South Carolina Legislature

May 21, 2024, 09:24:30 pm

Session 106 - (1985-1986)

H 3951 Joint Resolution, By P.T. Bradley, W.D. Arthur, Bailey, K.E. Bailey, Barfield, L. Blanding, J.D. Bradley, G.A. Brown, H. Brown, J. Brown, Carnell, C.D. Chamblee, M.J. Cooper, C.M. Dangerfield, Davenport, F.L. Day, J.G. Felder, T. Ferguson, E.D. Foxworth, Harvin, D.N. Holt, W.H. Jones, R.O. Kay, J.R. Klapman, E.S. Lake, T.G. Mangum, D.E. Martin, J.G. Mattos, McKay, J.W. McLeod, H.L. Mitchell, J.T. Petty, Rhoad, C.H. Rice, Russell, Sharpe, E.W. Simpson, D.C. Waldrop, Washington, J.M. White and D. Williams

A Joint Resolution to amend Sections 2 and 8 of Article III of the Constitution of South Carolina, 1895, relating to the election and terms of members of the House of Representatives so as to provide that beginning with the General Election of 1988 the members of the House must be elected for terms of four years each, except that in 1988 only one-half of the members of the House must be elected for two-year terms and one-half for four-year terms as the General Assembly by law shall prescribe; to amend Section 6 of Article III relating to the election and terms of the members of the Senate so as to provide that beginning with the 1988 General Election, members of the Senate must be elected for terms of six years except that in 1988 only fifteen members of the Senate must be elected for two-year terms, fifteen members for four-year terms, and sixteen members for six-year terms as the General Assembly by law shall prescribe; and to amend Sections 3 and 4 of Article IV relating to the election and term of office of the Governor so as to provide that beginning with the year 1990 the Governor must be elected for a term of six years and that no person elected Governor in 1990 or thereafter may succeed himself in office but is reeligible.

05/27/86 House Introduced and read first time HJ-3362

05/27/86 House Referred to Committee on Judiciary HJ-3363