Judicial Merit Selection Commission

Rep. Alan D. Clemmons, Chairman Sen. Larry A. Martin, Vice-Chairman Sen. George E. Campsen, III Sen. Gerald Malloy Rep. Bruce W. Bannister Rep. David J. Mack, III Kristian C. Bell Joseph Preston Strom, Jr. Susan T. Wall Robert M. Wilcox



Post Office Box 142 Columbia, South Carolina 29202 (803) 212-6623 Elizabeth H. Brogdon, Chief Counsel Emma Dean

NOTICE OF JMSC PUBLIC HEARING

Monday, November 16, 2015 through Friday, November 20, 2015

9:00 A.M.

ROOM 516 BLATT BUILDING JUDICIAL MERIT SELECTION COMMISSION

AGENDA

Public Hearing on Judicial Qualifications Monday, November 16, 2015 Room 516, Blatt Building Columbia, South Carolina

Monday, November 16, 2015

- 9:00 a.m. EXECUTIVE SESSION
- 9:45 a.m. Presentation by SC Bar Judicial Qualifications Committee Co-Chair Scott Moise and Upstate Midlands Citizens Committee Chair Nancy Jo Thomason
- 10:30 a.m. The Honorable Ralph King Anderson, III, Supreme Court, Seat 2
- 11:30 a.m. The Honorable David Craig Brown, Supreme Court, Seat 2

12:30-1:30 LUNCH

- 1:30 p.m. The Honorable John Cannon Few, Supreme Court, Seat 2
- 2:30 p.m. The Honorable Aphrodite Konduros, Supreme Court, Seat 2
- 3:30 p.m. The Honorable Harris Bruce Williams, Supreme Court, Seat 2
- 4:30 p.m. EXECUTIVE SESSION
- 5:30 p.m. VOTE (Supreme Court, Seat 2)

Public Hearing on Judicial Qualifications Tuesday, November 17, 2015 Room 516, Blatt Building Columbia, South Carolina

Tuesday, November 17, 2015

- 9:00 a.m. EXECUTIVE SESSION
- 10:00 a.m. Jerome P. Askins, III, Circuit Court, At-Large, Seat 10
- 10:30 a.m. Jeffrey P. Bloom, Circuit Court, At-Large, Seat 10
- 11:00 a.m. Joseph M. Epting, Jr., Circuit Court, At-Large, Seat 10
- 11:30 a.m. Joey Randell Floyd, Circuit Court, At-Large, Seat 10
- 12:00 p.m. William Patrick Frick, Circuit Court, At-Large, Seat 10

12:30-1:30 LUNCH

- 1:30 p.m. Jon Renè Josey, Circuit Court, At-Large, Seat 10
- 2:00 p.m. Reginald I. Lloyd, Circuit Court, At-Large, Seat 10
- 2:30 p.m. William Vickery Meetze, Circuit Court, At-Large, Seat 10
- 3:00 p.m. Jocelyn Newman, Circuit Court, At-Large, Seat 10
- 3:30 p.m. Grady L. Patterson, III, Circuit Court, At-Large, Seat 10
- 4:00 p.m. The Honorable Bentley Douglas Price, Circuit Court, At-Large, Seat 10
- 4:30 p.m. Robert L. Reibold, Circuit Court, At-Large, Seat 10
- 5:00 p.m. EXECUTIVE SESSION
- 5:30 p.m. VOTE (Circuit Court, At-Large, Seat 10)

Public Hearing on Judicial Qualifications Wednesday, November 18, 2015 Room 516, Blatt Building Columbia, South Carolina

Wednesday, November 18, 2015

- 9:00 a.m. EXECUTIVE SESSION
- 10:00 a.m. The Honorable John Lawrence Duffy, III, Family Court, 9th Judicial Circuit, Seat 3
- 10:30 a.m. Spiros Stavros Ferderigos, Family Court, 9th Judicial Circuit, Seat 3
- 11:00 a.m. Michèle Patrão Forsythe, Family Court, 9th Judicial Circuit, Seat 3
- 11:30 a.m. Sean F. Keefer, Family Court, 9th Judicial Circuit, Seat 3
- 12:00 p.m. Rita J. Roache, Family Court, 9th Judicial Circuit, Seat 3
- 12:30-1:30 LUNCH
- 1:30 p.m. EXECUTIVE SESSION
- 2:00–2:30 VOTE (Family Court, 9th Circuit, Seat 3)
- 2:30 p.m. William Randall Phipps, Family Court, 8th Judicial Circuit, Seat 2
- 3:00 p.m. The Honorable John M. Rucker, Family Court, 8th Judicial Circuit, Seat 2
- 3:30 p.m. EXECUTIVE SESSION
- 4:00–4:30 VOTE (Family Court 8th Circuit Seat 2)
- 4:30 p.m. Steven Coleman Kirven, Master-in-Equity, Anderson & Oconee County, 10th Circuit
- 5:00 p.m. EXECUTIVE SESSION
- 5:15 p.m. VOTE (Master-in-Equity, Anderson & Oconee County, 10th Circuit)

Public Hearing on Judicial Qualifications Thursday, November 19, 2015 Room 516, Blatt Building Columbia, South Carolina

Thursday, November 19, 2015

- 9:00 a.m. EXECUTIVE SESSION
- 9:30 a.m. The Honorable James Edward Lockemy, Court of Appeals, Seat 9
- 9:45 a.m. The Honorable Edgar Warren Dickson, Circuit Court, 1st Judicial Circuit, Seat 1
- 10:00 a.m. The Honorable Diane Schafer Goodstein, Circuit Court, 1st Judicial Circuit, Seat 2
- 10:15 a.m. The Honorable Doyet A. Early, III, Circuit Court, 2nd Judicial Circuit, Seat 1
- 10:30 a.m. The Honorable Ralph Ferrell Cothran, Jr., Circuit Court, 3rd Judicial Circuit, Seat 1
- 10:45 a.m. The Honorable Brian M. Gibbons, Circuit Court, 6th Judicial Circuit, Seat 1
- 11:00 a.m. The Honorable Frank Robert Addy, Jr., Circuit Court, 8th Judicial Circuit, Seat 1
- 11:15 a.m. The Honorable David Garrison Hill, Circuit Court, 13th Judicial Circuit, Seat 4
- 12:00 p.m. The Honorable Steven H. John, Circuit Court, 15th Judicial Circuit, Seat 1
- 12:15 p.m. The Honorable John Calvin Hayes, III, Circuit Court, 16th Judicial Circuit, Seat 1

12:30-1:30 LUNCH

- 1:30 p.m. The Honorable Daniel Dewitt Hall, Circuit Court, 16th Judicial Circuit, Seat 2
- 1:45 p.m. The Honorable William J. Wylie, Jr., Family Court, 1st Judicial Circuit, Seat 2
- 2:00 p.m. The Honorable Nancy Chapman McLin, Family Court, 1st Judicial Circuit, Seat 3
- 2:15 p.m. The Honorable Vicki J. Snelgrove, Family Court, 2nd Judicial Circuit, Seat 1
- 2:30 p.m. The Honorable George Marion McFaddin, Jr., Family Court, 3rd Judicial Circuit, Seat 1

- 2:45 p.m. The Honorable Cely Anne Brigman, Family Court, 4th Judicial Circuit, Seat 1
- 3:00 p.m. The Honorable Dorothy Mobley Jones, Family Court, 5th Judicial Circuit, Seat 1
- 3:15 p.m. The Honorable Gwendlyne Young Jones, Family Court, 5th Judicial Circuit, Seat 4
- 3:30 p.m. The Honorable Usha J. Bridges, Family Court, 7th Judicial Circuit, Seat 3
- 3:45 p.m. The Honorable Daniel E. Martin, Jr., Family Court, 9th Judicial Circuit, Seat 1
- 4:00 p.m. The Honorable Jack Alan Landis, Family Court, 9th Judicial Circuit, Seat 6
- 4:15 p.m. The Honorable Karen F. Ballenger, Family Court, 10th Judicial Circuit, Seat 2
- 4:30 p.m. The Honorable Alex Kinlaw, Jr., Family Court, 13th Judicial Circuit, Seat 6
- 4:45 p.m. The Honorable Jerry Deese Vinson, Jr., Family Court, 12th Judicial Circuit, Seat 3
- 5:00 p.m. The Honorable Walter H. Sanders, Jr., Master-in-Equity, Allendale County, 14th Circuit

Public Hearing on Judicial Qualifications Friday, November 20, 2015 Room 516, Blatt Building Columbia, South Carolina

Friday, November 20, 2015

- 9:00 a.m. EXECUTIVE SESSION
- 9:45 a.m. The Honorable William Gregory Seigler, Family Court, 11th Judicial Circuit, Seat 1
- 10:30 a.m. The Honorable Mikell Ross Scarborough, Master-in-Equity, Charleston County, 9th Circuit
- 10:45 a.m. The Honorable Thomas H. White, IV, Family Court, 16th Judicial Circuit, Seat 1
- 11:00 a.m. The Honorable Melissa Johnson Emery, Family Court, 15th Judicial Circuit, Seat 2
- 11:15 a.m. The Honorable Sebastien Phillip Lenski, Administrative Law Court, Seat 6
- 11:30 a.m. The Honorable Peter L. Fuge, Family Court, 14th Judicial Circuit, Seat 2
- 11:45 a.m. Joseph King Coffey, Master-in-Equity, Clarendon County, 3rd Circuit
- 12:00 p.m. The Honorable James E. Chellis, Master-in-Equity, Dorchester County, 1st Circuit
- 12:15 p.m. The Honorable Richard Lauren Booth, Master-in-Equity, Sumter County, 3rd Circuit
- 12:30 p.m. The Honorable James E. Moore, Supreme Court, Retired Justice
- 12:45 p.m. The Honorable Levy S. Alford, Circuit Court, Retired Judge
- 1:00 p.m. The Honorable Brooks P. Goldsmith, Circuit Court, Retired Judge
- 1:15 p.m. The Honorable Charles Victor Pyle, Jr., Circuit Court, Retired Judge
- 1:30 p.m. The Honorable Robert E. Guess, Family Court, Retired Judge
- 1:45 p.m. The Honorable Paul Michael Burch, Circuit Court, 4th Judicial Circuit, Seat 1

CONCLUSION OF FALL 2015 JMSC PUBLIC HEARINGS