Jeffrey A. "Jeff" Bradley First Vice Chair

Paula R. Calhoon

April Cromer

Kambrell H. Garvin

Leon D. "Doug" Gilliam William Winston "Bill" Hager

Thomas F. "Tom" Hartnett

Jermaine L. Johnson, Sr.

Shannon S. Erickson Chair

Terry Alexander Second Vice Chair

Education and Public Works Committee



South Carolina House of Representatives

Telephone: (803) 734-3053 • Fax: (803) 734-2827 Columbia, S.C. 29211 *Room 429, Blatt Building*

19.O. Box 11867

K-12 SUBCOMMITTEE MEETING NOTICE TUESDAY, JANUARY 24, 2023 IMMEDIATELY UPON ADJOURNMENT OF THE FULL COMMITTEE MEETING ROOM 433 BLATT BUILDING

➤ Written testimony is also encouraged and may be submitted to gingerlee@schouse.gov. Material submitted will be provided to the subcommittee members.

The Subcommittee will consider the following bills:

H. 3728- Reps. Felder, A.M. Morgan, Leber, Magnuson, Haddon and Harris: A BILL TO AMEND THE SOUTH CAROLINA CODE OF LAWS BY ENACTING THE "SOUTH CAROLINA TRANSPARENCY AND INTEGRITY IN EDUCATION ACT"; BY ADDING ARTICLE 5 TO CHAPTER 29, TITLE 59 SO AS TO EXPRESS RELATED INTENTIONS OF THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY, TO PROVIDE NECESSARY DEFINITIONS, TO PROHIBIT CERTAIN CONCEPTS FROM BEING INCLUDED IN PUBLIC SCHOOL INSTRUCTION AND PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT, TO PROVIDE MEANS FOR ADDRESSING VIOLATIONS, AND TO PROVIDE PROCEDURES FOR PUBLIC REVIEW OF PUBLIC SCHOOL CURRICULUM AND INSTRUCTIONAL MATERIALS; AND BY AMENDING SECTION 59-28-180, RELATING TO PARENTAL EXPECTATIONS IN THE PARENTAL INVOLVEMENT IN THEIR CHILDREN'S EDUCATION ACT, SO AS TO PROVIDE PARENTS ARE EXPECTED TO BE THE PRIMARY SOURCE OF THE EDUCATION OF THEIR CHILDREN REGARDING MORALS, ETHICS, AND CIVIC RESPONSIBILITY, AND TO PROVIDE A PARENTAL PLEDGE OF EXPECTATIONS MUST BE PROVIDED TO PARENTS AS PART OF THE REGISTRATION AND ENROLLMENT PROCESS.

K-12 Subcommittee: Jeff Bradley, Chair Terry Alexander

Kambrell Garvin Bill Hager Kathy Landing David Vaughan

H. Pierce McNair, Jr. Director of Research

Virginia "Ginger" Lee Executive Assistant Stewart O. Jones John Gregory "Jay" Kilmartin Kathy Landing Timothy A. "Tim" McGinnis Adam M. Morgan

> Michael F. Rivers, Sr. Deon T. Tedder David Vaughan

> > Macey Webb Research Analyst

Cc: Reps. Felder, A.M. Morgan, Leber, Magnuson, Haddon, and Harris.

The presentation order as indicated above does not necessarily reflect the order in which these bills will be addressed.