College and University Trustee Screening Commission

Senator Harvey S. Peeler, Jr. Chairman Senator Thomas C. Alexander Senator John. L. Scott, Jr. Senator Daniel B. "Danny" Verdin, III

> Staff: Martha Casto Julie Price



Representative William R. Whitmire Vice-Chairman Representative John King Representative Sylleste Davis Representative Gary E. Clary

213 Gressette Building P.O. Box 142 Columbia, South Carolina 29202 Phone: (803) 212-6430 Email: President@scsenate.gov

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE November 20, 2019

The College and University Trustee Screening Commission has received Letters of Intent from the candidates listed below. The Commission will hold screening hearings in early 2020. By law, the election for these seats cannot be held prior to April 1, 2020. The election date must be set by resolution of the General Assembly.

THE CITADEL

Two (2) At-large seats
-- terms expire June 30, 2026
-- Tred L. Price - Columbia
-- Tred L. Price - Columbia

CLEMSON UNIVERSITY

Three (3) At-large seats
-- terms expire June 30, 2024
-- Clayton R. Lowder - Mayesville
-- Louis B. Lynn - Columbia
-- Robert L. Peeler - Lexington
-- John W. Pettigrew, Jr. - Aiken

COLLEGE OF CHARLESTON

1st Congressional District - seat 2 -- L. Cherry Daniel - Charleston -- term expires June 30, 2024 -- Isabelle N. Mandell - Columbia -- term expires June 30, 2024 -- Brian J. Stern - Columbia -- term expires June 30, 2024 -- Craig C. Thornton - Anderson -- term expires June 30, 2024

4th Congressional District - seat 8 -- Renee B. Romberger - Greenville -- *term expires June 30, 2024*

COLLEGE OF CHARLESTON - continuous 5 th Congressional District - seat 10 term expires June 30, 2024	ued 	R. McLaurin Burch, III - Camden
6 th Congressional District - seat 12 term expires June 30, 2024		Randy E. Adkins, Jr North Charleston Ricci L. Welch - Manning
7 th Congressional District - seat 14 term expires June 30, 2024		Penny S. Rosner - Myrtle Beach
At-Large - seat 16 term expires June 30, 2024		David M. Hay - Charleston Roy D. Neal - Mt. Pleasant
FRANCIS MARION UNIVERSITY 2nd Congressional District - seat 2 term expires June 30, 2024		Benjamin I. Duncan, II - Columbia
3 rd Congressional District - seat 3 term expires June 30, 2024		R. Tracy Freeman - North Augusta
4 th Congressional District - seat 4 term expires June 30, 2024		Benny J. "Jody" Bryson - Greenville
7 th Congressional District - seat 7 term expires June 30, 2024		George C. McIntyre - Bennettsville
At-large - seat 9 term expires June 30, 2024		Karen A. Leatherman - Florence
At-large - seat 11 term expires June 30, 2024		H. Randall Dozier - Murrells Inlet Toby S. Jenkins - Columbia
At-large - seat 15 term expires June 30, 2024		William W. Coleman - Florence
LANDER UNIVERSITY 1st Congressional District term expires June 30, 2024		Cary C. Corbitt - Hilton Head Island
2 nd Congressional District term expires June 30, 2024		Angela G. Strickland - Chapin
3 rd Congressional District term expires June 30, 2024		Linda L. Dolny - Clinton

LANDER UNIVERSITY - continued

4th Congressional District Terry O. Pruitt - Spartanburg

-- term expires June 30, 2024 James C. Shubert - Simpsonville

5th Congressional District S. Anne Walker - Sumter

-- term expires June 30, 2024

6th Congressional District Robert F. Sabalis - Orangeburg

-- term expires June 30, 2024

7th Congressional District Catherine K. Lee - Florence

-- term expires June 30, 2024

MEDICAL UNIVERSITY OF SOUTH CAROLINA

1st Congressional District, nonmedical seat --Michael E. Stavrinakis - Charleston

-- term expires June 30, 2024

2nd Congressional District, nonmedical seat --William H. Bingham - Cayce

-- term expires June 30, 2024

3rd Congressional District, nonmedical seat --Charles W. Schulze - Greenwood

-- term expires June 30, 2024

4th Congressional District, medical seat H. Frederick Butehorn, III - Spartanburg

-- term expires June 30, 2024

5th Congressional District, medical seat G. Murrell Smith, Sr. - Sumter

-- term expires June 30, 2024

6th Congressional District, nonmedical seat --Barbara Johnson-Williams - Orangeburg

-- term expires June 30, 2024

7th Congressional District, medical seat Paul T. Davis - Darlington

-- term expires June 30, 2024

SOUTH CAROLINA STATE UNIVERSITY

2nd Congressional District - seat 2 no candidates filed

-- term expires June 30, 2024

4th Congressional District - seat 4 no candidates filed

-- term expires June 30, 2024

6th Congressional District - seat 6 Wilbur B. Shuler - Orangeburg

-- term expires June 30, 2024

SOUTH CAROLINA STATE UNIVERSITY - continued At-large - seat 8 no candidates filed -- term expires June 30, 2024 At-large - seat 10 Samuel L. Hinton - Orangeburg -- term expires June 30, 2024 At-large - seat 12 no candidates filed -- term expires June 30, 2024 UNIVERSITY OF SOUTH CAROLINA 2nd Judicial Circuit Miles A. Loadholt - Barnwell -- term expires June 30, 2024 4th Judicial Circuit Eugene P. Warr, Jr. - Lamar James C. Williamson - Cheraw -- term expires June 30, 2024 6th Judicial Circuit Hubert F. "Hugh" Mobley - Lancaster -- term expires June 30, 2024 Spiro G. Poulos - Chester 8th Judicial Circuit Alva C. "Bubba" Fennell, III - Greenwood -- term expires June 30, 2024 Brian C. Harlan - Laurens 10th Judicial Circuit Donald L. "Chuck" Allen - Anderson -- term expires June 30, 2024 Emma W. Morris - Walhalla Phillip D. Owens - Easley (Anderson Co.) Blair L. Stoudemire - Seneca 14th Judicial Circuit Rose B. Newton - Bluffton -- term expires June 30, 2024 15th Judicial Circuit J. Egerton Burroughs - Conway

15th Judicial Circuit -- J. Egerton Burroughs - Conway -- term expires June 30, 2024 -- L. Morgan Martin - Conway -- R. Scott Plyer - Murrells Inlet

-- Jasper N. Ramsey, Jr. - Myrtle Beach

16th **Judicial Circuit** -- Leah B. Moody - Rock Hill

-- term expires June 30, 2024

WINTHROP UNIVERSITY
2nd Congressional District - seat 2 -- John E. Brazell - Columbia

-- term expires June 30, 2026

WINTHROP UNIVERSITY - continued

6th Congressional District - seat 6

-- term expires June 30, 2026

no candidates filed

At-Large - seat 9

-- term expires June 30, 2026

J. Randall Imler - Tega Cay

WIL LOU GRAY OPPORTUNITY SCHOOL

Three (3) At-large seats

-- terms expire June 30, 2024

Doris M. Adams - Columbia

Bryan B. England - Georgetown

-- Kimberly L. Suber - Chapin

-- Reginald J. Thomas - Spartanburg

-XX-