1	STATE OF S	SOUTH CAROLINA )
		,
2	COUNTY OF	,
3		* * * *
4		JUDICIAL MERIT SELECTION COMMISSION
5		TRANSCRIPT OF PUBLIC HEARINGS
6		* * * *
7	BEFORE:	SENATOR GEORGE E. CAMPSEN, III, CHAIRMAN
8		REP. BRUCE W. BANNISTER, VICE-CHAIRMAN
9		SENATOR GERALD MALLOY
10		REP. G. MURRELL SMITH, JR.
11		REP. J. TODD RUTHERFORD
12		KRISTIAN C. BELL
13		MICHAEL HITCHCOCK
14		SENATOR GREG HEMBREE
15		ANDREW N. SAFRAN
16		JOSHUA L. HOWARD
17		ERIN CRAWFORD, CHIEF COUNSEL
18		* * * *
19	DATE:	December 5th, 2016
20	TIME:	2:30 P.M.
21	LOCATION:	
22	2001112011	1101 Pendleton Street
23		Columbia, South Carolina 29201
		COTUMDIA, SOUCH CATOTINA 29201
24	DED05==== =	
25	REPORTED E	BY: LISA F. HUFFMAN, COURT REPORTER

1	PROCEEDINGS
2	CHAIRMAN CAMPSEN: We have all the
3	members present of the Judicial Merit
4	Selection Commission. So I will now call this
5	meeting to order and will entertain a motion
6	to go into executive session for legal advice.
7	SENATOR HEMBREE: So moved.
8	REPRESENTATIVE SMITH: Second.
9	CHAIRMAN CAMPSEN: Motion from Senator
10	Hembree. Second from Representative Smith.
11	All those in favor indicate by saying "aye."
12	BOARD MEMBERS: "Aye."
13	CHAIRMAN CAMPSEN: Opposed?
14	(No response.)
15	CHAIRMAN CAMPSEN: The ayes have it.
16	(Off the record.)
17	CHAIRMAN CAMPSEN: We have lifted the
18	veil. We took legal advice. No votes were
19	taken. No decisions made. Let me remind
20	everyone where we are procedurally. All
21	candidates for the Supreme Court, Seat 5, were
22	found qualified. Two of these candidates are
23	nominated: The Honorable Diane Schafer
24	Goodstein and The Honorable George C. "Buck"
25	James, Jr. The remaining candidates are in

2.1

alphabetical order: The Honorable Ralph King "Tripp" Anderson, The Honorable R. Keith Kelly, The Honorable Carmen Tevis Mullen, John Shannon Nichols and Matthew T. Richardson.

Under Section 2-1980(a), we are charged to submit the names and qualifications of the three candidates best qualified for the office.

We will now proceed to a vote on the remaining nominations. Ms. Crawford will read out the names.

SENATOR MALLOY: Mr. Chairman.

CHAIRMAN CAMPSEN: Senator Malloy.

SENATOR MALLOY: Prior to having to vote, I would just like to put on the record here that this past weekend they had the Auto Torts Conference down in Atlanta. There is a Presidents Counsel that I am a member of and there was a vote taken at some point and time previously where the previous presidents vote to give someone an award. Mr. Nichols and Mr. Richardson are both past presidents and I got a chance to receive the award. They were attending the same conference. I just want to make certain that is placed on the record.

1	CHAIRMAN CAMPSEN: Okay. Thank you.
2	We will now proceed to a vote on the remaining
3	nominations. Ms. Crawford will read out the
4	names of the remaining qualified candidates in
5	alphabetical order.
6	MS. CRAWFORD: Everybody will have one
7	vote. The Honorable Ralph King "Tripp"
8	Anderson.
9	REPRESENTATIVE SMITH: Do we vote?
10	REPRESENTATIVE RUTHERFORD: I thought she
11	said you are only allowed one vote.
12	REPRESENTATIVE SMITH: This is nominated
13	and
14	CHAIRMAN CAMPSEN: Everyone is qualified,
15	this is nominated. Raise your hands again.
16	(Board members vote.)
17	MS. CRAWFORD: The Honorable R. Keith
18	Kelly.
19	(Board members vote.)
20	MS. CRAWFORD: The Honorable Carmen Tevis
21	Mullen.
22	(Board members vote.)
23	MS. CRAWFORD: John Shannon Nichols.
24	(Board members vote.)
25	MS. CRAWFORD: Matthew T. Richardson.

1	(Board members vote.)
2	CHAIRMAN CAMPSEN: Since no candidate
3	received the majority of votes, we will
4	so Nichols is out of this vote. So we will
5	take a second round of votes.
6	MS. CRAWFORD: The Honorable Ralph King
7	Anderson, III.
8	(Board members vote.)
9	MS. CRAWFORD: The Honorable R. Keith
10	Kelly.
11	(Board members vote.)
12	MS. CRAWFORD: The Honorable Carmen
13	Tevis Mullen.
14	(Board members vote.)
15	MS. CRAWFORD: Matthew T. Richardson.
16	(Board members vote.)
17	MS. CRAWFORD: Proceed to a third vote.
18	The Honorable Ralph King Anderson, III.
19	(Board members vote.)
20	MS. CRAWFORD: The Honorable R. Keith
21	Kelly.
22	(Board members vote.)
23	MS. CRAWFORD: Matthew T. Richardson.
24	(Board members vote.)
25	MS. CRAWFORD: Proceed to the next vote.

1	The Honorable Ralph King Anderson, III.
2	(Board members vote.)
3	MS. CRAWFORD: The Honorable R. Keith
4	Kelly.
5	(Board members vote.)
6	MS. CRAWFORD: Matthew T. Richardson.
7	(Board members vote.)
8	MS. CRAWFORD: The Honorable R. Keith
9	Kelly receiving six votes has been nominated.
10	CHAIRMAN CAMPSEN: No more business
11	before the Commission. Do I have a motion
12	that we
13	SENATOR MALLOY: Recede to the call of
14	the Chair.
15	CHAIRMAN CAMPSEN: Recede to the call of
16	the Chair.
17	MR. HITCHCOCK: Second.
18	CHAIRMAN CAMPSEN: We have a second. All
19	in favor indicate by saying "aye."
20	BOARD MEMBERS: "Aye."
21	CHAIRMAN CAMPSEN: Opposed?
22	(No response.)
23	CHAIRMAN CAMPSEN: The ayes have it.
24	(Off the record.)
25	(The proceedings adjourned at 3:54 p.m.)

CERTIFICATE OF REPORTER 1 2 I, LISA F. HUFFMAN, COURT REPORTER AND NOTARY 3 PUBLIC IN AND FOR THE STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA AT LARGE, 4 HEREBY CERTIFY THAT I REPORTED THE SAID PROCEEDINGS, ON THE 5TH DAY OF DECEMBER, 2016, THAT THE WITNESSES WERE 5 6 FIRST DULY SWORN AND THAT THE FOREGOING 6 PAGES 7 CONSTITUTE A TRUE AND CORRECT TRANSCRIPTION OF SAID 8 PROCEEDINGS TO THE BEST OF MY SKILL AND ABILITY. 9 I FURTHER CERTIFY THAT I AM NEITHER ATTORNEY NOR 10 COUNSEL FOR, NOR RELATED TO OR EMPLOYED BY ANY OF THE 11 PARTIES CONNECTED WITH THIS ACTION, NOR AM I FINANCIALLY 12 INTERESTED IN SAID CAUSE. 13 I FURTHER CERTIFY THAT THE ORIGINAL OF SAID 14 TRANSCRIPT WAS THEREAFTER SEALED BY ME AND DELIVERED TO. JUDICIAL MERIT SELECTION COMMISSION, 1101 PENDLETON 15 STREET, COLUMBIA, SOUTH CAROLINA 29201, WHO WILL RETAIN 16 17 THIS SEALED ORIGINAL TRANSCRIPT AND SHALL BE RESPONSIBLE 18 FOR FILING SAME WITH THE COURT PRIOR TO TRIAL OR ANY 19 HEARING WHICH MIGHT RESULT IN A FINAL ORDER ON ANY 2.0 ISSUE. 21 IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I HAVE SET MY HAND AND SEAL 22 THIS 30TH DAY OF 2016. 23 24 LISA F. HUFFMAN, COURT REPORTER

MY COMMISSION EXPIRES JULY 25, 2025

25