JMSC

2018 Screening

Qualified and Nominated Candidates (as of 1/30/2019)

The Judicial Merit Selection Commission found the following judicial candidates qualified and nominated, and qualified, at the public hearings held November 12–15, 2018, November 19, 2018; November 26–29, 2018, and December 13, 2018:

Court of Appeals Seat 1	Blake A. Hewitt, Conway, SC The Honorable Alison Renee Lee, Columbia, SC The Honorable Jerry Deese Vinson Jr., Florence, SC withdrew 1/30/19
Seat 3	The Honorable John D. Geathers, Ridgeway, SC
Seat 4	The Honorable Paula H. Thomas, Pawleys Island, SC
Circuit Court 5th Judicial Circuit, Seat 1	The Honorable DeAndrea Gist Benjamin, Columbia, SC
7 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 1	The Honorable Joseph Derham Cole, Spartanburg, SC
9th Judicial Circuit, Seat 1	The Honorable Deadra L. Jefferson, Charleston, SC
9 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 2	Meredith L. Coker, Charleston, SC withdrew 1/25/19 The Honorable Bentley Douglas Price, Charleston, SC The Honorable Dale E. Van Slambrook, Goose Creek, SC
10th Judicial Circuit, Seat 1	The Honorable Rivers Lawton McIntosh, Williamston, SC
At-Large, Seat 2	Ryan Kirk Griffin, Sumter, SC John Patrick (Jack) Riordan, Greenville, SC withdrew 1/22/19
At-Large, Seat 14	The Honorable R. Keith Kelly, Spartanburg, SC
At-Large, Seat 15	The Honorable Maite Murphy, North Charleston, SC
At-Large, Seat 16	The Honorable Donald Bruce Hocker, Laurens, SC
Family Court 1st Judicial Circuit, Seat 1	The Honorable Anne Guè Jones, Orangeburg, SC
2 nd Judicial Circuit, Seat 2	The Honorable Angela W. Abstance, Barnwell, SC
3 rd Judicial Circuit, Seat 2	The Honorable Angela R. Taylor, Sumter, SC
3 rd Judicial Circuit, Seat 3	The Honorable Gordon B. Jenkinson, Kingstree, SC
4th Judicial Circuit, Seat 2	The Honorable Salley Huggins McIntyre, Dillon, SC

5 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 2	The Honorable Michelle M. Hurley, Columbia, SC
5 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 3	The Honorable Michael Scott Rankin, Camden, SC Carrie Hall Tanner, Elgin, SC withdrew 1/15/19
6 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 1	The Honorable Coreen B. Khoury, Lancaster, SC
7 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 1	The Honorable Phillip K. Sinclair, Spartanburg, SC
7 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 2	Michael Todd Thigpen, Roebuck, SC
8 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 1	The Honorable Matthew Price Turner, Laurens, SC
8 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 3	The Honorable Joseph C. Smithdeal, Greenwood, SC
9 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 2	The Honorable Alice Anne Richter , Mount Pleasant, SC
9 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 4	The Honorable Wayne M. Creech, Pinopolis, SC
10 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 1	The Honorable Edgar Henderson Long Jr. , Anderson, SC
11th Judicial Circuit, Seat 2	The Honorable Huntley S. Crouch, Lexington, SC
11th Judicial Circuit, Seat 3	The Honorable Robert E. Newton, Lexington, SC
12 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 1	The Honorable Timothy H. Pogue, Marion, SC
12 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 2	The Honorable FitzLee Howard McEachin , Florence, SC
13th Judicial Circuit, Seat 1	The Honorable Rochelle Y. Conits, Greer, SC
13th Judicial Circuit, Seat 2	The Honorable W. Marsh Robertson, Greenville, SC
13th Judicial Circuit, Seat 6	Kimaka (Kim) Nichols-Graham, Greenville, SC The Honorable Jessica Ann Salvini, Greenville, SC
14th Judicial Circuit, Seat 1	The Honorable Gerald C. Smoak Jr., Walterboro, SC
14th Judicial Circuit, Seat 3	The Honorable Deborah Ann Malphrus, Ridgeland, SC
15 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 1	The Honorable Jan B. Bromell Holmes , Georgetown, SC
16 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 2	The Honorable David G. Guyton, Rock Hill, SC
At-Large, Seat 2	The Honorable Tony M. Jones, Rock Hill, SC

At-Large, Seat 3	The Honorable James G. McGee III, Florence, SC
------------------	------------------------------------------------

At-Large, Seat 4 The Honorable Monet S. Pincus, Columbia, SC

At-Large, Seat 5 The Honorable Randall E. McGee, St. Matthews, SC

At-Large, Seat 6 The Honorable David Earl Phillips, Easley, SC

Administrative Law Court

Seat 1 The Honorable Ralph King (Tripp) Anderson III, Columbia,

SC

Thomas Rosamond Smith, Columbia, SC

As a reminder, the record remains open until the final report is issued at 12:00 Noon, Tuesday, January 15, 2019. Accordingly, judicial candidates are not free to seek or accept commitments until that time.

The election is currently scheduled for Noon on Wednesday, February 6, 2019.

Correspondence and questions should be directed to the Judicial Merit Selection Commission as follows: Erin B. Crawford, Chief Counsel, Post Office Box 142, Columbia, South Carolina 29202, (803) 212-6689 or Lindi Putnam, JMSC Administrative Assistant, (803) 212-6623.