May 03, 2024, 03:05:02 am

## Session 109 - (1991-1992)

## S 0012 Joint Resolution, By S.S. Martschink, McConnell, M.T. Rose, Russell and Wilson

A Joint Resolution proposing an amendment to Section 7 of Article VI of the Constitution of South Carolina, 1895, relating to the offices of Secretary of State, Attorney General, State Treasurer, Superintendent of Education, Comptroller General, Commissioner of Agriculture, and Adjutant General, so as to create an Executive Cabinet by providing that these offices must be filled by appointment by the Governor instead of popular election by the qualified voters of this State, except for Comptroller General, deleting the office of Comptroller General, changing the reference to Treasurer to Secretary of the Treasury, the reference to Superintendent of Education to Secretary of Education, and the reference to Commissioner of Agriculture to Secretary of Natural Resources, deleting the limitation of their terms to four years, and providing for the Governor to appoint a Secretary of Health and Human Services and a Secretary of Transportation.

09/10/90	Senate	Prefiled
09/10/90	Senate	Referred to Committee on Judiciary
01/08/91	Senate	Introduced and read first time SJ-28
01/08/91	Senate	Referred to Committee on Judiciary SJ-28