## Medical Affairs Committee

Daniel B. Verdin, III Chairman



Gene Hogan Research Director

Louise Spong Research Assistant

Terra Kelly Administrative Assistant

THE SENATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA SUITE 412, GRESSETTE OFFICE BUILDING P.O. BOX 142 COLUMBIA, SOUTH CAROLINA 29202-0142 (803) 212-6250

## **Meeting Notice**

**To:** Subcommittee Members

Sen. Davis, Chairman

Sen. Hutto Sen. Alexander Sen. Nicholson Sen. Campbell Sen. Scott Sen. Senn

From: Senator Danny Verdin, Chairman

Date:

January 24, 2020

Subject: Subcommittee

A subcommittee of the Medical Affairs Committee will meet on **Thursday**,

January 30 at 10:00 in Room 308.

## **Agenda**

- 1. <u>S. 1023</u> -- Senator Sheheen: A JOINT RESOLUTION TO DIRECT THE DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES AND THE DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL TO CONDUCT RESEARCH INTO MICROPLASTIC CONTAMINATION.
- 2. H. 3807 -- Reps. Felder, Bernstein and Mack: A BILL TO AMEND THE CODE OF LAWS OF SOUTH CAROLINA, 1976, TO ENACT THE "TEEN SKIN CANCER PREVENTION ACT" BY ADDING CHAPTER 129 TO TITLE 44 SO AS TO PROHIBIT INDIVIDUALS UNDER EIGHTEEN YEARS OF AGE FROM USING TANNING EQUIPMENT IN TANNING FACILITIES, TO ESTABLISH PENALTIES, AND FOR OTHER PURPOSES.

Members of the public that desire to address the subcommittee on one or more of these bills should do so through one of the following methods:

• Speak before the subcommittee. Please use the following link to register --

https://forms.gle/cc1Jf67zFeABQuVdA

There will also be a sign-in sheet at the meeting. However, those individuals will be heard on a <u>time</u> available basis and at the discretion of the Chairman. All speakers should come prepared to limit remarks to three minutes.

• Send written remarks to the subcommittee. This may be done electronically --

smedicomm@scsenate.gov (please use bill # in subject line)

or by mail to:

SC Senate Medical Affairs Committee Attention: Research Director PO Box 142, 412 Gressette Building Columbia, SC 29202

All registration should be done and all documents received by Tuesday, January 28 at 12 noon. If you have any further questions, please feel free to contact the committee office, (803) 212 - 6250.