients 265

Note: MMCC receives on average 200+ applications per 
day 

Patients and Caregivers Certifying Providers



Program Timeline



Phase 1: Development 
April 2013 – Sept. 2015

April 2013
Affirmative defense for medical 
cannabis patients; Academic 

research institutions authorized 
to grow and dispense

April 2014 
MMCC established; authorized 
to develop regulations, award 

licenses; home grow not 
permitted 

Sept. 14, 2015
MMCC regulations adopted 

governing patients, providers, 
licensees, and independent 

testing laboratories 



Phase 2: Implementation
Sept. 2015 – August 2017 

Sept. 28, 2015

License 
application period 

opens

Nov. 6, 2015

License application 
period closes; 

1,000+ applications 
received

Aug. 15, 2016

Grower and 
Processor license 

pre-approval awards

Nov. 6, 2016

Dispensary license 
pre-approval awards 



Phase 3: Operation
August 2017 – Present 

July/Aug. 2017

Award of final 
grower/processor 

licenses; cultivation 
begins

Dec. 1, 2017

Dispensary sales begin 
in Maryland 

Jan. 1 – Dec. 31, 2018

More than $100 mil. in 
total dispensary sales; 
still 50+ dispensaries 

unlicensed

Jan. 1, 2019 – Present

$150+ million in total 
dispensary sales; new 
licenses awarded next 

week; 90% of 
businesses operational



Timeline Across States

• Average of 18-24 months between legislation and 
operation

• Typically the market stabilizes around 24 months of 
operations, meaning enforcement, patient and 
business growth, and legislative/regulatory changes 

• Timeline extended for states implementing program 
through legislature (as opposed to ballot referendum)



Priority Considerations 



Critical Program Decision Points

• Home Grow

• Enforcement 

• License restrictions 

• Who may grow, process and dispense

• Certifying provider groups

• Product restrictions  

• Program funding and taxation 



• Permitted: AK, AZ, CA, CO, DC, HI, ME, 
MA, MI, MT, NM, NV, ND, OK, OR, RI, 
VT, WA

• Prohibited: CT, DE, FL, IL, MD, MN, NH, 
NJ, NY, OH, PA, WV

• Ease of access for rural patients

• Patient affordability

• Black market concerns

• Lack of laboratory testing 

Home Grow



License Restrictions 

• Number of licenses restricted under law:  AZ, CT, DC, DE, 
FL, IL, MA, MD, MN, NJ, NY, PA, and OH 

• Pros: 
• Regulatory oversight is more manageable 

• Reduce black/gray market sales 

• Stricter control of testing and product safety 

• Cons: 
• Higher market entry costs 

• Higher average cost to patients 

• May limit access to certain types of medicine 

• Increased likelihood of prolonged litigation 



Enforcement 

• Enforcement needs are varied: pesticide 
application/nutrient management plan, food safety 
and handling, occupational safety, laboratory 
compliance, data protection, security, etc. 

• Programs tend to focus primarily on diversion 
and security at expense of other issues



Who May Grow, Process, and Dispense?

• Is state residency required? 

• Ex.: AZ  resident for at least 3 years

• Small, local businesses vs. multi-state operators 

• Vertical integration – lower costs, but less competition

• Require dispensaries to be run by pharmacists or 
physicians

• Ex.: AZ, CT, FL, NY, PA



Certifying Provider Groups

• All medical cannabis states authorize physicians 
to certify a patient to obtain medical cannabis

• Access to care issues: 
• Large health care systems prohibit certification  

• Rural residents left with few options for providers 

• Growing minority (13 states) allow advanced 
practice nurses to certify 

• Physicians Assistants, under an active 
delegation agreement with physician, may 
certify in 10 states   



Product Restrictions

• Flower/combustible products 

• Vapes

• Edible cannabis products

• Food safety and handling

• Attractiveness to children 

• THC limits 



Medical Cannabis Taxation 
State Medical Cannabis Tax
Arizona 6.6% excise tax 

Arkansas 4% excise tax 

Colorado 2.9% state sales tax 

Connecticut $3.50 per gram excise tax

Hawaii 4% state sales tax 

Illinois

All sales subject to 1% pharmaceutical excise tax 

(dispensaries); 7% wholesale tax (cultivators)

Michigan 6% excise tax and 3% sales tax

Minnesota $3.50 per gram excise tax 

Montana 2% excise tax 

Nevada 2% excise tax

New Jersey 7% state sales tax 

New York 7% excise tax 

Ohio 5.75% state sales tax 

Pennsylvania 5% wholesale tax 

Rhode Island 4% excise tax and 7% state sales tax 

Washington

37% excise tax (medical program merged with adult use 

program and subject to same tax rate)

Tax exempt: 
AK, CA, DC, DE, 
ME, MA, ND, NM, 
NH, OR, VT



Lessons Learned

• Engage broad range of stakeholders in program development 

• Ownership and control of businesses

• Diversify regulatory expertise 

• Robust/developed administrative process

• Product safety vs. security  

• Types of products that may be sold 

• Clear state policies for employment, testing, benefits, worker’s compensation, 
insurance, use on school grounds, use in hospitals, public use, etc. 

• Ancillary services 

• Employee and industry training

• Review laws in other states AND learn what worked (and what didn’t) 



Note: The information presented here are for 
informational purposes only and not for the purpose of 

providing legal advice. You should contact your 
attorney to obtain advice with respect to any particular 

issue or problem.


