## South Carolina Legislature

May 01, 2024, 01:05:53 am

## Session 123 - (2019-2020)

H\*3949 Resolution, By Govan, Alexander, Anderson, Bamberg, Brawley, Brown, Clyburn, Dillard, Garvin, Gilliard, Hart, Henderson-Myers, Henegan, Hosey, Howard, Jefferson, King, Mack, McDaniel, McKnight, Moore, Parks, Pendarvis, Rivers, Robinson, Rutherford, Simmons, Thigpen, Weeks, R. Williams, S. Williams, Allison, Atkinson, Bailey, Bales, Ballentine, Bannister, Bennett, Bernstein, Blackwell, Bradley, Bryant, Burns, Calhoon, Caskey, Chellis, Chumley, Clary, Clemmons, Cobb-Hunter, Cogswell, Collins, B. Cox, W. Cox, Crawford, Daning, Davis, Elliott, Erickson, Felder, Finlay, Forrest, Forrester, Fry, Funderburk, Gagnon, Gilliam, Hardee, Hayes, Herbkersman, Hewitt, Hill, Hiott, Hixon, Huggins, Hyde, Johnson, Jordan, Kimmons, Kirby, Ligon, Loftis, Long, Lowe, Lucas, Mace, Magnuson, Martin, McCoy, McCravy, McGinnis, Morgan, D.C. Moss, V.S. Moss, Murphy, B. Newton, W. Newton, Norrell, Ott, Pope, Ridgeway, Rose, Sandifer, Simrill, G.M. Smith, G.R. Smith, Sottile, Spires, Stavrinakis, Stringer, Tallon, Taylor, Thayer, Toole, Trantham, West, Wheeler, White, Whitmire, Willis, Wooten, Young and Yow Summary: Isaiah DeQuincey Newman

A HOUSE RESOLUTION TO RECOGNIZE AND HONOR ISAIAH DEQUINCEY NEWMAN, THE FIRST AFRICAN AMERICAN ELECTED TO SERVE IN THE STATE SENATE SINCE 1887, AND TO EXPRESS PROFOUND GRATITUDE FOR HIS PIONEERING IN THE MODERN ERA THAT GUIDED AND FACILITATED PEACEFUL CHANGE IN SOUTH CAROLINA.

02/12/19 House Introduced and adopted (House Journal-page 40)